Decadent Dinner and House Hunting

I’m all about alliteration this afternoon. Last night, Jason and I went to our friend Jamie’s house for dinner. Beforehand, we decided to make an exception to our alcohol free month and have couple of drinks with dinner. It’d been two weeks, so we figured a little hiatus in the middle of the month was okay, especially since we weren’t binge drinking, which is what we’re trying to get away from.

We started out with a glass of champagne and a cheese plate.

IMG_0590.JPG

I did not try that cheese on the left because I do not like stinky cheese at all. But the one on the right was phenomenal. I asked like five times what it was and I don’t remember but I know it’s from a dairy in South Georgia. I probably ate a little too much cheese.

IMG_0591.JPG

For dinner, we had spinach lasagna.

IMG_0597.JPG

I believe that this is the recipe that he used but I’m not 100% sure. It was very good. I had a little slice, along with some salad that I’d brought from home. The was also garlic bread, but I passed. For dessert, Jamie made a chocolate tart with homemade whipped cream. I really liked the cream more than the tart to tell the truth. I am not a big fan of very chocolately things. Although, I managed to eat my entire slice anyway.

It was a nice evening but my stomach was not that happy this morning. I think the foods were just a lot richer than I normally eat. I kind of felt guilty for eating the tart since I didn’t savor and enjoy it, but I’m trying to not let it get to me. We got up around 9 to meet our realtor at 9:45 at a bagel shop. I ordered a whole wheat bagel with light cream cheese and tomato slices. I love tomato slices with cream cheese. I had to use a napkin to scrape a bunch of cream cheese off though. Why do they always put so much?

We drove around with our realtor for about 2.5 hours. For those of you familiar with Atlanta, we looked at several houses in the Brookhaven/Chamblee area. We saw one that we liked and a bunch that we hated. Then we drove back to Decatur to look at one last house before Jason had to go to work and we fell in love with it! The house was listed as a 3/2 but they were being very creative in calling one of the rooms a third bedroom. Really it was an addition that functioned more as a family room. But it didn’t matter to us. We don’t need three bedrooms. The house had a finished basement with, get this, a sunroom with a hot tub! And it was in our price range. Our realtor is going to look up some more info on it and let us know. The only thing is that we went to look it up after we got home and the FMLS listing said it was off the market. That’ll be a disappointment if it is, but hopefully that’s incorrect. I mean, we saw it this morning. There was still a lockbox on the door and flyers inside. It didn’t look off the market.

I’m going to watch Jersey Shore now. I missed my fist pumping action this week.

Edited to add – The house is still on the market. The sellers changed realtors and that’s why it was listed as not being on available. But it is!

19 responses to “Decadent Dinner and House Hunting

  1. I can’t wait to house hunt! I hope you can get your sunroom and hot tub house.

  2. House hunting is so much fun but can be so overwhelming! We looked at a million houses and went back to the first one we looked at and fell in love with. Best of luck πŸ™‚

  3. Sounds like a nice dinner! I love veggie lasagna!!

    Good luck with house hunting!! It is so much fun just looking and then even more fun when you finally find YOUR house!! πŸ™‚

  4. Oh house hunting is so fun…although stressful! Don’t worry about the chocolate tart…not beating yourself up is the best medicine!! πŸ™‚

  5. Yum, it all looks delish!

  6. That picture of the cheese is gorgeous — it could be in a food mag!

  7. “We saw one that we liked and a bunch that we hated”– that is EXACTLY what house hunting was like for me and my hub. But eventually, we found a great house that we LOVE! It’s worth holding out for the right one– very exciting about the one you found at the end! It sounds awesome!

  8. That is great news!! And I believe the cheese you ate looks like brie to me – one of my all time favs, but you can overdo it sometimes.

    Fingers crossed about the house! πŸ˜€

  9. Ohhh, so exciting! I hope you guys get the house that you want!

    It always bothers me when the bagel shops put an entire carton of cream cheese on one bagel. Did you want some bagel with your cream cheese? It’s so annoying!

  10. I think that I might need an alcohol free month after this trip!

    Did you go to Goldberg’s? They ALWAYS put too much cream cheese on their bagels.

    I’m glad that you found a house that you really like… I’ll keep my fingers crossed for you!

  11. angieinatlanta

    First off, that picture of the champagne is lovely. Just sayin’.

    Yay! Congrats on finding a house you like! I have my fingers crossed for you that it all works out!

  12. House hunting is fun, but stressful at the same time. But, you’re buying in a market that’s for buyers, so it should be a little better for you. When we bought (5 years ago), it was such a seller’s market that we felt so much pressure! Good luck with the purchase of the house — if this THE one!

  13. Wahoooo – good luck with that house!

    I used to like cream cheese, but honestly, the reason why I dislike it now is because of how much places put on bagels!

  14. I LOVED house hunting! It was stressful, sure, but it’s so nice knowing that you can take your time and be picky when you’re a buyer in this market. That is GREAT the house is still for sale!

  15. House hunting can be very exhausting and overwhelming, but it’s a blast and very exciting! The lasagna and cheese look wonderful!!

  16. ah! So glad you guys found a house you like- that is truly exciting!! I hope you get it.

    Fun dinner with friends. I would have just wanted to sit and eat cheese and apples all night πŸ™‚ I wish I liked champagne and wine…just always looks so much classier than beer haha

  17. How exciting about the house!! What great news! πŸ™‚

    Dinner looks like a lot of fun, sorry you didn’t feel great this morning. Hopefully it will pass quickly (or maybe already has…)

    have a great rest of your weekend!