My new kitchen? (where abs are made)

Guess what we did last night? We put an offer down on the short sale house. I have learned a ton of real estate jargon in the past few weeks which I won’t bore you with, but if you don’t know (I didn’t), a short sale is when the seller has to sell the house for less than they owe on it. So, the bank has to approve the offer. Banks, especially bigger ones, are notorious for dragging their feet, so it could be months before we hear anything. We don’t really have anything to lose though. We can walk anytime if the bank is taking too long and not lose a cent.

We didn’t leave the realtor’s office until almost nine and I was about to chew my arm off. It just so happened that I had a Groupon in my purse for Raging Burrito which was right down the street. Since we were sort of celebrating that we might have just bought a house, I ordered a margarita. But only ended up drinking about a third of it. I guess I wasn’t in full-on celebration mode with everything still up in the air and it being Monday and all. With my drink that I didn’t drink, I ordered the Frisco Taco Salad with romaine lettuce instead of tortilla chips. I probably should have asked for it without cheese, but I didn’t. I ate about 2/3rds of this. It was smaller than it looks in the picture.

IMG_0838.JPG

I haven’t really mastered the art of taking pictures in dark restaurants yet.

And now for something completely unrelated: bikinis. I know some people feel like it’s taboo to talk about weight loss, but I am not one of those people and I’m going to discuss it. So please stop reading if these type of things bother you. (But please return tomorrow!)

I’m going on my honeymoon on July 6th. We’re going to Maui (!!!!) and we’re obviously going to be spending some time on the beach. I don’t like the way I look in a bathing suit. It’s not to the point where I wear a t-shirt in the ocean or anything, but I don’t feel comfortable. I don’t think this is a case of distorted body image; I honestly don’t think my body looks good in a bathing suit, especially a bikini. And I want to look damn good on my honeymoon. Problem is that I really have no idea where to start. I don’t care that much about the number on the scale, I just want to go wear cute bathing suits.

I’ve always heard that abs are made in the kitchen. So, I went to Borders at lunch with a 33% off coupon and camped out for a little bit in the diet section. Truth be told, I am sucker for these types of books. I purchased what I thought to be one of the less gimmicky of the bunch, The Eat-Clean Diet Supercharged by Tosca Reno. I haven’t really looked at it yet, but somehow I don’t think it advocates (oops, I wrote avocado) eating at places with “Burrito” in the title.

21 responses to “My new kitchen? (where abs are made)

  1. 1. I think it’s totally okay to discuss weight loss. Everyone gains/loses weight and if you want to lose some weight, that’s your personal choice! Though I’m sure you look beautiful 🙂
    2. I’ve heard abs are made in the kitchen, too. I’ve also heard that cutting back on sodium high foods because salt makes you bloated. So drink tons of water. And lots of cardio helps reduce belly fat plus some abdominal exercises to help tone.
    3. The right bathing suit can work wonders!! I’ve always had good luck with Jcrew and Victoria’s Secret. Anything where you can mix/match tops and bottoms because if you’re like me, I’m larger on top than I am on the bottom.

    Hope this helps! And don’t feel bad at all for wanting to lose weight or discussing it on your blog. It’s your blog!! Though I’m sure you will look gorgeous anyways 🙂

  2. First of all, I know you will look gorgeous in your bikini no matter what. You are too hard on yourself. I am definitely my own biggest critic though, so I know the feeling of wanting to improve in areas so I can feel my best. This makes me think of fitnessista – she always seems to have good tips for clean eating and always has some kind of shape up challenge going on. I’d go to her blog for advice and info on this topic.

  3. angieinatlanta

    First off, congrats on your potentially new house! I hope it all works out!

    Oh man, I so know abs are made in the kitchen but it’s a lot easier to make myself exercise than eat clean all the time. I just really love my sweets and I’d rather be happy without the abs than deprived with the abs.

    So, honestly, I don’t like the way I look in a bathing suit either. I’m fit but I have a soft belly and it pouches out a bit. I actually don’t wear bikinis because I feel a lot more comfortable in a tankini and a one piece. I know that’s silly but for me, it’s all about feeling confident.

  4. Yay!!! How ever exciting about the house – hope it works out, girl!

    You know I think it’s more than okay to chat about weight. 🙂 I’m with Em – you’re going to look fab in a swimsuit. I have to try in a billion but always end up finding the right one for me (usually solid bottoms and a printed top – and I like my bottoms to COVER me – sometimes even a mini little skirt). Best of luck shopping – I had great luck with the Tommy Bahama brand!

  5. eating clean is the BEST place to start!!!

    alcohol/sugar processed foods WRECK abs.

    lots of cardio and strength training….maybe invest in 30 day shred or p90x videos if you cant get to the gym?

    yay for maui – I ❤ hawaii!!! hopefully i'll go back there some day!

  6. If it’s any help, I really like The Abs Diet – specifically the 12 power foods. It helped me to slim down in the mid-section. I didn’t follow the diet verbatim, just tried to eat more of the power foods.

    More importantly: once you get to Maui, you won’t care how that bikini fits because 1) you’ll be in paradise and 2) you’ll be happily married!

  7. I’m a sucker for diet books too. And, I know how you feel– I actually don’t mind the way my body looks in clothes, but I have NEVER liked my stomach, and I probably just never will, and therefore I do not like bathing suits 😦

    Good luck on the house! I hope you hear from the bank soon!

  8. Congrats on your house offer! How exciting 🙂

    I love the Tosca Reno books. I attempt a lot of her recipes. I just bought the Beck’s Diet book today. I am hoping that it will help!

  9. LOVE LOVE LOVE Tosca and you have the best book there is. I have all of her books, but that one is the great. It’s her revamped version of the Original Eat Clean and its AWESOME. In a nutshell, she advocates no sugar/ processed stuff, tons of fruit, veggies, whole grains, water, and LIFTING HEAVY. If you want to get into weight lifting, the go-to book, in my opinion, is The New Rules of Lifting for Women. With these two books, you’ll be set. And I second the p90x.

  10. So exciting that you put an offer on the house… I hope it works out!

    Umm also VERY exciting that you’re going to Maui for your honeymoon- I didn’t know that! I understand what you’re saying about feeling uncomfortable in a bikini. I take a tough love approach to it- do what you can (vary workouts, work out more frequently) and watch what you eat, and then make the decision to feel comfortable. I’ve never found wearing a bikini to be a completely natural thing…

    I can’t help but wonder how many women feel completely comfortable the second they put a bikini on? Probably not many. 😉

  11. The only time I felt truly comfortable in a bikini was went I was eating clean. I felt good, had a tan, and looked good. Eating clean really gets you there (if only I could listen to myself!!) I’ve had good luck with J. Crew bathing suits too.

  12. I feel ya on the bathing suit dread. I think my body is fine. I don’t worry about how it looks on a daily basis. I don’t even worry about how it looks naked. But something about bathing suits is just so…unflattering. I always feel uncomfortable when I’m wearing one.

  13. Congrats about the house! That’s so exciting! I’m impressed by your patience though, to have to wait to see if it gets approved, I would be so anxious!!! Man, I could barely contain myself for the day I waited to see if my seller would accept my offer…:)

    And I agree, clean eating is the way to start. I’ve been trying to reduce processed foods as much as possible. And, as I’ve cut those foods out, I now feel gross when I do eat them…

  14. Congrats on the house, first and foremost! yay!
    And now, on to the abs issue. I feel the SAME way about my abs, I just want them to be flat and toned and well, they aren’t quite how I envision them in my mind. For me (and sounds like you know this already) eating “clean-er” will help. I am not one to deprive myself so I try to eat “clean-er” versus “clean” if that makes sense. I won’t give up EVERY “bad” food just for flat abs. Its not worth it to me, I just try to find a happy medium where I don’t hate how I look in a bikini, but I’m also not miserable and hungry all the time. 😉 Not sure I’m helping you much but just know that you are definitely not the only one and um, once you get to Maui with your man? Who cares! Its your honeymoon, soak up every moment you can 🙂

  15. oooh CONGRATS on making an offer! So exciting! That is so great that you guys are going to Maui! We leave for our honeymoon in Kauai on March 29th… I can’t wait! 🙂

  16. Congrats on the home offer!! Okay…as a nutrition manager…here’s my best 3 tips: #1: Try to eat 6 times a day (breakfast, snack, lunch, snack, dinner, snack). This ensures that your metabolism is constantly running. #2: EAT ENOUGH! So many go on crazy calorie resticting diets which actually SLOWS down your metabolism. #3: You can eat anything you want…just not all at one time. Practice mindful eating and remember everything is okay in moderation. When you “don’t allow” yourself certain foods it typically only leads to binges.

    PS…MAUI IS FABULOUS!!!

  17. Nothing wrong with wanting too look good for you hubby on the beach. 🙂 I did the same thing before my wedding. I just ate really clean (no cookies, no cake, no junk) and it actually worked and I felt (fairly) confident on the beaches in my bikini. 🙂 Good luck and I think it is great that you are researching!

  18. Hi chica. Congrats on putting in the offer! I hope they take it. The salad looks very yummy. Don’t you hate when they give you like 20 lbs of cheese on top (/secretly love it but want to hate it ;)). A honeymoon in Hawaii? Sounds AMAZING! I am a big fan of eating clean, but don’t consider it a diet, more of a lifestyle change. Eating as close to you can to foods natural source most of the time (i.e. lots of fruits and veggies, beans, green meats (if you eat meat), real whole grains, less to no processed foods). Moving towards this type of eating really changed my body. I also believe in a good blend of cardio and weights training. We can chat more if you’d like 🙂 I’m not an expert by any means!

  19. I am going to Maui for my honeymoon too!
    I think there is pretty much no better reason to lose a couple of pounds 🙂 I love diet and exercise books too, I think thats why I love blogs so much haha.

    I learned a lot about real estate vocab when we were buying a house. I think a short sale is a good situation for your first house because it’s not like you have to deal with selling your former house at the same time, and if you have time to wait for a good deal, why not? We seriously considered a couple of short sales, but ended up not getting one in the end. But I know they can definitely be good.

  20. Wow – congrats on the house!!! That is so exciting, and a relief to you, I’m sure. And Maui?! A friend of mine just got back, and I was a tad jealous when seeing his pictures.

    I definitely believe the abs/kitchen thing. My (male) roommate in college had a serious 6-pack goin’ on, and he ate tons of protein powder and had a very, very clean diet. I also tell myself most women don’t “love” how they look in a bikini – we all have our insecurities! I think confidence – even faking it – always makes people look a million times better, too.