Acceptance?

I don’t know about you guys*, but this week has been so long for me. I guess it just feels that way in comparison to last week’s 2.5 day work week. How is it not Friday already? I guess another reason the week is going by slowly is that this big project that I’ve been working on for several months is over. I mean, it’s good in a way; it was a lot of stress, but at the same time, I really thrive when I am busy at work.

I’ve been thinking about something for the past few days. When I first started this blog, I wrote (and thought) a lot more about how unhappy I was with my weight. I’ve noticed that this sort of negative self image that I had has gotten a lot better. I haven’t been writing about it as much, really, because I haven’t been feeling it. I mean, sure, there are plenty of days when I wish that my size 6 pants would fit again or when I get mad at myself for overeating, but I’ve noticed that it does not consume my thoughts the way it used to. Don’t get me wrong, I still do feel like I want to lose 10 pounds, but I am okay if I never do. I have this friend who told me that she lost about 20 pounds this year. She said it happened when she stopped obsessing over it. Maybe that’s how I’ll shed the 10 pounds. Or maybe I never will.

People always say that you come into your own in your thirties. I’m not exactly sure what “come into your own” means, but maybe it’s this. Maybe it means finally feeling comfortable in your own skin? Believe me, I have a ways to go, but I feel like I’m finally on the road to self-acceptance and happiness.

Anyway.

I did not feel like making anything special for dinner. Enter Kashi pizza and a salad. I put craisins and almonds on the salad to make it more interesting.

IMG_2645.JPG

I added some additional veggies to the pizza. It was severely lacking.

IMG_2648.JPG

Someone had a birthday on Tuesday. Guess who? I wanted to bake him a cake, but instead made him his favorite foods.

IMG_2628.JPG
IMG_2629.JPG

Yes, I made Jason go to Kroger and buy that 3 candle. I’m shameless.

*Despite living in the South for 7.5 years, I do not say “y’all.” Instead, I go with very mid-Atlantic “you guys.” which is not the same as “yous guys.” MoCo represent! (I’m going to go out on a limb and say that pretty much no one is going to know what that means!)

24 responses to “Acceptance?

  1. angieinatlanta

    LOL @ Murphy about to pounce on that cake!

    I love this post; self-acceptance is such a journey and I’m thrilled to hear about your progress!

  2. yay for puppy birthdays!

  3. Good for you girlie. I think that is just fabulous

    Happy Birthday to the puppers! We totally celebrate big for Frank’s birthday too πŸ˜‰

    I say ya’ll but all my friends from pburgh say “yous guys”

  4. I’m trying very hard to accept myself, but it’s so hard sometimes. It’s a day to day struggle for me.

    I love salads with craisins. I’m not crazy about almonds, but love walnuts on salads.

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY MURPHY!! πŸ™‚

    P.S. I got my Chobani yogurts today!! *Squeal!* πŸ™‚ I’m so excited to try them out!! πŸ™‚ Thanks again, for hosting the giveaway!! πŸ™‚

  5. I always remind myself that If I don’t love myself, then how I can expect anyone else to? I think we all have those days where we feel like something doesn’t fit right or we don’t like how something looks, but I just don’t see a point in obsessing over it. And maybe that’s the point you’re at- where it’s just not worth it to put so much energy into being a certain weight or fitting into a certain size?

    I don’t say ya’ll either! In Philly, most people said “yous guys” (like, what is yous guys, anyway?) and in college – Pittsburgh – they said yinz. Seriously.

  6. ha, yinz.

    i sometimes say y’all but i don’t sound at all authentic. josh can kind of pull it off (born in durham, raised in charlottesville, grew up in miami).

    moco = montgomery county to me (outside of phila.) but probably not to you πŸ™‚ maybe monmouth county, NJ?

    finally, that is awesome re: self-acceptance. i have definitely grown more comfortable with myself over the years as well. it is a good thing!

  7. I about feel out of my chair when you said “moco representing”– cause though I am outside of Atlanta now I was born & raised in PG county– now that is representing– It was nice to think about “home” for a couple minutes this morning!

  8. Happy Birthday to your pup! McKinley will be 4 in Feb – gotta remember to get his candle!

  9. Such a cute picture of Murphy! And be sure to wish him a happy birthday for me! I too struggle with issues of acceptance and feeling like I would like to lose 5 pounds or have my pants fit just a little looser but being a part of this community has really helped me too. It’s nice to hear your thoughts on this and I appreciate your honesty. Keep up the good work.

    • This was the only good picture that I got of him. The rest of them, he is jumping trying to get the sandwich and all I got was the back of his head.

      Now he thinks he gets a turkey and dog bone sandwich every night!

  10. Puppy birthdays are the best!
    Good for you for getting to the point of accepting yourself as you are. I hope to get to where you are someday too!

  11. Whoa….everyone doesn’t say “you guys”??!! I’ve never heard of “yous guys,” but I say “you guys” all.the.time. I wish I could pull off “ya’ll”! So much cuter.

    I definitely agree that a perk of getting older is acceptance of yourself. Sometimes I wish I were 22 again, but I just had no idea who I was and I always wanted to be something I wasn’t. I can see why people say thirties are the best…I’m pumped!

    LOVE the b-day treat!!

    • When I first moved to GA, I was waiting tables and I’d say, “What can I get for you guys?” to a group of women and they’d get offended and say, “We’re not guys!”

  12. Thanks for letting me know about this post. I could have written the same exact words – for sure. My favorite part: “I could lose 10 lbs, but I am OK if I never do.” That’s exactly how I feel. I’m always striving to get stronger, healthier, but I won’t let my weight dictate that anymore.

  13. Love the three candle!! I am actually going to try to make dog biscuits from scratch this weekend – I’ll let you know if it turns out! πŸ˜€

  14. hehe I say ya’ll but write you guys – it’s so much more writable and reads better/sounds better in my head! how sweet- happy birthday to your adorable pupper. BTW – i’m loving your attitude/outlook – and the fact that who even knows what ‘coming into your own’ means – love it.

  15. I always hear that about your thirtys, too. Hmmm…I have five years until I “come into my own” I guess.

    happy birthday to your puppy!!

  16. Nice post. Haven’t thought of alot of these points before. Will come back and bookmark your site for future reference.

  17. MoCo representing (and WJ for that matter). i still say ‘you guys’ cause they say ‘you lot’ here. wouldn’t be able to pull that off, unlike some other english phrases that have found their way into my everyday speech.

    i really like this post. they say ‘life starts at thirty’ here, though i don’t agree with that. anyway, i think self-acceptance is a slippery one, especially when self-image is involved, since our minds and bodies keep changing the goal posts on us. But it’s so nice when you find yourself in that moment of self-acceptance, no matter how long it lasts (moments or years), so long as you’ve had it. so thanks for sharing it; it makes me happy reading this.

    • I don’t believe that life starts at 30 either but I definitely feel more comfortable with myself lately.

      What English phrases do you say now? Have you picked up the accent? Some people think I have a slight Southern twang, although I don’t believe it!

      • hmmm, well, i don’t hear a british accent, nor does any brit (including ben), but when i go back home, everyone says they can hear it. i think it’s cause i lost my inflections, but i haven’t changed my vowels. i bet you sound cute with a hint of a southern twang.

        english phrases … i’ve picked up quite a few words. i say brilliant, massive, moody (when things go wrong), stroppy, broody, ‘i can’t be bothered with that’, ‘wind up’ (annoy), etc. many are now ingrained in my speech that i have a hard time recognising which are originally american and which i’ve picked up here.