Lead Legs

I finished my 8 mile run about an hour ago. I was seriously dragging and my time shows that.

IMG_3013.JPG

I attribute my slow time to the following factors:

1. I picked an extremely hilly route.
2. I drank a little bit last night. Not a lot, by any means, but I typically don’t drink at all before my long runs.
3. I ran too soon after I ate lunch.
4. It was just one of those runs.

Here are my mile splits:

1 – 11:36
2 – 11:22
3 – 11:50
4 – 11:03
5 – 13:18 (there was some walking here)
6 – 11:15
7 – 12:36 (more walking)
8 – 12:09 (more walking again)

It’s not the fact that I was running slowly that made the run crappy; I just never got into it. Oh well. Maybe this means my next long run will be great. I will not pick this route, that’s for sure. I actually stopped at Target between miles 2 and 3 to get some Gatorade and some sort of food to fuel me through the run. I thought I bought G2, but turns out it was regular ol’ Gatorade. I actually prefer to use GU or some sort of gel when I run because I find that if I’m chewing something, I have the tendency to choke on it. Apparently I cannot run and chew at the same time. They didn’t have GU though, so I bought those Powerbar Gel Blasts. I like these better than other chewy brands because they aren’t as sticky and don’t get stuck in your teeth. And hey look, you can click here for a free sample!

I had a busy, but fun weekend. I got to see a lot of my friends. For various reasons, I didn’t really socialize much in January, so it was really nice to see everyone. Last night, we went to No Mas Cantina for dinner. Check out my friend with his pitcher of margarita!

IMG_3011.JPG

I did not partake in any margarita action and had a Corona Light instead. I just have a very hard time justifying the calories in a margarita. I’ll have one on occasion, but last night was not that occasion.

I did partake in the chips and guacamole. I just cannot help myself at a Mexican restaurant. I always end up eating way too many chips and then am not even that hungry by the time my meal comes around. Last night, I ordered the enchiladas de espinaca. They were good, but I wasn’t crazy about the cream sauce on top. I should of asked for them without that. Dinner was good, but two of my friends and I felt kind of sick afterward. I don’t know if we just ate too much, or it was too heavy or what, but I felt like I had a big rock in my stomach.

After dinner, I stopped by The Bookhouse Pub to have a drink with another friend who was celebrating his birthday. I was not really in the mood to drink anymore, but I sipped on a glass of wine and chit-chatted with people for about an hour and went home. Fun times, fun times!

Now it’s time for blog, cook, laundry which is the working girl’s version of GTL. Aww, I miss Snooki now. I don’t know what to do with my Thursdays anymore.

For dinner, I made Baked Tofu Bites. I’ve had this recipe bookmarked forever and realized that I had all of the ingredients to make it. Surprisingly, I even had sesame seeds. I didn’t use Liquid Smoke. I don’t like it.

IMG_0731.JPG

It’s a keeper. The tofu was chewy and flavorful and it was incredibly easy to make. I love it when I find a good tofu recipe.

Well, I gotta get to the laundry portion of BCL. Have a good Sunday night.

26 responses to “Lead Legs

  1. angieinatlanta

    I’m sorry your run wasn’t stellar but hey, you finished it! That’s totally worth being proud of!

    I seriously can never ever keep my hand out of the chips at any Mexican place! I love the atmosphere at No Mas.

  2. Hey you finished 8 miles which is an accomplishment! And you can resist the chips and guac… avocado is healthy too πŸ™‚

    Now that margarita pitcher is another story…

  3. I think your time was great for 8 miles!! Looks like you had lots of fun with your friends. I hear yo – guac is something I cannot pass up!!

  4. At least you got it done! 8 miles is quite the accomplishment.

    Your friend’s margarita is INTENSE.

    What’s liquid smoke? I have cubed tofu in the fridge that I don’t know what to do with, so maybe I’ll try the recipe that you used!

  5. 8 miles = more miles than I ran or walk this week. Good job on getting out there and doing it!

  6. Better to be moving slowly than not moving at all! πŸ˜‰

  7. Ugh– hills definitely slow me down, big time. They definitely help with endurance though!

    Those tofu cubes look great!

  8. I feel your pain on a slow fitness day, sometimes your just not feeling at as much as others! Love the looks of that pitcher of margaritas though I would probably opt for a lighter drink too!

  9. I really wish I could run 10 miles. That is awesome πŸ™‚

    That margarita pitcher is so cute. I want one…LOL!

  10. That margarita is crazy!! I’ve heard of that place, but never been. Sounds good!!

    Way to go on the 8 miles, Lee!! πŸ™‚

  11. hills will definitely slow ya down! not a bad 8 mile time at all considering.

    I definitely just signed up for the free samples on the power bar site!

  12. That pitcher of margarita is so fun. Way to go on the 8 miles even though it wasn’t as fast as you hoped!

  13. 8 miles is 8 miles no matter how fast or slow you run them. Good job!

  14. Way to finish your run! I definitely have runs where I feel like I never get into them. And eating too close to my runs always throws me off too. Next one will be awesome! Glad you had fun with your friends. That pitcher is crazy looking

  15. Awesome job on the run! And thank you so much for that tofu recipe. I haven’t had tofu in SO long. I’m bookmarking this one.

  16. I love margaritas but man, that thing is waaay too big. Guac is my weakness!

    Nice job on the 8 miles. I have that coming up this weekend… I hope the weather cooperates!

  17. I totally agree with you about the maragitas! They just aren’t worth the calories in my opinion!

  18. Good job on your run… Not every time has to be perfect!

    That margarita pitcher cracks me up! I’m not the biggest fan of them… A little too sweet for me! How can you resist the chips πŸ™‚

  19. Not every run can be stellar, but I think there still is that satisfaction of completing it that makes it worth it! πŸ™‚
    I was never a fan of tortilla chips…I would dominate the entrees, but usually leave the chips untouched.

    • It’s not so much the chips for me, but the salsa or guacamole that I love. I would eat it with a spoon if people wouldn’t look at me funny.

  20. I REALLY want to try the Bookhouse Pub. Let’s go together!