Resolution Recap

Taking a cue from Sarah and Chandra, I decided to review my 2009 New Years Resolutions and see how I did. That’s the good thing about having a blog, I can go back and look them up, otherwise I would not have remembered them at all!

Here they are:

1. Try a new recipe each week. I actually did really well with this one. I feel like I cooked more this past year than I ever had previously. I think part of it was because I discovered that I really enjoyed photographing my food. And I really didn’t want to photograph something from a box. Weird motivation, but it worked!

2. Keep up with running after I run a big race. I did okay with this. I ended up running quite a few races in 2009. I think I ran eight – three 5Ks, two 10Ks, a 15K and two half-marathons. Signing up for new races definitely kept me running.

3. Stop gossiping. I’m not really sure where this came from. I must have felt guilty for talking shit about someone when I wrote it. I declare this resolution N/A.

4. Dress better. Well considering I kept waiting to lose those 10 pounds before I bought any new clothes and never lost them, this was a major fail.

5. Stop drinking to get drunk. I think that I’ve gotten better about this. Sort of. Basically, I pretty much only drink when I’m out with friends in a social environment. I cut WAY down on drinking at home and drinking during the week. But I didn’t exactly cut down how many drinks I had when I’m out drinking if that makes any sense. Still, it’s progress.

6. Record what I’m eating. Eh, I don’t have the patience for this. I try to do it sometimes during the day but then never feel like keeping up with it at night.

I don’t think I consciously thought of these resolutions during the year, but it’s interesting to see what I thought I needed to change in my life one year ago and how that differs from what I feel like I need to work on for the next year. And what is that? I still have ten days to figure it out.

I kind of felt like a human garbage disposal today. These stupid sweets in the break room are going to be the end of me. I cannot stop picking when I go to refill my water bottle. Maybe they’ll get thrown away after Christmas. Hopefully. Really did I need a cup of stale caramel popcorn this afternoon? Don’t answer that.

I had my first Tempo run of my half mary training today. I think I was a little lofty with my time goal. I put in that I’d run a half at 2:12 because I wanted to PR in the next one. But really, my fastest time is 2:17. I just noticed that this plan says that if I follow it, I’ll run the half in 2:08. I think I might revise it to go just a tad slower. Or maybe I should just push myself. So yeah, tempo runs suck. That’s all I have to say about that. I did a 5 mile run which included a 1 mile warm-up, 3 mile tempo and 1 mile cool down. I wasn’t even running the tempo portion that fast; it was at 6.1. For some reason, I felt like the treadmill was on an incline even though it wasn’t. It sucked but I soldiered through. I’ve never had any sort of mantra before, but I kept telling myself, “You have to run faster to get faster.”

8 responses to “Resolution Recap

  1. Very fun to see what your resolutions last year were! At least you kept most of them right? That is awesome how many races you did!

  2. I’ve already started preparing for my New Year’s resolution for 2010. And it doesn’t have to do with weight… stay tuned to find out… 😉

  3. Hahaha I laughed out loud when you got to the “stop gossiping” resolution and didn’t know where it came from.

    I’m hoping that the sweets go away, too… I seem to lose all of my discretion and just try anything sweet that comes my way this time of year!

  4. I’m with you on the “dress better.” I refuse to buy any clothes until I lose weight, and that isn’t happening, so I’m stuck in some boring ones. I need to make a better effort!

  5. Your resolutions sound great! Motivates me to get mine going :). Merry Christmas!

  6. Resolutions are funny…I also think I make them and forget them soon after. Maybe blogging about them for the world to see will make them stick? Anyway, I know what you mean about the garbage disposal thing…I swear in years past there were either less treats or I had more self control. I know I’m going to gain weight this month which makes me mad…because it’s like, how cliche is that?

  7. LOL @ #3. I’ve never been huge on resolutions, only because I never know what to do or change. I mean, where do I start? 🙂

    It sounds like you did great with yours. I think maybe I need to at least TRY and have some resolutions for the New Year. This will give me something to think about while I (pretend to) work for the next couple of hours….

  8. Great job on the Resolutions!