You have questions, I’ve got answers

Here are some questions that I received from my anonymous question box. Feel free to ask more!

I know you’re a runner, but what’s your favorite form of exercise?
Umm, sitting on the couch and surfing the web? Does that count? Honestly, I don’t know that I have a favorite form of exercise. I do like to ski and snowboard but I’m not very good at either one and living in Georgia kind of makes it hard to get any practice in. I like hiking but for whatever reason, I don’t do it very often. I also sometimes take pilates classes at my gym.
I’m a really good example of how you can make exercise a habit without really liking it. Yes, I run around 20 miles a week, but I’m not one of those people who’s just dying to get outside for a run. I do it because it’s good for me, because I feel good afterward and because I like to set goals for myself and accomplish them. I run for those reasons rather than for the love of the sport. That’s not to say that I never love it, there certainly times when I do, but the majority of the time I’m just like, “Ugh, I have to run again?” I’ve often thought about whether this is a good thing or a bad thing. What do you think? Do you actually like to exercise? Are you enjoying yourself while you’re doing it?

What’s your favorite movie?
I like sort of romantic indie dramas. Think: Garden State, (500) Days of Summer, Reality Bites.
I also have always loved Dazed & Confused. It reminds me of high school. Not so much that my high school was like the one in the movie, but that my friends and I were obsessed with that movie in high school and watched it all the freakin’ time.

What’s one food you won’t eat?
The first thing that comes to mind is Bleu Cheese. I really don’t like any sort of stinky cheese. I have broadened my cheese horizons a little bit and in the past few years began to really like feta, goat cheese and very mild brie, but other than that, I like very basic cheeses – cheddar, mozzarella, jack.
I also hate French and Thousand Island salad dressing.

What’s your favorite food and drink?
I just couldn’t narrow my favorite food down to one. So here is a top ten in no particular order.

1. hummus
2. salsa
3. pizza
4. avocados
5. bread
6. scrambled eggs
7. soft serve ice cream
8. shrimp
9. Maryland blue crab
10. pineapple

Unfortunately, my favorite non-alcoholic drink is diet coke. I’ve tried to quit it a million times, but I always keep coming back for more. Diet crack. Other than diet coke, I mainly drink water.

If we’re talking alcoholic drinks, I usually find myself ordering a glass of white wine although I like beer too. I don’t order mixed drinks very often. If I were to pick a favorite out of those three categories, it’d be:
wine – savignon blanc
beer – stella artois
liquor drink – vodka and soda with a splash of cranberry juice
One thing that you will never see me ordering is gin. I think it tastes like trees.

If you could live anywhere in the world, where would it be?
I’ve always had a fondness for London. One of my best friends moved there after ninth grade and I visited her three times during the rest of of high school. We used to write each other long letters and hers really romanticized the city and it’s something that I’ve never let go of. I studied there for a semester during my junior year of college and had the time of my life.

14 responses to “You have questions, I’ve got answers

  1. 1. I love Garden State! It’s one of the best movies ever about accepting people for who they are.

    2. I’m the same with running! I have some days where running feels fantastic but then other days I can’t wait to be done. But I’ve decided life is too short to spend even an hour of it doing something I dread. So if I don’t feel like running then I do another form of exercise.

    If you belong to a gym, try a new class (I love the Les Mills classes). Or pick up a new fitness DVD (lots of libraries even have some you can borrow). Plus yoga download has free yoga podcasts!

    I hope any of these tips help 🙂 It’s always nicer when you look forward to exercise!!

  2. angieinatlanta

    I am seriously obsessed with Reality Bites. I still have my VHS copy.

    I kind of feel the same way about exercise. I have to DRAG myself there but I always force myself to go because I like being healthy and I like the way I feel after. But in the moment? It really sucks.

  3. Garden State is my number one top fave movie.

    Diet soda is so addictive. It took me years to wean myself, and I still cheat periodically.

  4. lol– I LOVE Dazed and Confused. My friends and I were obsessed with it in high school too. “AIR RAID!!!!”

  5. I have to second the London love. I completely idealized it growing up, reading tons of books and loving movies that took place there, and ended up studying abroad there twice (once for a winter, once a semester).

    And it was true love! 🙂

  6. Such an interesting perspective on working out – sort of a love to hate kind of thing for you huh? I can totally see that point-of-view – you realize the health and lifestyle benefits of working out often but you don’t LOVE to do it. I think many people are in that category, actually, not weird at all that you happen to be one of them, you know? I think I’m the weird one since I actually do LOVE to workout, hehe 😉

  7. Gin seriously tastes like pine needles… well, what I imagine they would taste like 😉 I’m with you there!

  8. Have you ever seen Sunshine Cleaning? It seems like a movie that you might like.

    I love this q&a… it’s so interesting to me!

  9. Dazed and Confused is the best movie to cheer me up when I am down. I know that sounds very weird but it is such a funny movie.

  10. Oh awesome…I loved all your answers! And I TOTALLY agree with you on Blue Cheese…blech!

  11. love the questions! I have never been a fan of blue cheese either, Ill eat it but I wil never buy it or ask for it, goat chees eon the other hand MMMM

    love dazed and confused, I own it and I don’t own many dvd’s its just one I can always turn too if I need a good laugh

  12. gasp. No bleu cheese? Aw…That’s one of the cheeses I really love! Actually, I like all cheeses…
    London is great to visit, but isn’t it really gloomy and rainy? that’s the only reason I do not want to study abroad there!

  13. I love London also! I went there in high school for New Years 2000 and I had the most awesome time!! I was so sad getting on the plane to leave. I swore to myself one day I’d go back and live there. Welllllll, don’t think that’s gonna happen, but I do hope to return!!