Lusting for Spring

I have five words that can sum up my post title:

Seven miles on the treadmill

Ugh! It was still too icy out to run outside (or I’m just a wimp about the cold, take your pick) but I was feeling in the mood to run so I decided to do my long run today instead of tomorrow. Yes, on the treadmill. Bleh. I did a walk/run combination. I just can’t run for seven miles straight watching the seconds go by. I walked 2 minutes than ran 8 and repeated the entire time. I like this method because it gives me a time to look forward to. Like if I’m at 46 minutes, I tell myself that there are four more minutes left until I can walk. This helps. Outside, I don’t need to do it really. It’s definitely more of a way to combat boredom than anything.

This cold weather that we’ve been having has turned everyone into a homebody. I’d much rather be in sweats on my couch than out. It makes the 30-day no drinking thing easier, at least!

Whenever I visit my parents or they visit me, they always ask me what I do on a typical weekend. I can never answer them. My weekends aren’t that interesting, I guess. But I thought about it and today is a very typical Saturday in Lee world and here’s what it looks like.

• Get up anywhere from 7:30-10. Usually closer to 7:30. Unfortunately.
• Feed Murphy and myself.
• Sit on the couch for several hours watching bad TV. Today included 1.5 hours of Teen Mom.
• Wake Jason up around noon. Talk for an hour or so.
• Eat lunch. Sometimes out, sometimes at home. Say bye to Jason as he leaves for work.
• Mess around on the internet
• Take Murphy on a walk. This can be anywhere from 15 minutes to an hour and a half depending on the weather. Today’s was about 40 minutes, mostly because I was walking extremely slowly because I was afraid that Murph would pull me and I’d fall on the ice.
• Go to gym.
• Figure out plan for the night. Call friends. If no one is around or I’m just not feeling social, make dinner.

IMG_0468.JPG

(Mediterranean Lentil Salad from Cooking with All Things Trader Joe’s.)

• Either go out or watch more bad tv and mess around on the internet.
• Wait for Jason to come home from work. Sometimes fall asleep while waiting.

Hmm, I do not sound like I lead a very interesting life, now do I?! I swear it feels more interesting than that! I guess that today was especially mundane. What does a typical Saturday look like for you?

18 responses to “Lusting for Spring

  1. I hate this time of year. I’m totally over this yucky COLD winter weather already. I cannot run outside in this weather… and I miss it!! 😦

    Typical Saturday for me – hanging out with Andrew – maybe run a few errands – relax on the couch – read blogs. Might sound boring to some people, but I love it!! 🙂

  2. i could never. ever. ever. go 7 miles on the treadmill. you are my hero.

  3. Does your gym have a track? I HATE the treadmill. I am not a fan of the track either (it slopes and is filled with people) but it’s the lesser of two evils. We are having a heat wave where I am (20 degrees) so I was able to get my 4.5 in outdoors. I was stoked bc the temps were supposed to be 0. 7 miles on the treadmill- you are amazing!

  4. Great post! Girl – your saturday isn’t boring -it’s real life haha 🙂 Just think – it could be worse – you could have to be at work all day or something. Agreed about the treadmill …love/hate relationship…requires a TV – but with a good show – not like at the Gym where all the Regulars (aka mostly older than 60 year olds) want to watch only CNN feeds, the stock market (yeah, really 😦 ), golf, poker or the French news…ugh – i have to fight to get to see an episode of “Friends”…

  5. LOL, we have very similar weekends 🙂

  6. Haha, you’re like me…spending majority of the time on the Internet, I see. I only wish I had TV to watch, too.

    I hate running on the treadmill…I can’t do more than 3 miles on it. That’s why I’m so glad to be back in california, so I can finally run outside in the sun!

  7. angieinatlanta

    First off, awesome job on the run! Very impressive!

    Secondly, I’m a total homebody during cold weather as well. My normal Saturdays look a lot like yours, to be totally honest!

  8. I can’t believe that you ran 7 miles on the treadmill. Last winter when I was training for a marathon I skipped my runs if it was too cold. There was no way I could run more than 4 miles on the treadmill. I think I skipped too many runs because I had my worst marathon time ever.

    Usually on Saturdays I’m at the gym, the grocery store and the library. Then I just do chores at home and relax. On Friday I only left the house to buy People magazine and a diet coke. This weather is awful!!!

  9. I TOTALLY hear you on the lusting for spring thing! I was JUST telling my boyfriend the other day that I’m starting to get pretty excited for spring. I don’t mind the cold but this bitter cold/icy stuff is just not for me.

    My weekends are pretty boring too. I’m usually so worn out from the week that most of it is lounging around/tv time. Which I completely love. Haha.

  10. I am a treadmill junkie! I LOVE IT! I ran 14 miles on the treadmill on Thursday…haha…I fall into a trance and I don’t even realize how far I have gone. I can definitely zone out on a treadmill and go forever! 🙂

  11. Jenn Eats Nutritiously Now

    My weekends are never very interesting, either. I definitely do not live the “typical” college student life, but I still have fun and try to enjoy it.

  12. 7 Miles on the treadmill?! I can only do that if I am watching a movie… I don’t know why… I am not a runner but I find even walking on the treadmill hard.

    Your lentil salad looks good.

  13. Haha, I love to watch Teen Mom – girls/boyfriends are such trainwrecks

  14. I love to hear people’s weekend schedules! It’s funny how sometimes you think people might have all of these amazing plans, but they really might be homebodies. Or vice versa. Me? I’m a homebody, but I also like the feeling of running errands and being gone a lot. My schedule would DEFinitely sound boring to some, but I love it.