Just food

Nothing to perk a girl up like getting some fun mail. First, I got some Chobani that I won in a contest that Anne had.

IMG_3082.JPG

And secondly, I got some coupons for Horizon Chocolate Milk that I won from a contest that Janetha had.

IMG_3083.JPG

Yes, I won two contests in the past week. Can’t be upset about that.

Dinner last night was okay. The company was good but the food and service were only meh. I don’t know if it was because we were one of the only parties in the restaurant or what, but it seemed like the server kept disappearing and the food took a long time. I liked my food, but the others were not as impressed. I had the frutti del mar which was a mix of different types of shellfish over pasta with red sauce. I typically gravitate to seafood on a menu, especially shellfish.

I emailed Jason earlier today and told him that I needed vegetables for dinner. He took a bunch of stuff that we had on hand and made some sort of Asian stir-fry type thing.

IMG_3084.JPG

We both thought it was too saucy, so we strained it and got rid of some of the sauce. I only ate about half of that portion, by the way.

IMG_3087.JPG
16 responses to “Just food

  1. It looks really yummy!! Sorry the resturaunt wasn’t great…that is always a bummer!

  2. I won two giveaways last week too! Can’t be upset about that. It might mean I’m lucky. But it probably means I read too many blogs!

  3. angieinatlanta

    Lucky girl! I need to start entering more giveaways; I still haven’t won a single one!

    I’m a big shellfish fan when eating out as well. I think it’s because I’m often intimidated by shellfish at home.

    Stir-fry dinner looks great!

  4. I’ve been wanting to find that chobani!! Let us know how it is! 😉 Your dinner looks great, especially the shrimp.

  5. I hate it when the service is bad when a restaurant is almost empty– it’s like, what else are you doing??

  6. The only time I’ve ever won anything on blog giveaway I won two, as well!

    Cute chobani box!

  7. What good luck you have! I’m still hoping I’ll win a contest sometime!

  8. I love the Chobani box!

    Right now it’s rainy and cold in DC. There is some snow but it’s mainly piles on the ground and very dirty/gross. The roads aren’t too bad except for all the potholes!! Have a safe trip up here 🙂 There are a ton of healthy restaurants to try if you get a chance especially in Rockville!!

    • What restaurants would you recommend? I grew up in Rockville, but things have changed so much since I last lived there.

      • I really enjoy Le Pain Quotidien in downtown Bethesda-I love the tartines. I’ve heard that The Vegetable Garden in Rockville is fantastic too. Now if you have time to go eat in DC, I love Busboys and Poets-restaurant, bookstore, coffee shop, bar (location downtown and U street), Chix-organic chicken kind of like an upscale KFC with no fried food (U street), Zaytinya-Mediterranean Mezze (Chinatown). Also, if you’re a hummus fiend like I am, Whole Foods in DC area sells this hummus called Cava Mezze Original Hummus which is amazing. So I’d stock up before heading back to Atlanta!!

  9. I love stir fry. I just need to learn to make more of my own sauces. I rely too much on Annie’s

  10. Lucky girl…and looks like luck found both of us, bc I won 2 giveaways this week, too! hee hee!

  11. When you said that you won two contests, I couldn’t help but think of an episode of Wife Swap that I saw. (lol) The one couple played different sweepstakes for a living. Can you imagine making a living off of winning contests and games? Anyway, random…

  12. I’m with Angie – I never win at giveaways and need to enter more – great one!

    I love stir fry and think this looks awesome!

  13. Whoa….chocolate Chobani? I can’t wait to see what you think about that!

    And I haven’t had chocolate milk since I was about 10, but I have a strong hankering for some right now.

  14. Congrats on all the wins!