Chilly day

We’re having a bit of a cold snap in Atlanta. Yesterday I believe the high was around 40 and today was just a tiny bit warmer. Now that may illicit some laughs from you Northerners, but when you’re not used to it, it’s cold! I bundled up and took Murphy for a 1.5 mile walk while listening to This American Life on the Ipod. I think this is one of my favorite Sunday afternoon routines. Okay, I’m exaggerating about the cold; it was in the upper 40s and I just had on a sweatshirt and was fine.

After our walk, I had one of those internal debates with myself about going to the gym. I tried to convince myself that I’d gotten some exercise during my walk and that I’d gone to the gym 4 days this week anyway. I even went as far as to think that for most people, working out four days a week was a lot. Then I came to my senses and realized that I had to go to the grocery store anyway and it would be stupid not to go to the gym. Do you guys do this? I always try to talk myself out of going. Fortunately, I only listen to myself every once in a while. Getting in the car and driving there is the hardest part, for sure. I did 3 miles of intervals on the treadmill. I alternated between running at 6.7 mph and walking at 3.5 mph. I was sort of all over the place; at first, I walked a quarter mile and then ran a half mile. But after that, I decided to walk 200 meters and run a half mile. I did that for 2 miles. At mile 2, I walked a quarter mile and then ran the last .75 miles at 6.0. I think I’m going to sign up for a 5K like Sarah suggested. I just feel very lost without a training plan. Yesterday, for example, I wanted to run 3 miles but pooped out at 2. There is a 5K at the end of January that I think I might do. It would give me a month and a half to seriously train for it and hopefully PR.

I am sort of struggling with grocery shopping lately. I realize that sounds ridiculous. Let me explain. For a few months, I was uber aware of the ingredients in the food that I was buying. I tried very hard to stay away from weird chemical and highly processed foods. But somewhere along the line, I started slacking. It’s not really fair for me to shop for two people and only take into consideration what I like, if that makes sense. Not that I’m buying anything terrible for Jason, but a lot of Lean Cuisines and Baked Chips have been finding their way into my grocery cart as of late. And of course, I eat them too. I can’t really figure out if this is okay or not. How important is it to buy the least processed foods that I can find? There are two things that I really won’t buy though and I realized it today when I had coupons for them. One is condensed Campbell’s soup. Seriously, the ingredients are gross. They all are full of HFCS. Progresso and the non-condensed Campbell’s, although not the most healthy of things, are better. The second is cheap deli meat. Like not from the deli counter. I just grosses me out. Since I’ve started eating poultry again, I just really haven’t been able to handle deli meat. I don’t know why; I used to like it.

I did make something “real” for dinner. Considering the chill in the air, homemade soup sounded really good. Soup never looks nice in pictures!

IMG_2682.JPG

Veggie Soup with Basil Sauce (from Allrecipes.com)
Ingredients

1/2 cup cubed potatoes
1/2 cup chopped onion
1/2 cup chopped carrot
1 (15 ounce) can kidney beans
6 tablespoons soy sauce
1 bay leaves
6 cups water
1 cup fresh green beans, cut into 2 inch pieces
3/4 cup fresh corn kernels
1/4 cup coarsely chopped fresh basil
1/3 cup tomato puree
3 cloves garlic, minced
1/3 cup olive oil
1/3 cup grated Parmesan cheese
salt and pepper to taste
Directions

In a large pot over high heat, combine the potatoes, onion, carrot, beans, tamari OR soy sauce, bay leaf and water. Bring to a boil and reduce heat to low. Simmer for 20 minutes, or until vegetables are tender. (Note: Add water as necessary to cover vegetables.)
When the soup is done, add the beans and corn and simmer for an additional 5 minutes. To make sauce, in a blender or food processor, combine the basil, pureed tomatoes, garlic, oil, Parmesan cheese and salt and pepper to taste. Blend until smooth, stir this sauce into the soup and serve.
Nutritional Information

Amount Per Serving Calories: 187 | Total Fat: 10.7g | Cholesterol: 3mg Serves 8

I pretty much followed the recipe except that I used an entire can of corn because I felt it would go to waste in a tupperware in the fridge. This recipe was okay. It definitely needed salt. A lot of it. I think it will be better tomorrow when the flavors get a chance to meld. I hope it will, at least. It was on the bland side. Not horrible or anything, but I don’t think I’d make it again.

I’m off to watch some Jersey Shore on the DVR. I have horrible taste in TV shows; I’m the first to admit it. I just really like MTV! (And I know that I’m not the only one watching this!)

7 responses to “Chilly day

  1. I’m the same way about deli meat… I don’t eat the cheap stuff. We’re meat snobs, hehe! 😉

    I watched Jersey Shore today for the first time ever. All I kept thinking was, “Is MTV for real??” Omg, I’m getting old! 🙂

  2. It was snowing in PA over the weekend. It was so pretty, but at the same time, it reminded me why I moved to GA!

    Deli meat grosses me out… it always seems so slimy. I think it’s okay not to look at every single thing that goes into your grocery cart… you probably always have an idea of what’s in each item, and it’s not you fill your cart with Doritos and cookies!

  3. I completely agree about deli meat…and I used to eat it EVERYDAY for lunch! Ugh, sometimes being informed stinks.

    I haven’t seen Jersey Shore…but everyone I know who has seen it really likes it?! I did catch a clip on “The Soup” where they made fun of it. WOW.

  4. That soup looks perfect for this chilly weather.

  5. We def all go through that internal debate on occasion- should I go to the gym? Or should I relax instead 😉 I find that by having a friend to meet or a group fitness class that I usually attend (or teach)- I can’t let myself out of it!! The grocery shopping thing is tough too. My husband certainly eats a lot more processed foods than I do. I just try to mentally separate the foods and know they’re NOT for me! Great job on the soup!! I looked for the marinara when I was at TJs and couldn’t find it! boo!