Yesterday’s Long Run

I set out around 10:30 yesterday morning to do my long run which was supposed to be nine miles. I’d originally planned on running on the Capital Crescent Trail, but there was way too much snow still on it. So, I abandoned that plan and decided to run down Wisconsin Avenue into DC.

I was faced with some obstacles from the start. Every time I’d cross a street, there was a huge pile of dirty snow where the sidewalk would start again and I’d have to stop and walk around it. I took some pictures of this, but I’ll have to put them in another post because they are still on my phone. The dirty snow piles also created a lot of mud, so I really had to be careful.

After I crossed into DC, about 2 miles, the snow problem went away. I guess because DC has more pedestrian traffic? I started to enjoy my run. DC is way less hilly than Atlanta and it was fun to run through a city where everything looked new and different to me. I was supposed to run to a certain street which I’d mapped out to be the halfway point. But, I was taking so long because of the snow that I decided to either run to the street, or the National Cathedral, whichever came first. The Cathedral did.

I turned around there after consulting my iphone and figuring out it was 4 miles. I could have easily run an extra half mile out, but I didn’t want everyone to have to postpone their mornings because I was taking so long. On my way home, I decided to run down River Road and not Wisconsin because I didn’t want to deal with the snow piles again. Everything was fine until I came to the road that I was supposed to turn down to get to my mother’s house, maybe a half mile away.

There were no sidewalks. It was a busy road and I didn’t want to run on it. I’d already run about 2 miles down River, so I didn’t want to turn around and go back to Wisconsin, but I didn’t know what to do. So I had to call my mother and tell her that I didn’t know how to get home! She said to get on the Crescent Trail and just walk. So, I did. It was covered in snow, so I didn’t really get to run much of that last half mile.

I mapped it out when I got home and found that I did about 8.1 miles roughly. Not 9, but close enough. It actually felt very easy and even though it was pretty cold out, it was an enjoyable run.

I always feel badass when I cross into DC from MD. It’s kind of stupid because it’s only two miles, but I like being like, “I ran into a different state!”

I want to thank everyone for all your well wishes for my father. It really means a lot to me. I blog because I like to write and I like to have a diary type thing, but I really have come to appreciate and cherish this blogging community that I have become a part of. The support that everyone gives everyone else is just great.

His surgery is at noon. I heard the hospital has Wi-Fi so I am going to bring my computer.

12 responses to “Yesterday’s Long Run

  1. I hope that your father’s surgery goes well! I’m sure everything will work out well.

    I love running from VA into DC too. I typically run down Lee highway across the Key bridge into Georgetown. I always feel badass too 🙂

    Enjoy DC and I’ll keep your father in my thoughts.

  2. You’re brave for running in a city that’s not your own! I know that sounds silly, but I think that it would be hard to run on roads that I’m not familiar with. (Maybe that’s b/c I rarely run? :))

    I hope that everything goes well with the surgery today.

  3. That sounds like an amazing run. I would have felt the same way had I run to a different state.

    Best wishes for your father. I will look on my reader for updates 🙂

  4. I hope your father’s surgery goes well today– I’ll be thinking about you!

  5. oh girl i wish you came to the meetup!! next time for sure1 and you ARE a badass running into another state. love it 🙂 thinking of your dad today, xoxo

  6. Seriously I am so impressed that you went running in a city that isn’t yours. That is amazing…I would never have enough courage to do that! I would get so lost!

    I am thinking about your Dad!! Good thought all the way around! 🙂

  7. Sending good thoughts once again for your dad today!!

  8. I hope your Dad sails through his surgery! Lucky Momma was there to help you get home! 😀

    I am so sick of the dirty snow – it looks so pretty when its fresh, not its just ugly.

  9. haha I would think that, too, with running into a different state! I’d feel really bad ass.

    Thinking of you and your family right now. 🙂

  10. I’m thinking about you and your family! I am keeping my fingers crossed for your father’s surgery.

  11. You feel badass, because you are badass.

  12. YOu rock with your running – into a different state – woo!! I’m backing up on learning about your dad- i’ve been pretty MIA this week… 😦