I take it back

It began to snow more after I blogged last night. I woke up this morning and there was a dusting on the ground. I didn’t really think anything of it so I showered and got ready for work. Then I just so happened to look at my phone and saw 2 missed calls and three texts from co-workers. Yes! Work was cancelled! I thought it was a bunch of overreacting until I took Murphy for a walk later in the afternoon and was slipping everywhere. There was a ton of ice all over the sidewalks and roads. And since the temperature didn’t get above freezing, the ice didn’t melt. I had planned to go to LA Fitness to do a 5 mile run on the treadmill but there was a sheet of ice at the bottom of the hill in my complex, so I figured it was probably safer to stay home.

For lunch, I opened a box of Annie’s Shells and White Cheddar that I’ve had in the cabinet forever. Mac and cheese hits the spot sometimes. I mixed it with broccoli for bulk. I can easily eat the whole box if I don’t add some sort of filler.

IMG_0392.JPG

I pretty much did nothing all day, workout wise, with the excuse that I couldn’t leave the house. It was partially true; I guess I could have done an On Demand exercise video or something. Hopefully the ice will melt and I’ll be able to go to the gym tomorrow and Sunday.

For dinner, I made Cumin-Spiced Chicken with Chunky Tomato Sauce and Chili-Lime Corn on the Cob. I really like everything that I’ve made from the Cooking Light Fast Fresh Food cookbook.

IMG_0460.JPG

Do you prefer it when people link to a recipe or actually post it?

Jason and I have also managed to go through almost an entire thing of Edy’s Slow Churned Ice Cream in two days. Umm, oops? I apparently cannot be left alone with a quart of ice cream. I need to buy dessert in single portion sizes. Ice cream is a major weakness of mine. I just really, really like it.

16 responses to “I take it back

  1. Wasn’t it crazy today?! I had my gym backed for LA Fit too – definitely didn’t go. Oh well! Enjoy the snow day/night!

  2. I was didn’t go to the gym on Thursday because when I woke up it was pouring out and I convinced myself that it wouldn’t be safe driving in the pouring rain at 4 AM so went back to bed.. oops.

  3. Your dinner looks amazing. I don’t have a preference on recipes as long as I can get my hands on it somehow. I LOVE recipes and if I see something I want to cook I want access to a recipe.

    Yay for a snow day! We didn’t even have a delay. It made the morning commute interesting.

  4. angieinatlanta

    It was really pretty nasty out there! I’ve been watching the local news and it’s like they set up a camera on an icy street just to get footage of people spinning out…which is kind of sick, when you think about it.

    Dinner looks yummy. I like when people link to the recipe because then if I like it, I can bookmark it!

  5. YAY for a snow day!! ๐Ÿ™‚ I was so lazy today, but loved every minute of it!!

    I’m bad with ice cream too… even when I measure it out, I still seem to really pack it into the measuring cup and fit as much in as possible, as well as eat an extra bite from the spoon after measuring, and sometimes the measuring cup is overflowing. I think that defeats the purpose of measuring??

  6. It must be really scary to live in a place where it doesn’t snow often, so people aren’t familiar with driving in it – eeek!

    I always add broccoli or peas to Annies, sometimes even canned tuna if I am making it as a meal for B & I. Hits the spot!

  7. I feel like it won’t stop snowing here in Cleveland. And every time a snow storm has hit this week, I’ve been driving to the other side of town. I have really great timing!

    I do the same with my mac and cheese – I a huge fan of adding broccoli to mine – sometimes ham if I need the protein. And I seem to have the same problem with ice cream containers in my house!

  8. I love that you added broccoli to your Annie’s what a good idea! Beautiful pictures, too. ๐Ÿ™‚ What kid of camera do yo use??

  9. Ah! I WISH work would get canceled for me! Every time it snows I wish I was still in school where snow days existed. Haha.

    That dinner looks so so good!

  10. I love love love Annie’s mac n cheese. I usually mix peas in for added bulk, although broccoli is a great idea too!

    I don’t mind either way of posting the recipe, but it’s probably easier to print if it’s linked to the actual website. Enjoy the rest of your weekend!

  11. Oh yum that dinner looks great! I love Cooking Light…I haven’t ever made a recipe that I didn’t like from there. It just goes to show that healthy cooking does not mean you have to sacrifice taste! Love it!

  12. i LOVE mixing mac with broccoli. LOVE LOVE LOVE! gimme your snow!

  13. mmmmmm….both of your meals today look absolutely delicious! I love adding veggies to annie’s, it makes it “do-able” in my opinion and corn on the cob is something that I yearn for during the winter!