Snowpocalyptic Sushi

At around 10 yesterday morning, we got an email that the office would be closing at noon due to the snow in the forecast. Georgia is not used to snow. We don’t know what to do with it. Even thought it hadn’t started snowing yet, I high-tailed it out of there right at 12. I came home to this:

IMG_0862.JPG

And two hours later, to this:

IMG_0855.JPG
IMG_0857.JPG

This is may-juh snow here, peeps. So much so that the city sort of shut down. That didn’t really bode well for our Valentine’s Day dinner plans. Instead, we decided to go to Thaicoon, a sushi and thai place that’s literally next door to our complex.

We started out with some basil rolls:

IMG_3015.JPG

I had the sashimi roll and the yellowtail roll for my meal. Jason ate three of the yellowtails.

IMG_3019.JPG
IMG_3020.JPG

I also picked at Jason’s thai dish a bit.

The plan was to eat dinner and come home and watch the Olympics but we had some wine with our meals and were in the mood to continue the fun. I texted a couple that we’re friends with and we met up with them. Our friends are really fun, but whenever we go out with them, we tend to overdo it a bit. In this case, with a Domino’s Pizza at the end of the night. Oops.

I’m actually not too mad at myself for it. Pizza happens. I have it maybe four or five times a year (aside from when I make it myself) so really are the extra calories for one night going to kill me? No. I’m just getting back on track again today. I’m about to walk Murphy and then go to the gym and do a 2-miler and some weights.

18 responses to “Snowpocalyptic Sushi

  1. Pretty flowers! We didn’t get the go ahead to leave until 2 p.m. – blah! The city does feel SO shut down!

  2. The flowers are GORGEOUS! We got snow here in NC last night and everything pretty much closed. We never ever get snow so they’ll close things even if they think there might be some 🙂

  3. Beautiful flowers! Ordering late night pizza always reminds me of college 🙂

  4. I came home to roses yesterday too! Sweet boys 🙂 Have a great weekend!

  5. Isn’t this snow ridiculous? Its almost completely melted here already but I didn’t leave the house until noon today! Glad you guys managed to have a great dinner out despite the snow. And the roses are just beautiful 🙂 Enjoy the rest of the weekend

  6. Sushi…yum! And I am so glad you enjoyed yourself last night too! That is such a healthy attitude! 🙂 You rock!

  7. Roses + snow = beautiful!!

  8. angieinatlanta

    Yum! I drive by Thaicoon all the time and wondered if it was good. I’ll have to venture in there next time.

    I think we all have those friends who make us over do it. I’m glad to see you’re not beating yourself up about it though!

  9. I think pizza can be a very well-rounded meal, so long as you don’t eat over 3 slices. But I love your practical, down-to-earth attitude towards these occasional indulgences. I hope you enjoyed it! 🙂
    I can’t imagine eating cold sushi in that weather, though!

  10. How beautiful!! The roses and the snow!! Enjoy it and stay warm down there. 🙂

  11. Awwwwww, so sweet!! Your roses are so pretty!! 🙂 Andrew came home with sunflowers on Friday. Our boys sure do know how to treat a lady well! 😉 I ate a bit too much pizza Fri. night also and then too many chips and salsa last night and I’m sure I’ll eat too much of something today since it’s V-Day, but like you said, just gotta move on from it and get back on track. Not a big deal in the big scheme of it all! 😉

  12. Those are beautiful roses-I love pink roses 🙂 I think pink roses are more unique than the standard red roses.

    And that sushi looks delish! Have a wonderful Valentine’s Day!!

  13. Those roses are absolutely gorgeous!

    I definitely agree about the pizza thing. It hurts my belly, but I LOVE the stuff. So I don’t feel bad when I have it because it is so damn good.

  14. girl those pics of the snow are beautiful! FRAME THOSE 🙂 and that sushi looks divine. puts me in the mood for some good sush instantly! hope you had an amazing vday!

  15. Thanks for the encouraging words! I’m excited to be back and to read entries like this… those sushi pics are making me so HUNGRY! 🙂

  16. Can I just say my favorite phrase in this whole blog is “pizza happens” – ain’t that the truth!!

  17. That sushi looks amazing girl. I love that it’s wrapped in cucumber. I’ve seen them around but I’ve never tried it. Seems like it would add a nice crunch sans fried tempura. Awesome!