Just want to relax!

I feel like it’s been go, go, go since Thursday. We got to Jason’s parents house at about 10:15 on Friday night. The weekend was filled with eating, drinking, chatting, board games and crazy dogs.

Doggie cousins Murphy and Chief. Chief is my dog-in-law, I suppose.

IMG_2851.JPG

They obviously take tug of war quite seriously.

I definitely ate a lot over the weekend. Jason’s mom made this cake that was delicious and I could not stop myself from eating another little bit here and there. Then I felt like I had to sample some of the cookies that I’d brought from the cookie swap. I am a sucker for sweets; I can’t help it. We opened gifts on Saturday night and took some family photos. I have one of all of us, but wasn’t sure if they all wanted their picture posted on the interwebs. So here’s me, Jason and Murphy.

IMG_2875.JPG

Contrary to how it looks, I’m not choking the dog.

We drove back to Atlanta early Sunday afternoon. I really wanted to get back to eating healthy, but we didn’t have any food in the house and decided to go out to dinner. We went to The Brickstore in downtown Decatur. This is one of my favorite restaurants but there is always such a long wait that we never end up going. On a Sunday night, however, we only had to wait about 15 minutes.

Downtown Decatur is so cute.

IMG_2894.JPG

I love the ambiance of the Brickstore. They have a lot of craft beers. In fact, I took my father there once and he had no idea what to order. You will not find Miller Lite on their menu nor will you find any tvs. I love it. Plus, a lot of their food is local.

IMG_2902.JPG

I had the Sweet Potato Curry. Sort of a random choice for a brewpub, but it was good.

IMG_2909.JPG

We had a nice time talking. Like I’ve said before, Jason and I don’t have the same work schedule, so it’s rare that we get to have a leisurely dinner together. Normally I’m in “I don’t want to go out on a school night” mode, but since it is a short week, I changed my tune. Plus, we went early and were home by nine.

I finally got some exercise in today at lunch. Sort of weird that I take two days off and am chomping at the bit to get back at it. I actually started the new half-marathon training plan that I got from Runner’s World. This plan has me running some SLOOOOOOOW short runs. I ran 2 miles today at 5.3 mph. I’m going to stick with it. I guess that you make up for the slow runs with tempo and speedwork training. I guess they know what they’re doing. They being the creators of these custom plans. I’m curious to see what my time will be following this plan.

After work, I went to Maggiano’s for a friend’s graduation celebration dinner. Maggiano’s makes me nervous. I know that’s weird and a little disordered, but it’s true. I don’t like how pretty much nothing on their menu is healthy. But what I really don’t like is the family style dining. Yes, this is the second time this has happened to me in 4 days! Everyone else wanted to get the family style and I wanted to get mussels. At first the waitress said that I couldn’t; if everyone else was getting the family style, I had to too. I mean, I understand that they don’t want people who aren’t paying to take advantage, but going family style at an Italian restaurant is kind of a nightmare for me. (No offense, Jaime!) Fortunately, she let me order the mussels after I promised her that I wouldn’t taste the family style food. How do you guys feel about family style dining? Love it? Hate it?

After dinner, I went over to Borders to pick up a present for my brother and stepmother. And now I’m doing laundry. Will I ever get to relax? All signs point to no.

13 responses to “Just want to relax!

  1. ahhhh the holidays- always feels like you should have SO much more relaxation time than you ever do! Cute pic of you, the man and the puppers. That restaurant looks adorable too- sweet potato curry? YUM!

  2. Such a sweet family photo! 🙂

    Andrew and I have some friends that were just talkin about the Brickstore.

    I know what you mean about how family style eating makes you nervous. I’ve never been there, but I can imagine I’d be wanting to do my own thing as well. To me, that’s part of the fun of going out to eat – choosing your own dish, ya know?

  3. I know how you feel, the holidays are crazy! I keep telling myself that once I get home that things will slow down but who knows? I have tried that ginger people candy, a little strong for me but definitely good. That sweet potato curry looks amazing! I love it when restaurants tell you where all their food is from, makes you feel good about giving them the business! Cute family picture too!

  4. Honestly, I’ve never done family-style dining, but I think I’d probably like it – I like variety at places I’ve never been (though, if it was all unhealthy food, I’d probably be with you!)

  5. No offense taken! I like family style because you get to sample a few different dishes; however, the portions are ridiculously large, so that you end up eating much more than you would otherwise. I paid the price at the gym this morning.

  6. I love downtown Decatur… it’s so new & cute!

    I don’t really like family-style… I’m just not much of a “try a little bit of everything” type of person! It’s normally overpriced and just overwhelming, imo.

    I agree that Maggiano’s is a little ridiculous… they don’t seem to make any effort whatsoever to have any healthy items on their menu!

  7. i acutally know what you mean about maggiano’s and the whole family style dining thing..I like going to a place where I know there are at least a few healthy options! What you can do is always custom order something though! ask for sauce on the side or no butter or lightly dressed salad, things like that to help make it healthier!

  8. I love the brickstore – great atomosphere especially in this cold weather. I’m actually heading to the square tommorrow to visit my sister!!

    Yes… family style anything makes me nervous. It tosses “portions” out of the window and I myself need portion control as I never feel full until i’m long past it. eek!

  9. We went to Maggiano’s for our holiday work lunch last week!

    We actually all got our own meals, but I know exactly what you mean about family style dining. We have a place here (Buca di Bepo) that only offers family style, I believe. Unfortunately, I usually avoid pasta dishes unless I can get a 1/2 portion or something. My tummy and brain don’t agree on when to stop when it comes to pasta!

    • Aside from the health factor, I also don’t like family style because I’m plain ol’ picky. I don’t eat red meat or pork and I don’t like cream sauce.

  10. Brewpubs are my fav. Curry is always a gorgeous choice, imo!

  11. Peanut Butter Bliss

    cute family photo girlie!!
    oh my god that curry looks/sounds amazing!! enjoy your evening!

  12. Oh no! I hope you get to relax soon! It’s essential in the holidays!
    Sweet potato curry sounds awesome, though! Never knew they sold that in pubs!