5 months away

I just realized that my wedding is five months away, not six. My father also just pointed out that we’re getting married at 6pm, not 6:30 like I’d been saying. Oops on both accounts! So, I have five months to whip myself (and Jason) into tip-top shape. Now, how the hell am I going to do that?

I don’t like counting calories. It’s just a pain and something I’m really not willing to do. I’ve gone back and forth with it before and I realized that while it does work, I prefer to think of my food as food instead of as numbers. But, I could probably tell you how many calories are in just about anything. Not saying that’s necessarily a good thing, but basically I know when I’m eating more than I should be and for the most part, I’m not surprised by the calorie count in anything that I’m eating.

I’ve been thinking about it and figured out that my problem is definitely the evening. I am totally fine during the day. Then I get home and almost immediately go to the kitchen. For whatever reason, I equate coming home for the evening with eating. This needs to change. My other problem is after dinner. I get peckish and well, peck.

Those are my two biggest problems and I need to fix them. So this is what I am going to do. I am going to allow myself a snack when I get home. BUT, it’s going to be a pre-portioned snack. I am not going to have a taste of this and a taste of that. An egg, some nuts, a 1/2 cup of yogurt, those are fine. Then after dinner, I am going to allow myself to have one dessert. One. Not a 1/2 cup of ice cream that somehow turns into 2 cups. If I am really hungry after that, I will eat fruit.

Sounds easy on paper (screen?) but we’ll have to see how it works.

Also, since my training plan only has me running three days a week, I plan to devote two days a week to strength training. Or one to yoga and one to lifting weights. In the past, my body has responded very well to strength training, it just has always fallen by the wayside when I’ve been training for a race, which seems to be often.

So, that’s that.

In other news, where did this come from?

IMG_2979.JPG

If you guessed the wallet and time suck that is Target, you’re right. Although in hindsight, I would have gotten a nicer on; this was only $15 and I can tell. So, did it help my photo predicament? Well, here’s dinner.

IMG_0563.JPG

I took about 30 pictures before I got one that was clear. This tripod did not really help with the camera shake, but maybe I didn’t have everything screwed on as tight as it could have been. I messed with the settings a lot but still am not getting the quality of picture that I’m trying for. The lighting in my dining room is awful though and I’m sure that’s part of it. So, what was dinner, you ask?

I took a can of Trader Joe’s marinated bean salad (why yes, that is a giant strawberry behind the can of beans)

IMG_0544.JPG

and mixed it with some couscous and spinach and stuffed it inside of a big pepper that had been microwaved for two minutes. Then I crumbled some goat cheese on top and microwaved it for a minute. Pretty good! I have a lot of the bean/couscous mixture leftover which will make a nice lunch or dinner for Jason. For full disclosure, I also had an apple muffin (homemade) and some pomegranate seeds.

I’m supposed to do a 6 mile tempo run tonight. Right now I am lying on the couch under the guise that I am digesting.

20 responses to “5 months away

  1. I like you even more that you were off on your wedding date and time. You will remember the time and date when it really matters and that is what invitations are for anyway, right? 🙂

  2. You plan sounds good. I tell my clients that the reason people are generally hungry at the end of the day is because they didn’t eat enough during the day. I put all my clients on the following meal schedule:

    breakfast
    mid-morning snack
    lunch
    afternoon snack
    dinner
    evening snack

    This allows your metabolism to be in constant motion. Now the key is too not ADD calories. So this mught mean you need to make your other meals smaller to incoporate the extra snacking. But ideally when you feed your body the right amounts of food you should be hungry every 3 hours. Make sense?

    Oh…and I love that you missed a month on your wedding…too cute!

  3. Yay for 5 months until your wedding! That is oh so exciting! I think your plan sounds sane and totally achievable. When I got married, I stressed out the month before and pretty much didn’t eat. I was grouchy.

    Awesome pics…probably worth the $15 😉

  4. angieinatlanta

    Yum! Your dinner looks tasty!

    I think your plan sounds good – sane and balanced! I think a huge part of getting it together is just taking the time to think about a plan; that always helps me.

    Yay for your wedding being so close!

  5. Wow! What a great looking dinner. And how exciting that your wedding is so close! Try drinking a glass of water when you feel like snacking- a whole glass! Then wait 5 minutes…if you’re still hungry- go for the snack! I find this works for me. Hopefully it will help you too!

  6. Keep digesting! It’s too cold out. 🙂

  7. I have trouble with evening snacking too! For me, I’m finding that instead of snacking on carbs, if I snack on more protein sources, I’m much more satisfied and don’t go overboard. It sounds like you’re heading in that direction since you mentioned eggs, nuts, and yogurt as snack options. I think this will help.

    Your dinner looks so amazing!! Very, very pretty!! 🙂

  8. love the stuffed peppers! so colorful! Homemade apple muffin, huh? Have a recipe to share by chance?! 😉

  9. My friend is getting married in May and JUST found out today her venue (for the reception) is closing, effective immediately. Can you imagine?!! I’m sure your wedding planning is going much more smoothly. 🙂

    Your dinner looks amazing! So you microwaved the pepper? I don’t know why I didn’t think to do that. I liked stuffed peppers when I made them, just seems like a long process for something so little (I’m an impatient cook). I will have to try that!

  10. What a pretty dinner! I can definitely tell you’re getting better at taking pictures!

  11. I think your plan sounds great and very similar to what I do. I set aside a 5pm snack so I don’t have to worry about the afternoon/evening munchies. They’re already accounted for! And then I can enjoy cooking dinner with my husband without the inclination to pick at every ingredient. Hope you find it helps!

  12. i feel like everyone is in shape-up mode right now! good luck with the wedding goals — i think your plan sounds great and very reasonable (and sustainable!).

  13. Your dinner looks delish!

    And your lan for wedding weight loss sounds like a good one. Good luck with it!

  14. I have the same problem as you in terms of the evenings. I’ve drank hot chocolate every single night for the past week and a half. I think it’s becoming a routine I don’t necessarily want. There are other things too, not just the hot cocoa, but that seems to be the most addictive.

    Your second picture looks really good! The lighting in my dining room is terrible too, so I just bought a special lamp for food photos that I keep nearby.

  15. I think your plan is super smart! Good for you for identifying a “problem” area (or area of opportunity!) and finding a solution!

    Your dinner looks awesome!!

  16. eep! 5 months! i cant wait to see you on your wedding day 🙂 it’s gonna be fab! mmm, dinner looked super delish.

  17. Dinner looks yummy. I envy you and your cooking.

    Where’s the digital camera class you mentioned (yesterday?) I’ve been looking for one because I know I’m not getting the most out of my digiReb.

    Five months. Wow.

  18. First of all, yummy and inspiring sounding dinner. I love that marinated bean salad from TJ’s and you may have just motivated me to go get a can.
    Secondly, I think your logic for not counting calories sounds very sane and similar to mine. I also have a problem eating at night, for me since I work til 10 I almost always want to keep eating after dinner. Tea works well but sometimes it just can’t be helped. I like your game plan and hope that you have good success with it!