Weights

Jason would like my readers to know that he does not actually wear that shirt. I think he keeps it in the closet to taunt me!

I don’t like working out in the morning. I’ve tried a bunch of different times and it’s just not for me. But then I end up making plans at night and not working out at all. I was supposed to run four miles tonight but it was a friends birthday and I wanted to take her out to dinner. Why I didn’t plan for this ahead of time and run at lunch, I don’t know. But anyway, I tried to go to the gym before meeting her and couldn’t snag a treadmill for the life of me. So I did legs instead. I did:

squats, 3 sets of 12
seated leg press, 50 lbs, 3 sets of 12
hamstring curls on stability ball, 3 sets of 8
deadlifts, 50 lbs, 3 sets of 12
fire hydrants, 3 sets of 12, each leg
calf raises, 45 lbs, 3 sets of 12

I never know if I’m lifting weights efficiently. I just sort of haphazardly make up a workout while I’m at the gym. I do legs on their own, or sometimes with abs, and then I do upper body a different day, either all at once, or doing chest and triceps one day and back and biceps the other. But I never have an exact plan. Maybe I should do actual workouts? I know that there are a million online.

How often do you lift weights? How do you decide what exercises to do? Free weights or machines? I probably only lift once or twice a week although I’d like to do more.

I have a major case of writer’s block tonight. I am just having an off day in all sorts of ways. But I’ll be back to myself tomorrow. I think I need a good night’s sleep. How is it almost 11 already?

10 responses to “Weights

  1. It’s really hard to work out in the mornings, but nights are harder for me. I had gotten into a really good groove with exercising first thing, but my schedule has been different the past few weeks so I fear it’s going to take a lot to get back into it.
    I usually lift free weights 3 times a week, but like you I just don’t know exactly what I’m doing. I think it would be a good idea for me to set up one appt with a trainer, just to develop a solid routine. Have a good night!

  2. I don’t actually do any formal weight lifting. I just do DVD workouts that incorporate strength training in them. I do those about 2 times a week. I’ve heard it’s best to do 3 days a week: one of arms, one day of legs, one day of butt and abs.

  3. Hey chica! bummer that all the treadmills were taken- how annoying! Fitnessista has some great workouts on her blog- may be worth printing out and taking with you! One of the reasons I love teaching (and why I used to love taking) Body Pump is that you get a good weights workout in without having to think about putting exercises together- its done for you! Fabulous. Where do you buy this Atlanta Greek yogurt? I need some!

  4. I definitely have more motivation to work out in the morning too. The longer the day goes on, the more reasons I find to do something else instead.

    Hope you feel better today! I’ve been having “in a funk” days too lately. I blame the weather.

  5. I often wonder the same thing (How is it 11:00 already?), and normally, it’s b/c I’m on the laptop! Tobey always jokes that I need to put my blogging machine away.

    I don’t really lift weights… just yoga and pilates. I’m almost always sore, so I figure that whatever I’m doing is okay??

  6. I try to do weights twice a week but I either have to go to a class (ie. Body Pump) or I get Keith (the trainer hubs) to write me a workout. I can’t do it on my own!

  7. The only weights I lift are in the form of a 15 lbs baby.

  8. I am bad and don’t do lower body strength training. Mainly because I’m scared of hurting my damn knee more! But I do upper body 3 x’s a week.

  9. I am scared of the weight room at LA Fitness b/c of all of the meat heads in there. I stick to the treadmill, stairmaster, push ups and sit ups. Not the most effective strength training but it’s what I’m comfortable with! đŸ™‚