That Requisite Resolution Post

People seem to fall into two camps when it comes to New Years Resolutions. Either they love the idea of setting goals for the year or they think that it is stupid, that if you set a goal for yourself, you should not have to wait for New Years Day to do so. I’m in the “I like resolutions” group. Really, I just like finding ways to better myself and I like making lists. I also think it’s fun to look back and see what I have and haven’t accomplished.

So, without further ado, here are my 2010 goals/resolutions (is there a difference?):

1. Run faster. This is my top goal. I have not set a PR in a very long time and I am dying to set one in an upcoming race. Last year I did eight races and I’m hoping to do around the same this year, so I have plenty of chances to PR. I really don’t care what the distance is.

2. Keep the house cleaner. This is actually very hard for both me and Jason. We are not the neatest of folk. Slobs, really, if you will. The mess annoys me but I still contribute to it. I know that we’re never going to be the type of people who keep an immaculate house, but I want to keep the house neat enough so I’m not embarrassed if friends drop by unannounced. Yes, it’s that bad.

3. Treat my body better. This is sort of an all-encompassing goal. To me, it includes not eating as much processed food, eating more organic and sustainable foods and not drinking to the point where I feel bad the next day. Oh and getting a better skincare regimen going. I am going to turn 32 this year; I am going to start to need to ward off those wrinkles!

That’s it. I can think of a whole laundry list of other things, but when it gets too lengthy, I end up forgetting things. Notice, however, that there are no weight loss goals. I’d love it if I lost 10 pounds but I’m hoping that by running faster and treating my body better, the weight will come off on it’s own. And maybe keeping the house clean will burn some calories?!

Jason and I kinda sorta decided to do an alcohol detox for the month of January. Meaning that we aren’t going to drink all month. Honestly, I don’t think we can do it. If I was just home with Jason on the weekends, it would be fine. But the problem is when friends call me to meet up at bars. It’s going to be very hard to go to a bar and not drink. I’m going to try though. I actually was hesitant to even announce this because in a way I sort of feel like I’m setting myself up to fail. Umm, 29 more days? Wish us luck.

10 responses to “That Requisite Resolution Post

  1. if you want to, you can do it!!! just think — it’s just one month! or, you could do a one drink limit? i would happily commit to that goal but honesty it’s mostly because my tolerance is so low that 1 drink gives me plenty of a buzz. heh.

  2. I definitely think you can do an alcohol detox. I have switched to carbonated water and a splash of Pom. So tasty.

    Stop by my blog I left something there for you 🙂

  3. I love your resolutions Lee!! You can definitely do the alcohol detox. Just be up front with your friends and let them know you guys are just doing and challenge for the month and hopefully they’ll be supportive. Just think of all the money you’ll save!! 🙂 I think I’ll join you, ok?! No alcohol for me either and if you see any on my blog, feel free to ream me in the comments section! 😉

    Oh, and feel free to ask any questions about house cleaning/organization. I’m kind of the queen of it, haha! Seriously though I love it and enjoy giving tips so if you have a specific question about a certain area you’re looking to improve, I’d love to help!! 🙂

  4. It is SO hard for me to be out at a bar and not get at least one drink. Sometimes I’ll just get a soda, but I love my beer. 🙂 At least maybe since it’s January, people won’t be going out as much? Or at least, they don’t here….it’s 16 degrees here now (feels like 1 with the wind chill) and I’ve been trying to convince myself for hours just to go to the grocery store.

    I think your skin looks absolutely amazing! I get “squinty eyes” when I smile, so crow’s feet have known my face for a couple of years already. Oh well…could be worse??

    • Thanks. The clear skin is purely luck though. Jason is always telling me that I constantly furrow my brow, so I am worried about forehead wrinkles!

  5. Nice resolutions! I gotta say, though, the no drinking for the month of Jan would be so hard for me! Not that I’m an acoholic or something but to me, its such a nice way to unwind after a particularly rough week or day, I’d miss it! Though, if I set my mind to it, I could probably do it, with a few tears, of course 😉 I agree with HomecookedEm, I am the QUEEN of cleaning, any tips, you know where to find either of us 😉

  6. angieinatlanta

    I like your resolutions, especially the one about treating your body better. I could do that one as well!

    You know, I rarely drink anymore and after the first few times of not drinking with my friends, it just started to feel normal. I’m sure you can do your detox and you’ll feel tons better after!

  7. You can do the no drinking resolution! I’m not a big drinker, so I’m no hope with any tips. Sorry!

    I’m agreeing with BalanceBroad -your skin looks amazing! I’m always making faces and wrinkling my forehead, so the wrinkles are already starting on me. Jonathan points them out and tells me when I’m making faces (and I don’t even realize it). 🙂

  8. All very attainable goals! It’s always tough to avoid socially drinking. Good luck with the wagon this month!

  9. lessonstolearn

    I don’t know that I have ever commented on your blog! Just wanted to wish you a very happy new year. Your goals are great. Not drinking for the month would be easy for me…no chocolate for a month…that would be near impossible!