A color change

I need to be on my best behavior this week. We have our company Christmas party on Friday afternoon. The day after the party last year, I might have honestly had the worst hangover of my life. So I need to make extra sure that I am healthy the rest of the week, because who knows what will happen on Friday. I’ll try to behave though!

My best behavior entails going to the gym and eating a real meal at home. I did 20 minutes on the Arc Trainer and then a NRLFW workout which consisted of:

1. Front squat/push press, 20 lbs, 2 sets of 10
2. Step up, 2 sets of 10, each leg
3. Dumbbell one-point row, 20lbs, 2 sets of 10 (I keep falling over doing this one)
4. Static lunge, rear foot elevated, 20 lbs, 2 sets of 10 each leg
5. pushups on my knees, 2 sets of 10
6. plank, 60 seconds, 2 sets
7. oblique twist with a 10 lb medicine ball, 2 sets of 30

For my real meal, I made a variation of Jenna’s Enchiladas.

Instead of chicken, I filled them with refried beans and spinach and I used green enchilada sauce instead of red.

IMG_2689.JPG

And some Publix low-fat frozen yogurt for dessert. This is actually a pretty small container that it’s in. This yogurt isn’t too bad, calorie-wise, but it’s so hard for me to stick with the 1/2 cup serving size. I can easily eat 2 cups of it. I just sort of put it in the back of the freezer in the hopes that I’ll be too lazy to get it out.

IMG_2690.JPG

That’s my little ice cream spoon in there. And yes, I did register for real plates and bowls!

So, guess what I am doing now?

IMG_2695.JPG

If you guessed taking unflattering pictures of myself in the mirror, you’re only half right. I decided to dye my hair. I was talking to my sister last night and quizzing her on her hair routine. She has the same curly hair that I do but hers always looks so much better. Mine always gets so flat on top. I realized, however, that part of the reason that it looks flat is because the top is darker. I got highlights maybe 6 months ago and while roots on curly hair aren’t as noticeable, it’s still darker on the top which kind of makes the flatness more noticeable. I figured I’d just even it out. I got a pretty dark brown, so we’ll see how it turns out. According to my sister, by the way, I need to use three different hair products and flip my hair to the side while it’s drying. How is she 12 years younger than me and has to school me on beauty stuff? Seriously, I have asked her plenty of makeup questions too. I think I missed the girly gene.

Do you dye your own hair? Get highlights in a salon? Never done anything to it?

12 responses to “A color change

  1. Lol, you and I both…I think I missed the girly gene, too.
    I’ve never dyed my hair before, but I’ve gotten highlights once. But I don’t think it works so well on Asians…

    Your enchiladas look amazing, by the way!

  2. I refused to carry a purse until I was about 22. I am so not girly. Sometimes I try to pretend though.

  3. I’m afraid I have no advice on hair dying. I’m still all-natural, even though the grays are starting to come in (seriously, at age 25?).

    I just wanted to say that holiday parties are my worst nightmare. Which makes me glad that my current job doesn’t have them.

  4. Can’t wait to see how the hair color turns out!

    I bleached some of my hair in high school. It made really pretty blonde highlights in the front. I would like to switch up my hair color, but I’m afraid it’ll never go back to the original red!

  5. i used to get my hair highlighted, then hated it, then dyed it but not im natural hair only. my hair is black so its hard to make it anything else lol. but my sister dyes her own hair and it looks good!

  6. The stylist I go to told me that if I *EVER* dyed my own hair again, I should find a new stylist because she would fire me. Since I’m fiercely loyal about hair stylist, I got off the do-it-myself train about 3 years ago.

    I do reverse highlights. I like my hair darker, so I get DARK highlights (read: black). When I was doing actual highlights, my hair just got blonder and blonder. I get ‘black’ because my natural hair is dark enough that black gives me enough ‘umph’ to make it noticable. I’m pretty sure our plan in January (my stylist & I) is to do a non-black color to balance out the darkness. We’ll see on Jan 9th though.

  7. I have such a poopy natural hair color. I REALLY wish I looked good as a brunette – I envy my sister who has dark, beautiful, brown hair! Plus, I think it’s SO much easier to maintain than blond. I get highlights every 6 weeks or so, but it’s super cheap at least (I go to a friend). You are right, though…at least on curly hair roots aren’t as noticeable!

  8. I used to dye my hair, but earlier this year I decided that it’s time to go with my natural color for as long as I can! I can’t imagine using multiple products every day- I already don’t give myself enough time to finish my hair in the morning!

  9. angieinatlanta

    I kind of missed the girly gene as well. Fortunately for me, my hair dries straight…but I’m totally clueless about make-up!!!

  10. Jenn Eats Nutritiously Now

    I’d be way too scared to dye my hair on my own. Luckily, my mom and I have been seeing the same Hair Stylist for FOREVER so she gives us a good deal šŸ™‚

  11. MMMMmmmmmm, those enchiladas look great! My hair is all natural… I did dye it a reddish color about 3 years ago, but hated it. I’m pretty happy with my color and don’t think I’ll ever do it again.