Bulger Wheat with Shrimp and Feta

I started thinking about what to make for dinner right after I had lunch. (What? You don’t do that?!) I knew that I had a bag of bulger wheat and that I wanted to make something with it. When I think of bulger, I think of tabbouleh but I did not want to stop at the grocery store, so I made do with what I had on hand. Not sure what you would call this but it was decent.

IMG_0848.JPG

I made one serving of bulger. While it was cooking, I sauteed a serving of shrimp and some hearts of palm in 1 tsp olive oil. I seasoned everything with oregano, parsley and red pepper flakes. I combined the shrimp mixture with the bulger and mixed mixed some feta, a squirt of lemon juice and a 1 tsp of red wine vingear. Then I Franked it, of course.

A side note, see those Brussels Sprouts in the background. Tres Nasty. These were the steam in the bag kind of Brussels and they were not good. Fresh Brussels > frozen Brussels. I actually threw the majority away. Bleh.

I haven’t read all of the Clean Eating book yet, but I can see that I am familiar with a lot of the principles already. That’s what makes it more frustrating. You know how magazines always say things like, “Just drink water instead of soda and you’ll lose 10 pounds in a year!” I always think what you already do that?! It’s kind of the same thing here. Almost. I don’t know if I’d say that I eat clean. Okay, I wouldn’t say that. But I eat pretty healthy. So what this book is telling me to do isn’t exactly shocking to me. Or my body. If I went from eating burgers and fries to salmon and brown rice, I’m sure I’d see major results, but what if I already eat the salmon? Anyway, I’m trying. I did have a diet coke today, but other than that, everything else I ate was clean.

I have a 7-mile tempo run to do tonight and I don’t want to! It’s cold out and I’m sleepy and 7 miles on the treadmill sucks. But I told myself that I have to at least do 4 miles. If I do 4, I can do the other 3 on Friday. In most cases, once I get to 4 miles, I feel like I might as well do the rest. How do you motivate yourself to go the gym when you don’t want to?

Edited to add – I only did 2 miles. I felt kind of pukey. I think that I didn’t give myself enough time to digest my dinner. So now I have the other 5 to do on Friday. (I have dinner plans tomorrow).

13 responses to “Bulger Wheat with Shrimp and Feta

  1. I feel the same way! I keep saying I wish I had a vice, like a soda addiction or potato chip addiction that I could easily break which would help me lose a quick few pounds, in a healthy way (so to speak)

  2. I know what you mean. It is hard to cut out much more or eat much healthier or work out any harder when you’re really already doing all of those things. Very frustrating, indeed.

    Your dinner looks so good!! I’ve never had bulgar wheat.

  3. I definitely think of what I’ll be having at my next meal before I even finish the one I’m working on πŸ™‚

  4. I motivate myself with a magazine. And if I really don’t want to go, I tell myself I can do the elliptical rather than run. I perceive the elliptical to be easier…

  5. saw your comment on my blog & headed over πŸ™‚

    i TOTALLY do that. think about my next meal right after i’ve just eaten one. always.

    that shrimp look scrumptious!

  6. Your dinner looks nice… seems like a “clean” meal. πŸ˜‰

    I read a lot of articles on personal finance, and I always think that same thing… “Why are they always telling me something that I already know?” I guess it’s hard to come up w/ unique tips, so different people are always suggesting the SAME things! Makes it difficult to keep reading…

  7. I’m kind of a freak but I think about food pretty much most of the time due to my addictive food blogs πŸ™‚

    I agree about the clean diet. I mean no one is perfect and you can only do so much. Maybe if you switch your protein, fat, carb ratio that could help. If you ever read Heather Eats Almond Butter-she discussed how she eats a higher fat lower protein diet which is better for her than low fat high protein, etc. It’s all trial and error just trying to figure out what works best for your body!

    And two miles is better than what I did which was nothing (due to the blizzard that’s overtaken DC)!!

  8. I’ve never had bulger wheat…why do healthy-ish foods always have really scary sounding names? πŸ™‚

  9. At least you rocked out 2 miles..in this cold…that is AWESOME! To stay motivated I always just focus on what my goal is. When I start to feel like quitting I just keep reminding myself that I am a fighter and I want certain things. Without my training I am not going to reach those goals! Cheesy….but it works for me.

  10. I usually think about what I am going to make for dinner after lunch lol πŸ˜›

    mmm anything with shrimp = sign me up!