An award and some tummy woes

image1.png

I was awarded the Beautiful Blogger award by Em at Homecookedem and Sarah at Healthy Mom on the Run. Woo hoo! You like me, you really like me! (What is that from? I have no idea.)

Anyway, I’m supposed to give seven facts about myself and then nominate seven other bloggers for the award. I did something like this here so I’ll have to think up seven different facts. Here goes.

1. Lee is a nickname. I would tell you my real name but it’s so unusual that this blog would probably come up if anyone googles it. So, email me if you want to know! I decided to go by Lee in second grade.

2. I see a lot of live music. In 2009, I saw Ben Folds, Morissey, Depeche Mode, The Flaming Lips, David Berkeley, Josh Joplin, U2, Dave Matthews Band and more that I’m sure that I’m forgetting. I couldn’t even tell you how many concerts I’ve been to in my lifetime.

3. I majored in Art and minored in English. If I went back to college, I probably would not pick the same major and minor.

4. I used to be sort of a hippie. I wore hemp necklaces and birkenstocks pretty much every day throughout college.

5. I have a horrible singing voice. I wish I could sing. I like singing. Both of my parents can’t sing either. I’m doomed.

6. I don’t think that I have an accent. I’ve been told that my voice is nasally though. I don’t consider that my accent, but apparently people from the DC area have nasally voices, according to my non-DC friends.

7. I don’t wear a lot of makeup on a daily basis. When I’m feeling fancy, I put on some eyeliner. Lol.

So, now for the nominations. Feel free to ignore this if you don’t want to fill it out. I won’t be offended!

Errign at 365 Days
Caroline at Caroline Dines
Sarah at Ghost World
Alison at Green Dog Wine
Katie at Yes, I want Cake
Jessica at EatDrinkBreatheSweat
Alisha at Poise in Parma

Last night, I went to a Bangladeshi restaurant called Panahar with some friends. Bangladeshi food is very similar to Indian food. They had a special New Years Menu which was yet another family style option. Four out of the six of us were interested in getting it. Seriously, this is the third time in a month that I’ve gone to dinner where most people want to do family style. Unlike Maggiano’s, the people at Panahar were totally cool with me not ordering the special. Instead, I had the Halim soup which was wonderful. I don’t know what vegetables were in it, but it was delicious. For my entree, I had Channa Begoon. I managed to stay away from the naan, but definitely had a fair share of basmati rice.

I didn’t eat that, that much, but I felt so full afterwards. Like uncomfortably full. This always seems to happen to me after I eat Indian food. It tastes really good, but my stomach is never pleased with me. I still felt like I had a rock in my stomach when I woke up this morning.

It’s so cold out this morning. Seriously, it’s like 18 and the windchill is 11. This is too cold. I live in the south!! I am not supposed to have to deal with frigid temperatures. And really, if it’s going to be this cold, I would at least like some snow. Murphy, on the other hand, is dying to go outside. I just can’t do it yet. I don’t even know how to dress for the extreme cold anymore. Don’t make fun of me for calling this the extreme cold! I need to get my butt to the gym. I finally feel like my cold is gone. I still have a slight cough, but am feeling so much better.

Happy last day of the long weekend. Back to normal tomorrow. I’m trying to embrace it.

11 responses to “An award and some tummy woes

  1. Loved learning more about you! 🙂 I always wanted to be a hippie, but my idea of hippie was apparently not very hippie-ish so I didn’t pull it off very well! 😉

    Glad you were able to order what you wanted last night. That restaurant sounds intriguing!

    Stay warm!! I’m majorly bundled up right now!!

  2. thanks babe! i’ll probably save this for a day i can’t think of what to post 🙂

  3. Love your 7 things! That is interesting about your name…there are really no ways to shorten “Holly” (other than “Hol”), and I always was jealous of people with nicknames.

    That IS cold for Atlanta! It’s so hard to convince yourself to get outside when it’s freezing a$$ cold outside. When the gusts of wind make my eyes WATER, it is too.damn.cold!

  4. That is pretty dang cold by my standards!

    I used to see a lot of live music, but I haven’t gone to a concert in awhile.

  5. I have a horrible singing voice too! In a music education class we had to get up in front of everyone and sing a song. It was the dreaded part of the class. Luckily the professor was nice, but I’ve blocked out that moment.

    It is too cold today!!!! I want to curl up in a ball under the covers all day.

  6. Thank you for the beautiful blogger shout-out! Love that 🙂 I agree, its freezing…oh wait, that’s cuz I live in new england. What’s with the freezing temps in Atlanta???

  7. thanks for the love!

  8. angieinatlanta

    Brrr…it really is freezing out there! I was super bundled up this morning just to take the trash out!

    I always get uncomfortably full when I eat Mexican food and it sits and sits and sits in my stomach. Meh. But it sure does taste great going down!

  9. 🙂 I will do this tommorrow 🙂

    & it’s okay to be a hippie when you’re living in VT! 🙂

  10. Thank you for the blogger love! Will definitely fill out my seven some time this week. You’ve got a great list there!

  11. “you like me, you really like me,” is the misquoted line taken from Sally Field’s acceptance speech for her second Academy Award for her role in “Places in the Heart.” The actual quote is “…you like me, right now, you like me.” Her first Oscar was for “Norma Rae”