Me want cookies

3 miles is my least favorite distance to run. And it’s also the distance that I run the most often. It almost always takes me at least 3 miles to get into a zone when I run. So if I only do the 3 miles, I’m not feeling it the entire time. So why do I end up running this distance so often? Well, for a couple reasons. One being time. It takes a half an hour. When you factor in changing my clothes, going to and from the gym and showering, it takes a little over and hour, give or take. It’s the perfect distance for getting a quick workout in. Secondly, it feels like a workout. Two miles feels too short. I know I’m probably wrong, but when I run less than three miles, I feel like I don’t get a good enough workout. Anyway, as you can probably deduce, I ran 3 miles today. I made myself do it at lunch. As much as I don’t want to run during lunch sometimes, I never regret doing it.

I’m about to start training for another half marathon. I’ve always used Hal Higdon’s Novice Half Marathon training plan. For my next race, however, I want to switch it up. I thought about doing the Intermediate, but it was too many days of running. I also looked at the FIRST program, but it had me doing almost 10 mile runs for my long run right off the bat. So I plugged in some numbers into the Runner’s World custom training tool and I liked what it gave me. This race is in 14 weeks so I have plenty of time to train.

Today was the cookie swap at work. Here’s the good and the bad. The good: my cookies were the favorite!! Everyone wanted them. The bad: I think I ate five cookies today. Oops. Tis the season?

If you’re a runner, what’s your favorite distance to run? Mine is probably 7-8 miles. I really feel like I accomplished something but it’s not completely exhausting. What’s your least favorite? You know mine.

14 responses to “Me want cookies

  1. My favorite distance is 6 miles. I think it’s b/c way back in the day before I was a runner, that was always my goal – to be able to run 6 miles without stopping. I always feel my best after 6.

  2. favorite: 10

    least favorite: honestly, i don’t have a least favorite!

  3. I know what you mean about 2 not feeling like enough! You know i’m just picking up running, but 4 is my favorite for a workout (walking/running).

    I had lots of treats today, too. 🙂

  4. angieinatlanta

    I like about 4ish miles. For some reason, I always like to break 30 minutes when running so 4ish works best for me and I still feel pretty tired afterwards so it’s a good workout for me.

    Seriously, the office area at work is a danger zone of baked goods lately. I just have to avoid it all completely. What kind of cookie did you bring in? I’m curious about what was the office fav!

  5. I’m not a runner but I think my favorite to walk is 4 miles. I actually walked 4 miles just a little while ago with Leslie Sanson 😉

  6. It’s okay, My Secret Santa at work gave me a candy bar…bad Nicci today!

  7. i am NOT a runner. favorite distance is 2.25 miles 🙂 ha!

  8. 7-9 would probably be my favorite….not enough to be a truly, TRULY long run (like, makes you drag completely), but long enough to feel like you got a great workout it!

    Oh – I think I’m going to make the Oreo Truffles!!

  9. My favorite distance is 3 miles… I run so infrequently that 3 miles is a big challenge for me! I know what you’re saying about 2 miles, though. By the time you get started, you’re already done & it doesn’t quite do the trick!

  10. I always want cookies!

    Not a runner much…haven’t done long distance since Boston Marathon two years ago.

    But my favorite workout now is INSANITY (Beach Body Program) – I love it!

    New SAHALE SNACKS giveaway, music, food + fitness – http://katiechangesforkatie.blogspot.com/

    Happy TUESDAY!

    Katie

  11. Hahaha I love your “tis the season” comment. That was the title of my post tonight and I was thinking it as I was eating the gingerbread cupcake! Oh well, New years is good for something right? I agree with the short distance runs too, 5 or 6 is the perfect distance for me.

  12. 10 miles is my perfect distance. I wrote a whole post about it once…haha. It is the perfect distance for me to space out and relax and get into the “groove”…although I haven’t run that far in a while. Stupid winter weather.

  13. Yay! I’m glad your cookies were the favorite ; ) I would have loved to try one, ha!