Moody

I think I’ve mentioned that I have an egg sandwich nearly every morning for breakfast. I make different variations though. Sometimes I use 1 whole egg and two egg whites, sometimes a half cup of egg beaters. I usually use a slice of reduced fat cheese but sometimes I use laughing cow. Then I vary the bread. It might be actual bread, an english muffin, an Arnold Thin or a wrap. So this makes my breakfast interesting each day, right? I guess I was in the mood for change today, because my breakfast did not resemble an egg sandwich in the least.

IMG_2697.JPG

This would be a smoothie in a bowl with some random cereal floating in it. The smoothie was made of 2/3 cup milk, 1 thing of apple pie yogurt, a handful of spinach and a handful of mango chunks. It was pretty good but I missed my eggs.

I’m kind of having a bad body image day. I know I just posted that whole thing about accepting myself the way I am, but I definitely still have my moments. First of all, I let the scale dictate my mood this morning. My weight was up a pound or so and I didn’t like it. Secondly, I’m not sure if I like my new hair color. It’s very dark. I know I’ll get used to it and it will fade, but I am just not sure about it right now. Also, I felt frumpy. The clothes that I wore to work were on the baggy side. I tend to buy clothing that’s too baggy. I just don’t feel comfortable in form-fitting stuff, but then I feel like a slob all the time. Solutions? I’m trying to overcome my mood. It’s rainy and gross out though, so it’s sort of hard. I bought some really soft socks and have those on and they are making my feet happy.

I thought about having a leftover enchilada for dinner but wasn’t feeling it. Instead, I went with what’s definitely becoming my go-to I don’t feel like cooking meal. Pita pizza. Or rather tortilla pizza in this case. I guess one new meal a day is a enough.

IMG_2701.JPG

and undercooked Brussels sprouts on the side. I was so worried about over cooking these, that I didn’t cook them long enough. What should I do? I boiled them and then put oil and some spices on them? Microwave? Would that taste bad? They’re just pretty hard right now. (I can’t help it – TWSS).

IMG_2700.JPG

Murphy is totally giving me the evil eye right now. It’s raining outside and he either thinks that I control the weather and am punishing him, or he keeps forgetting that it’s raining and barks until I open the door. Then I get the evil eye again when he realizes that it’s still raining and yes, it’s raining at the front door too.

12 responses to “Moody

  1. angieinatlanta

    I think we all flip flop on moods like that. Even though I don’t weigh myself anymore, I remember how that number would set the tone for the day. Even now, without the scale, I still get down on myself at times when I feel bloated, see an unflattering picture, catch a glimpse of myself in the mirror at an awkward angle…

    I wish I had some advice for you but maybe it helps to know you’re not the only one?

  2. Aw, I hope your day tomorrow is better! I hate those days when you just wake up and feel like crap!

    I like to likely boil/steam brussels & then cut in half & saute with onions & bacon/fake bacon to get a little extra flavor and carmelization!

    To overcome bad moods, I drink hot chocolate (or eat chocolate) and watch Gilmore Girls or read! Or I just go to bed early & hope I’ll be better the next day! Good luck!

  3. I had a similar day. I woke up feeling fat. Had a muffin top when I put on my pants. Pants are definitely tighter than they were the last time I put them on… sighhhhh… The only way I know to cheer myself up in these situations is to spend time with Andrew. He makes me laugh and always makes me feel so pretty. It definitely gets my mind off of things and reminds me that slightly tighter pants aren’t that big of a deal in the scheme of things.

    I bet we’ll be feelin’ better about things in no time at all! 🙂

  4. My mood is like that too. Sometimes I think it’s very much dictated by the weather. Sometimes we can be our own worst enemies too. I got on the scale the other day and was affected by the number – but then I kept in mind what I had been doing, what time of the month it is, all those sorts of things – and I felt a little better.

  5. I just had Brussels Sprouts last night for dinner. I will clean them and put them whole into a microwave safe bowl. I only cook 4-5 at a time, because thats about all I can handle since they have such a strong taste. Then I’ll put some water in (I just eyeball it, I don’t put so much to cover them), put a microwave safe cover over the bowl, then microwave for about 2 minutes – watch out, the bowl will be hot. If they are on the small size, I will cook for 1.5 min and test them with a fork. For standard sizes (1.5 in diameter)2 min is usually enough.

    The other night I took them out before 2 min and they weren’t quite done enough. I don’t salt, pepper, or butter mine. Instead I put a tablespoon of Cheese Whiz on them. Yum!

    I don’t think the microwave makes them taste funny, I think it all depends on how done they are. But then again, I’ve never had them any other way.

  6. I think that you should get rid of your scale! I just don’t like how a scale has the ability to set the tone for the day. If you got rid of it, at least you would know that it’s you feeling bad and not the scale making you feel bad.

    Your color will definitely tone down after like a week or so… I don’t think it will stay so dark!

    • I’ve thought about getting rid of it and have gone through periods where I haven’t stepped on it for several months. But, I feel like knowing my weight let’s me know if I’m eating too much or exercising too little or even the other way around. I am not good at judging the way my clothes fit.

  7. I know exactly how you feel. There are so many days where I just wake up feeling huge and don’t even want to get dressed in the morning. I start throwing things everywhere! I only weight myself like once or twice a month now because I know it will put me in a horrible mood.

  8. I’m sorry you had a rough day! I hate when I feel frumpy and like my weight isn’t where I want it. I’m sure the color looks great – looking forward to seeing it. 🙂