Lotsa Nut Butter

Hey peeps. I’m going to make this short because I’m going to attempt to go to bed before 11. I’ve been staying up until past midnight for the past week or so and losing that extra hour really takes a toll on how I feel during the day.

Can I interject and say that Murphy is currently eating his bed? Do your dogs do this? I guess it’s the ultimate chew toy. All of his other toys have seem to fallen into a dog toy abyss.

Anyway, it’s hard for me to go to sleep sometimes because Jason doesn’t get home from work until around 11, sometimes later, and I wait up for him so we can talk for a while. Some days, it’s really the only time that I see him. He said he has to work late tonight though, so I figured I might as well get some extra shut eye.

I thought I’d share some interesting grub that I had last night and today. Last night, I combined a half of a frozen banana, some frozen cherries and some Fage 0% yogurt and came up with sorbet!

IMG_0672.JPG

Sorbet or a really thick smoothie.

I decided to step away from the egg sandwich this morning and make an oldie, a protein pancake. Not the best picture; I don’t think I was fully awake.

IMG_0675.JPG

A protein pancake is really easy to make. You just combine the following in a food processor:
1/4 cup cottage cheese
1/4 cup egg beaters
1/4 cup oats

and then cook it like a pancake. It is a bit eggy tasting, but I like it and it kept me full for a long time. I topped it with almond butter. As I did with the sorbet.

For dinner tonight, I had a box of tofu that needed to be used up. I like tofu a lot but I always suck at cooking it at home. I always gravitate towards making stir-fries with a soy sauce based sauce, but decided to try something different this time. Behold, tofu stir fry with peanut sauce!

IMG_0683.JPG

I dry fried the tofu and then put it in a pan with a bag of frozen veggies. I made this peanut sauce and added it to the pan and let it simmer down for about 5 minutes.

I really recommend the dry frying method of cooking tofu. The pieces were chewy and not as soft and bland as they normally are. I didn’t marinate it like the recipe suggested because I was tight on time (gotta get to the gym) but I’m sure it would have made it even better.

I just realized that all three of these food pictures have some sort of nut butter in them. I don’t even normally eat that much nut butter. Guess I got my healthy fats for the day.

Going to bed with 16 minutes to spare.

21 responses to “Lotsa Nut Butter

  1. I need to try protein pankcakes again. I made some similar to yours before, but I FAIL at pancakes and the texture was off. Almond butter is definitely my fave pancake topping. Especially when it gets all warm and ooey gooey!

  2. Bella “kills” her toys. If I give her a new toy she has to kill the squeaker and then rip it apart. I outsmarted her by buying a stuffed toy with 5 squeakers, so eventually she gave up and the toys stayed intact. She hasn’t started gnawing on her bed though.

  3. Scooter always abuses his bed. In fact, he has completely destroyed 2-3 beds in the past. We find that he mostly does it to get our attention — dogs are like kids sometimes: When you’re clearing engaged in another task, that’s when they want you to pay attention to them!

  4. angieinatlanta

    Yum! I love a nice peanut sauce with tofu – so good!

    I need to get more sleep, too. Except my goal is to be in bed by 9:30; how sad is that!?

  5. LOL…my parents went through something like TEN different dog beds because their labradoodle kept eating through them.

    They found “dog proof” beds at L.L. bean, I believe (maybe Eddie Bauer? One of the two), and the dog has not been able to chew through it for going on two years now. You might want to check them out!

  6. I totally hear you on the late nights/lack of sleep. Both Josh and I have been super busy lately and I really only get to see him for like the hour before we go to bed. Last night this meant staying up until around 11:30 and then making up around 4:40 this morning….this resulted in a Venti Starbucks misto for breakfast haha. Great eats- especially loving that protein pancake (I need to try this!).

  7. Way to go for getting to bed early! I like the sounds of that sorbet.

    I have been staying up until midnight every night lately too – and it’s really taking a toll on me. I just don’t have enough time in the day to get everything done.

  8. When my mom first got our dachshund, he loved to rip apart stuffed animals and we kept getting him new ones until finally we just stopped giving them to him because he could tear them apart in a matter of minutes.

  9. That sorbet looks awesome! It’s like… protein sorbet. πŸ™‚

    I’m normally so good about sleep, but uhh, there hasn’t been enough of it for the last couple of nights!

  10. Great sorbet idea!
    My dog chews her bed as well. She never, ever sleeps on it though. Just eats it πŸ™‚

  11. Love anything with peanut sauce on it! Looks good!

  12. Thanks for posting how to dry fry tofu! That is definitely how I am going to make it next! THANK YOU!

  13. Hi! I saw your reply on legallyfittowed website and wanted to let you know i experience the same itchiness when running! Not so much anymore but before i was a runner, i couldnt get through it! My legs would itch so bad it was unbearable! I think its because i did too much too fast. Since i was never a runner, my body couldn’t handle it. It took about 4 weeks of the “couch to 5K” running program until it stopped. Every now and then it will do it if its cold outside. All of your recipes look yummy! And yes, my chocolate lab has eaten her bed (we are now on the 3rd) before. I heard that its best to get a bed without a zipper on it. She apparently plays with it and then thinks its a toy.

  14. I made something similar this morning. I combined 1/4 cup oats, 1/4 cup egg beaters, some pumpkin, baking powder, cinnamon, and a scoop of protein powder and microwaved it. It was pretty yummy and like you said, kept me full all morning!! That’s a winner in my book.

    My dogs used to eat their beds too. We finally gave up on buying nice beds and now all they have are used pillows and blankets.

    Hope you’re having a great day, Lee!! πŸ™‚

  15. I love protein pancakes as well. I am trying to find a substitute for the cottage cheese as I am also dairy free as well.

    I need to get to bed before midnight tonight. I will be hitting the pillow soon.

  16. That tofu really looks like chicken! I’ll have to give those famous protein pancakes a try….It actually looks rather good.

    Haha, you went to bed the same time I woke up from my nap!

  17. Nut butter days are the best πŸ™‚ And that tofu looks AMAZING…as does that “protein pancake.” I really want to try that out…

  18. You crack me UP! “can I interject to tell you that Murphy is eating his bed?” haha Reuben doesn’t eat his bedding but he has ruined not one but TWO iPod connection cords. Grrrr.

  19. props on trying to go to bed earlier. i need to do that! haha.. murphy sounds like a little mischievous one! my dogs dont have a bed.. so they cant eat it.. they sleep with us!