A big oops

I made a costly mistake at work. I hate that feeling. Now, I have to go in tomorrow and tell the CEO about it. It was on his account, of all people. Argh. I hope I don’t get in trouble. It might cost like $9,000 that the company will have to eat.

Anyway. Not going to think about that right now. Jason and I exchanged Christmukkah gifts today. I got him a new leather jacket (sorry vegans!) and he got me some hot yoga classes and this cookbook. Yay for holidays.

We’re about to go the gym. My knees have been sort of sore lately. Not painful, just sore. Should I be icing them? I’m really not running more than about 8 miles a week; I’m not sure why they’re bothering me. I’ve been told that my running form is bad and is going to cause me trouble in the future which I hope is not what’s happening. It’s so hard to correct your running form thoug, especially since what I am doing feels normal to me.

We’re going to Jason’s parents house for the weekend and don’t have many groceries in the house, so I think we might pick up some Chinese takeout after the gym. I almost always get some sort of vegetable soup and then steamed shrimp (or sometimes chicken or tofu) with veggies. It comes with a sauce, so although it’s not quite as good as if it were stir-fried with the sauce, it’s still pretty tasty and it’s much healthier. I did make a recipe earlier in the week that went unpictured.

Portobello Mushroom Chili (from allrecipes.com)

Sidenote: I love that you can upload your own pictures to Allrecipes. I do it with every recipe that I make from there.

IMG_2807.JPG

Ingredients

2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
2 medium onions, diced
2 cloves garlic, chopped
1 tablespoon chili powder
1/4 teaspoon ground cayenne pepper
1 1/2 pounds portobello mushrooms, cut into 1/2 inch pieces
1 (28 ounce) can Italian-style diced tomatoes
1 (19 ounce) can red kidney beans
salt to taste
1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper
Directions

Heat the oil in a large pot over medium heat, and cook the onions until tender. Stir in the garlic, chili powder, and cayenne pepper. Mix the mushrooms into the skillet, and continue cooking, stirring frequently, 10 minutes, or until tender.
Pour the tomatoes and beans into the skillet. Season with salt and pepper. Reduce heat to low, cover, and simmer 40 minutes.

Serves 6

I have a go to chili recipe but felt like switching it up some. This was good, but I don’t think it’s going to replace the other recipe. You have to like mushrooms to enjoy this chili; it had three packages in it!

Have you ever made a big mistake at work? Did you get in trouble or (gulp) get fired? I don’t think I’m going to get fired. I know I’m not but still, $9,000 is a lot of money.

9 responses to “A big oops

  1. A guy at Andrew’s work made a $15,000 mistake at his work last week if that makes you feel any better.

    Hot yoga classes sounds like a great present!! 🙂

    That chili looks so delicious… mmmm!!!

  2. eep, sorry about the big oops!! the chili looks awesome though.

  3. yikes – I hate that feeling in the pit of your stomach.

    I wish somebody would give me hot yoga classes as a Christmukkah gift!!!! (Hubby is Christian I am Jewish) love Christmukkah ;0)

    I got us a joint Christmukkah gift of super mario bros for the WII and a wireless game cube controller – ehhh maybe that’s more HIS gift. whatever 🙂 I can justify how I chose 🙂

  4. oh man…I’m so sorry! that is a bad feeling indeed…but I’m sure you’re not the only one…everyone makes mistakes!

    I’m liking the sound of that chili…I LOVE mushrooms!

  5. angieinatlanta

    Yikes! Hope all goes well today at work! I’ll keep my fingers crossed!

    That chili sounds awesome!

  6. I hope that everything goes okay today! I know that it’s not a good feeling, but you might feel relieved after you talk about it.

    Hot yoga- what a great gift! I’m trying to figure out what to do about it since I’m running out of classes! (If they weren’t so expensive, then it wouldn’t be so hard to make a decision…)

  7. Hope everything works out tomorrow. I hate when mistakes happen. That chilli looks good too.

  8. ughhhh – I hate that feeling. I’ve made mistakes before, and mostly it’s due to me procrastinating about certain things. It’s never cost my company money, but it certainly is a headache. I think we all have been there – thank goodness for forgiving bosses who know we ARE only human!