Opa!

Just a quick post before I start packing for the weekend. Jason and I are going to visit his family in Seneca, South Carolina. It’s about a two hour drive from here, although with this rain, it might take longer.

Last night I went to Taverna Plaka for a friend’s birthday. I used to drive by this restaurant all the time and have always wanted to try it. The atmosphere was very fun. There were about eight of us at the table. I started out with a Pomegranate Martini. It was way too sweet. But that didn’t stop me from drinking it. Everyone wanted to do the family style dining option. I am really not a fan of eating that way at all. I like what I like and I want to eat what I like. But, I didn’t want to be a pain so I went along with it. Included in the family style special were a ton of appetizers. There was hummus that was mashed at the table with a mortar and pestle, some sort of pita and three dips, spanikopita, greek salad and some sort of flaming cheese. I tried all of it besides the cheese. For the entree portion, most people got skewers of meat, but another girl and myself requested a vegetarian entree. It turned out to be grilled veggies in an eggplant boat and some green beans and lemony potatoes. And then, if we weren’t full enough, they brought out some small pieces of Baklava and some other sort of cake.

There was also round of ouzo shots and a lot of yelling OPA! and throwing napkins. Oh, and belly dancers. It was a really fun restaurant. I’m not sure that I’d want to go there for my birthday, however, because they made the birthday girl stand on the table while we sang to her. And then they threw more napkins at her. This place must go through an extraordinary amount of napkins.

Afterward, some of the group went out, but I opted to go home. It was already 10 o’clock by the time we finished eating. I had some trouble sleeping because I kept waking up and worrying that I would have a hangover in the morning. Yeah, that’s how you know you’re old. I didn’t even drink that much! (And I don’t have a hangover, if you were wondering.)

At lunch today, I made use of the office gym and did a 20 minute walk at 3.7 mph with a 5.0 incline. Then I did the following:

Front squat/push press – 25lbs, 2 sets of 10
Step-up – 10 lbs, 2 sets of 10 each leg
Dumbbell One Point Row – 25lbs, 2 sets of 10
Static Lunge, Rear Foot Elevated, 25 lbs, 2 sets of 10 each leg
Plank – 60 seconds, 2 sets
Inclined sit up with an oblique twist, 2 sets of 10

I’m glad that I squeezed that workout in. I know that I’m not going to be working out tomorrow and I feel like I’ve taken way too much advantage of the cookies and other treats in the breakroom at work. I need normalcy. I’ll be happy when the holidays are over.

Oh! Speaking of cookies, sort of, I get a lot of presents from vendors (printers that I use) this time of year. Normally, they send cookies or some other sweet treat. Yesterday, I opened up a box and it was a snuggie! How cool is that? It had the printer’s name embroidered on it, but it’s still really cool. And no, it’s not the leopard one. I’ve had like 5 people ask me that!

10 responses to “Opa!

  1. Congrats on scoring the snuggie! Much better than cookies!

  2. Okay so I was totally against snuggies– it’s just a backwards robe!– but then my mom got one at a white elephant gift swap and that thing is so WARM! I love it.

  3. I love greek food! And baklava!!!!!!!! 🙂

    Yay for the snuggie!! I’m in my zebra printed one right now, haha!! 🙂 I think all of America made fun of them so much at first and now we’re all finally giving into it and realizing just how great they really are, haha! 🙂

  4. The part where you mention you know that you are getting old when you keep waking up, worried that you are going to have a hangover – so well put. Jesus christ, how did I abuse my liver when I was younger.

    Guess it’s time to get back to Bingo:)

    Snuggies are amazing, I simply can not wrap my mind around those who are Snuggie haters, for they represent everything that is right in the world.

  5. Love your blog…and great news on the Snuggie!

  6. Sounds like a fun dinner. And the vegetarian option sounds perfect to me! I love that you got a snuggie. I need one right now. Enjoy the weekend

  7. You tried everything except the cheese? Oh my, I wouldn’t have minded NOT trying anything EXCEPT the flaming cheese! Woo hoo! But I guess we can’t all like fermented milk! 😉

    Yay snuggie! That should keep you nice and toasty! Haha, I would def have asked you if it was the leopard one if you hadn’t told us it’s not!

  8. I love how Snuggies were kind of a joke, and now everyone wants one! I asked for one from Santa – we’ll see if he comes through. The Leopard print one cracks me up.

  9. I love that one of your vendors got a snuggie!

    I’m always freezing at work, so one day I was wearing an oversized sweater wrap and a guy that I sit near asked me if it was a Snuggie. I wasn’t sure whether I should laugh or be embarassed by that! 😉