Hitting the [Nyquil] Bottle

Can you believe that I’m sick again? I just had a cold three weeks ago and now I have another one. I honestly think that my immune system is down because of all the stress that I’m dealing with. There is also something going around. It seems like every single one of my friends has been sick this month at some point. I would have taken a sick day, but I had a big project to work on. I am the only graphics person at my job. While that provides some job security, if I’m not there, no one can do my job for me.

The news about my father is not what anyone had hoped for. His treatment did not work. The cancer is still there. He will have to have his entire bladder removed. But there is a silver lining, if you could call it that. The cancer is contained in his bladder; it hasn’t spread to any other organs and it hasn’t invaded the wall of the bladder. So, hopefully when the bladder goes bye-bye, all the cancer will go bye-bye too. It’s a difficult surgery with a long recovery period, but from what I’ve read and what my father has told me, after he recovers, his life will be back to normal and he’ll be able to do everything that he could before.

He doesn’t know when the surgery will be. I’m assuming in February or even the beginning of March. If I were him, I’d want to schedule it right away. Fortunately, my parents happen to live about 45 minutes from Johns Hopkins which has one of the best urology departments in the country.

I’ve been on Jason’s ass to go to the doctor for a physical and I’d like to stress how important that is for everyone. My father found out about his cancer during a routine physical. He had displayed NO SYMPTOMS. Who knows how much it would have advanced before any symptoms would have presented themselves. Ignorance is not bliss. It’s a pain in the ass, especially when you feel like you’re a healthy person, but going to the doctor for routine checkups is very important.

*steps off soap box*

We did go to the gym last night and while it made me feel a bit better mentally, it didn’t do much for me physically at all. I did the elliptical for 30 minutes and basically felt like ass the entire time. (Don’t worry, I wiped it down well). Fortunately, this is an easy week in my half marathon training plan. I’m only supposed to do two 4-milers and one 3-miler. I did one of the fours on Tuesday and hopefully I’ll feel better and be able to at least get in the other four this weekend.

I had Alison’s favorite for breakfast – spicy oats. This is only the second or third time that I’ve tried this and I’m always impressed. Unlike 99% of the food blog world, I’m not that big of an oatmeal fan. I eat it on occasion, but I never wake up craving oatmeal. But spicy oats are really like an egg sandwich, which I do wake up craving, with oats instead of bread. I used a package of some sort of TJ’s instant oatmeal and put scrambled eggs, laughing cow cheese and Franks on it all. Yum.

21 responses to “Hitting the [Nyquil] Bottle

  1. I know that words are a small comfort but please know that you and your family are in my thoughts. You’re right to keep thinking positively and the news that the cancer hasn’t spread is certainly good.

  2. I really hope all goes well for you and your family.

  3. Sorry to hear abotu your father, but like you said, bladder cancer is a “blessing” of a cancer since it is entirely contained within the bladder. Still, having that removed is a major surgery and dealign with the effects of its removal will be inconvienent for the rest of his life.

  4. I hope that you feel better soon. I’m sorry that you guys didn’t receive better news, although it’s a great sign that the cancer did not spread and your father will be able to return to a normal life. Get Jason to the doctor! My fiance is the same way- he has an aversion to doctors. I need to get on him!

  5. angieinatlanta

    I’m sorry to hear the news but I admire your ability to find some kind of silver lining. Please keep us updated!

    I hope you feel better soon!

  6. While I am saddened to hear that your father’s original procedure did not pan out as planned, I am glad to hear of the ‘silver lining’ of his cancer being contained.

    Keep yourself healthy as best you can – I know it’s immeasurably difficult to not stress yourself out in times like these. Keep your head up Lee!

  7. Sorry to hear that the cancer is still there, but at least they’ll be able to do something about it. Routine physicals are very, very important.

  8. I am so sorry to hear about your father– I will be keeping you and your family in my thoughts and prayers.

  9. Thoughts and prayers with your and your family. And feel better soon!

  10. ugh, so sorry you are sick again. that SUCKS! i am sorry about your dad~ still thinking of you ❀ glad you could look on the bright side.

  11. *hugs* A very tight one. I’m sorry you have to go through this. I’ll include your dad (and your own sickness) into my prayer list.

    Stay strong and positive, hon!

  12. I’m sorry to hear the news about your dad. 😦

  13. Im thinking of your dad, you, and your family! I have to agree with the others, and I commend you on your positivity. Hang in there, and we area all here for you for whatever you need!

  14. Lee…I am so sorry!! I am proud of you for seeing the silver lining and staying postivie. I am such a firm believer in the power if positive thinking. I know it sounds so cheesy but I truly believe that by putting good vibes out into the world it helps! πŸ™‚ I am doing that for you and your Dad!!

    Also it is important to remind people that yearly physcials are SO important. Everyone hates them and they truly do suck but in the end they can save your life! πŸ™‚ Stay on that soap box girl!

  15. Get better girl, praying for your Father too.

  16. I’m so sorry you didn’t get the news you were hoping for. That IS good that the cancer is contained and hasn’t spread, and hopefully before too long he’ll be able to get back to life as he knows it.

    I hear you on the physicals. Is it just me, or are guys more reluctant than women to go to the doctor?

  17. Hey girly. So sorry to hear you’re sicky again! I think you need lots of rest and fluids this weekend (Dr. Itzy’s Kitchen says!!). Glad to hear that they are hopefully that removing your dad’s bladder should get rid of the cancer. I will be praying for you and your family.

  18. I’m so sorry to hear about your dad – that is good news that it can hopefully be GONE after the surgery. You and your family are in my prayers.

    I hope you feel better soon, too!

  19. First and most importantly, I am sorry to hear that y’all did not get the news everyone hoped for. I am glad to hear that the cancer is contained to one area, that is HUGE. I hope your dad is able to have the surgery soon (the waiting game is the hardest part much of the time) and recover back quickly.

    Hope the weekend gives you the chance to get rid of the sickness, that is ghetto’ to have to deal with another round of germs infecting the body.

    I am with you on the oatmeal thing, not something I ever crave and much prefer savory to sweet.

  20. Like the Website, nicely designed for SEO purposes. Remember, if you can, to spread out your Keywords….