On a gray day, you can walk the dog forever

Guess what? Guess what? Or rather, guess who ran two miles in 17:56? That would be yours truly! I figured that if I could run a mile in less than nine minutes, I probably could run two miles at the same speed. And I could! You have to understand, this is very, very fast for me. I’ve been running for years but have always focused on endurance and not speed. I’ve run a marathon before (if you want to call it running; I walked the last 6 miles, long story) so it’s not like I’m really going to hit another PDR so I have really been feeling the need to challenge myself in the speed department. I’ll admit it; running fast sucks. It’s hard. But I know that I’m not going to get faster unless I make myself run faster. It’s kind of a no-brainer, right? Honestly, I felt like I was going to puke afterward. But I walked for two minutes and then did the elliptical for 15. This was yesterday. I have no idea what I did the rest of the night. Big fat nothing, I suppose. Not that there’s anything wrong with that; it was cold and rainy out.

This afternoon, after it finally stopped raining, Murphy and I went for a 4-mile walk with Ira Glass (in the spirit of giving, I just donated $10 to TAL.) which doubled as a photography walk. I’ve always been very interested in photography. I took classes in high school and college, but it kind of fell by the wayside for a few years. I’m not sure why, but lately my interest has been piqued. There might be a new camera in my not-so distant future. We shall see. I did not get very many good shots today. It’s pretty hard with a 60 lb dog tugging at the leash. I got a couple of good macro pictures though.

IMG_2739.JPG
IMG_2760.JPG
IMG_2783.JPG

And one of this eyesore. Call me Scrooge, but seriously?? Those things aren’t cheap either!

IMG_2786.JPG

Walking for four miles with the dog actually takes a fairly long time. He likes to mark every single bush. Towards the end, it seems physically impossible for him to have any more pee left, but he tries anyway. After we got home, I stopped at Kroger to buy the ingredients for some cookies that I’m making for a work cookie swap tomorrow.

Since I can’t follow a recipe to save my life, baking is not my forte. I was combing the internet looking for something that would be hard to mess up when I stumbled upon these Oreo Truffles. I’ve had something like this before and they were good, plus they only had three ingredients.

Oreo Truffles (from Allrecipes.com)
Ingredients

1 (16 ounce) package OREO Chocolate Sandwich Cookies, divided
1 (8 ounce) package PHILADELPHIA Cream Cheese, softened
2 (8 ounce) packages BAKER’S Semi-Sweet Baking Chocolate, melted
Directions

Crush 9 of the cookies to fine crumbs in food processor; reserve for later use. (Cookies can also be finely crushed in a resealable plastic bag using a rolling pin.) Crush remaining 36 cookies to fine crumbs; place in medium bowl. Add cream cheese; mix until well blended. Roll cookie mixture into 42 balls, about 1-inch in diameter.
Dip balls in chocolate; place on wax paper-covered baking sheet. (Any leftover chocolate can be stored at room temperature for another use.) Sprinkle with reserved cookie crumbs.
Refrigerate until firm, about 1 hour. Store leftover truffles, covered, in refrigerator.

Yield 42 truffles.

IMG_2799.JPG
IMG_2802.JPG

A food processor is absolutely necessary for this recipe. I have no idea how one would combine the cream cheese without it. My recipe only made 36 for some reason. I let them chill in the fridge for an hour before I dipped them in the chocolate. When they had cooled, I melted the chocolate in small batches. I would only do 2-3 squares at a time so it wouldn’t get hard. Some of the reviews said that they had a hard time dipping the balls, but I didn’t. I dropped them in the bowl and used two forks to pour the chocolate over them. Worked fine. For whatever reason, I only used about 60% of the chocolate that was called for. I also only poured the reserved cookie crumbs over a few because I thought it detracted from the look of the truffles. So, I’ve been asking everyone that’s mentioned a cookie swap the same question. What exactly am I supposed to do with the 30 cookies that I get tomorrow??

15 responses to “On a gray day, you can walk the dog forever

  1. Congrats on your two mile time! That’s awesome! I am not one for speed either. Your photos from the walk are awesome! And I wouldn’t mind one of those chocolate truffle balls right about now!

  2. Way to go on the fast 2 miles!! That’s awesome!! πŸ™‚

    Those oreo truffles look so lovely. If I were you and I was getting 30 cookies, I’d try and save them to bring along to future holiday parties to share. Perhaps they’ll still be good by this weekend if you happen to go to any parties. Or you could invite friends over for dinner and serve the cookies for dessert?

  3. Way to go on the speed!

    YUM on those truffles πŸ™‚

    McKinley does the same thing when we walk – tries to pee on everything!

  4. Jenn Eats Nutritiously Now

    Not really sure what to do with all the cookies. Maybe freeze them and that way you can eat them more slowly?

  5. Great 2 mile time!

    I host a cookie exchange every year and end up with a ton of cookies. I usually freeze them for lunch box treats for the girls. The love this time of year.

  6. all i have been seeing on blogs is sweet treats~including my own!

    GREAT JOB on the run!!

    love the macro photos. esp. the chain one.

  7. that’s so funny that you made the truffle balls!!

    i just donated to TAL at your suggestion – i figure i owe them, ira has gotten me through so many long runs!

  8. Oh, wow! First, congrats on the speedy run! Your pictures look awesome. The 238276 blow-up Christmas decorations really cracked me up. Like, do those people just blow up 10 Christmas things and call it a day?

    Those oreo truffles look great… I hope you saved one for me. πŸ™‚

  9. Congrats on your run! So fast! Your pictures are beautiful too! And those truffles…yummmm! I am obsessed with anything Oreo.

  10. angieinatlanta

    Lee, those pics are awesome! Love them!

  11. Good job on the fast 2 mile run! I think we run around the same speed, so I understand! I had to walk the last 8 miles of my last marathon. Blister = mile 17. Blister popping = Mile 18. I hobbled, but finished. That’s all that matters.

    I tried making truffles once and it was a disaster! You made it look so easy.

    • Regarding the truffles, what part did you have a hard time with? I cooled them in the fridge for an hour before I rolled them in the chocolate. Maybe that helped?

  12. Wow; these truffles look amazing…they are beautiful…
    Happy Holidays!