Food; gym

It was another Ellie Krieger recipe night in the In My Tummy house. Tonight we had Balsamic Chicken with Baby Spinach.

IMG_2625.JPG

Surprisingly, I didn’t change the recipe at all. The only problem was that the garlic burned when I added it to the oil and then the bottom of the pan burned when I cooked the chicken in it. That didn’t happen to Ellie. It was still good though.

I have this problem where I basically eat another dinner while I’m cooking. Well, not another dinner, but a large snack. Today, for example. while I was cooking, I snacked on hummus and a bunch of baked lays. I don’t know why I do that. I guess I should just cut up some veggies to snack on or something. But that never seems as appealing.

Jason and I went to the gym after dinner. I did 20 minutes of run/walk intervals. I walked for 2 minutes at 3.5mph and then ran for 1 minute at between 7.0-7.5mph. This ended up being about a mile and a half. After that, I did a NRLFW workout:

1. Wide-grip deadlift from box, 30lbs, 10 reps, 2 sets
2. Bulgarian split squat, 25lbs, 10 reps, 2 sets
3. Reverse lunge from box with forward reach, 10lbs, 2 sets
4. Swiss ball crunch, 10 reps, 2 sets
5. Reverse crunch, 10 reps, 2 sets
6. Lateral flexion, 10 reps, 2 sets each side
7. Prone cobra, 40 seconds, 2 sets

Obviously, I had the book next to me this time to blog what the exercises were called. When I did some of these, especially the first one, I felt like the trainers were going to walk over to me and tell me that I was doing something wrong. The trainers at my gym are a bit hawkish. If you make eye contact with them, it’s all over.

Well, I’m about to watch the last episode of Dexter. Oh, before I forget, I am featured as this week’s Worker Bee on On A Lobster Placemat. Have a looksee. I had to take multiple pictures before I found one that didn’t show my messy desk!

14 responses to “Food; gym

  1. Umm… I know what you mean about snacking while cooking/baking! Sometimes I’m not hungry by the time I’ve finished making something… argh!

    The picture of your dinner is SO clear… I feel like the plate is sitting in front of me!

  2. I’m loving your chicken dish, looks great. Oh, gym trainers always freak me out. Scared they will come over and say” wth are you doing” lol NO EYE CONTACT ME FOR πŸ™‚

  3. I love watching Ellie Krieger – but have never actually tried one of her recipes, glad to know it was good. πŸ™‚

  4. It looks perfect! No one would ever know the garlic burned πŸ˜‰ Have you tried chewing gum while you cook? Works for me! Josh loves Dexter

  5. angieinatlanta

    I feel like the trainers are always eyeing me as well! I hate when they strike up a conversation, which I know sounds super unfriendly of me, but seriously, I’m sweating my butt off here and I do not want to talk!

    • Sometimes I tell them straight up that I don’t want a trainer which I know sounds bitchy, but like you said, I don’t want anyone to talk to me!

  6. That picture made me salivate…..not good when I am giving a presentation in 20 minutes;)

  7. Thanks again for being a worker bee πŸ™‚

    Hey, silly question but I still don’t know how to do it – how do your replies to individual comments show up directly underneath them? I’m sure this is something I should know by now – but I normally email comments..

    • I emailed Rose directly, but figured I should put it on here too in case anyone else wondered. I think it’s a setting in WordPress called Comment Threading. You have to enable it.

  8. Your chicken looks great! I do the same thing when I’m cooking! I have so many chips and hummus! I am so impatient and hungry that I pick at everything!

  9. That Ellie dish looks so delicious!! πŸ™‚

    Nice job on the Worker Bee post – I enjoyed learning more about your job!! πŸ™‚

  10. hehe I DO NOT miss hawkish trainers. I totally laughed at your dead-on description! That recipe looks amazing… wow!