Dog park + ten miles

Boo, Sunday night! It always gets here way too quickly. I had a busy day. Jason and I took advantage of the nice weather and took Murphy to the dog park.

IMG_0980.JPG

It’s pretty hard to take good pictures of dogs in action! There was another dog there that looked exactly like Murphy and I kept accidently taking pictures of him instead. This really is Murphy though.

IMG_0951.JPG

Proud doggie parents.

IMG_0987.JPG

All morning, I was dreading my ten mile run. I think I was even dreading it in my sleep. My legs have felt really heavy the past few days and the thought of running ten miles in hilly Atlanta was not a pleasant one. So, I decided to go to the Silver Comet Trail. I normally don’t like to run the trail by myself because several years ago, someone got killed there, but I knew that since it was the first Spring like day, there would be tons of people there. I was right; it was very crowded. I probably should get some mace or something. I do run with my phone. I don’t know if that would help if something actually were to happen, but I guess it’s not a bad thing. Do you run on trails alone? Do you take mace?

The first mile of the run was fine but after that, I started to feel kind of queasy. I’d eaten lunch (an Arnold’s Thin with cheese and some veggies) about an hour and fifteen minutes before the run and I guess it was too close. The first five miles sucked. My stomach was bothering me and I had to take a lot of walk breaks.

After the halfway point, I started to feel better and I even took a GU. The GU gave me instant energy and I felt great for the next two or three miles. The last mile was a struggle. It always is. It’s like the end is so close but so far away. I ran 10 miles in 1:48:14 which averages to a 10:49 minute mile. That’s decent considering there were a lot of small walk breaks. Here are my mile splits:

1 – 10:25
2 – 10:40
3 – 11:30
4 – 11:49
5 – 10:55
6 – 11:52
7 – 9:53
8 – 9:50
9 – 10:17
10 – 10:56

I am running a 10K on this trail next weekend. If I can mimic the times of miles 7 and 8, I can PR. I think my 10K PR (this race) is something like 1:00 and change. I would love to run a sub-hour 10K. I won’t eat a big meal beforehand!

If you’re my friend on facebook, you probably saw that when I got home, I drank a shitload of Horizon Chocolate Milk that I won in a contest. If you’re not my friend on facebook, want to be? After drinking roughly 500 calories of thick chocolate milk, I am quite full and don’t see dinner happening anytime soon (I also had a Luna bar). I am going to go to the store and get some groceries. I can’t decide if I should do Trader Joe’s or Kroger/Publix.

So, out of my six lies and one truth, which was the truth? Only one person got it! I showed this to Jason and he said, “Are you sure you want to admit this?”

IMG_3105.JPG

Ignore the messy bed. To my credit, I don’t refer to it as a blankie, but I do like to sleep with this certain blanket. This was actually a comforter at one point. I got it when I was eight years old and my mother told me not to because I would think it was babyish in a few years. HA, I showed her. Over the years, it somehow shrunk a lot (Murphy had something to do with that – he liked to pull the fuzz off it). I just like the way it feels against my face. I don’t know why! I sleep with a child’s blanket and I am not afraid to admit it!

I have been to several Phish shows but I didn’t follow them around the country. All the other ones were completely made up!

26 responses to “Dog park + ten miles

  1. Yep, I run with pepper spray because the trail where I run in Tuscaloosa, Alabama is often very isolated. I love trailrunning and would run it every day if I could. You remember the kidnapped hiker, Meredith Emerson, from north GA? Her story kept me from the trail for about 6 months. I just couldn’t feel comfortable again. I still don’t run it 100% like I used to.

    I’ve heard of the Silver comet trail, but I’ve never ventured over there to do it. Good luck next weekend!

    • It’s a paved trail usually with lots of people but it does make me a bit nervous. I do remember hearing about Meredith Emerson. Scary.

      Sent from my iPhone

  2. angieinatlanta

    GREAT run, Lee! You’re going to rock that race!

    I love how happy Murphy looks at the dog park. He’s such a cute dog!

  3. Murphy is seriously soooo beautiful!!! Is that okay to say about a male dog? cuz he is!

    Haha, I love your truth and I don’t think you should be ashamed at all. I sleep with stuffed animals still. I got used to it as a kid and now I expect a stuffed animal there when I sleep. I feel uncomfortable when I travel and I don’t have a teddy bear there πŸ™‚

  4. Aww, Murphy looks so happy!

    There’s a new paved trail near me. I haven’t run into any problems or nervousness there yet. I guess it’s because I’ve only been there with my dog. But Meredith Emerson was walking with her dog. Some other trails like the Alpharetta Greenway or the Silver Comet make me more nervous. I get paranoid, but Jonathan always thinks I’m being dumb. πŸ˜‰

  5. Murphy is so cute. I wish we had a dog park near us because our dogs would love it! I am glad you had a good day.

  6. Awww, Murphy looks so happy!! I took Ripsey for a 4 mile run yesterday and she grinned the entire time. I felt like such a good doggie mommy for finally getting her in the fresh air.

    Speaking of, I usually run with Ripsey on my shorter runs and that makes me feel safer. But if I’m running much more than 4 miles, I don’t bring her along, so I always have my phone. I only run on trails by myself on busy weekend days.

  7. Love the murphy pics! My sister has a dog park behind her casa – so cute to watch her Sadie dog play with the pups (Reuben = not a fan of dog parks!). I’ve never run outside but could see being nervous (i’m always scared of stuff like that!).

  8. Awewome job on the run! And Murphy is SO handsome πŸ™‚

  9. Stephen and I love Murphy! (Stephen is golden obsessed.)

    Congrats on the 10 miles. I don’t even want to think about running that far right now!

  10. I LOVE that second pic of Murphy. He looks soooo happy! I bet he can’t wait until the new dog park is reopened!

    Great run too! So you’re racing this weekend and then the half the next weekend?! That’s so intense!

  11. awwww cute dog park pic! It is nearly impossible to get good pictures at the dog park- the dogs are always going nutso! Way to make it through the run! I can’t really eat much of anything before I run or I get major tummy issues! Get yourself some mace! My MIL bought me a tiny one I can clip onto my shorts. Hope you have a good Monday

  12. You should definitely get some pepper spray- you just never know! I was walking on Roswell to Chastain park the other month and a man lunged at me and told me to give him my money. Scary.

    I always have that Trader Joe’s or Kroger debate in my head!

  13. I don’t have any pepper spray…but I should get some! I think I’m afraid somehow I would end up spraying myself. Or if there is a safety lock, I wouldn’t be able to get it figured out in time. Yes, these are the things I think about. πŸ™‚

    Murphy looks SO happy. Congrats on your run, too!!

  14. Such a great photo of Murphy! I can never get my pup in action either – it’s so hard! I’ve also been thinking about purchasing some mace for my solo runs. Better to be safe than sorry!

  15. Nice job on the run – and I would carry mace with you – you never know!

    That reminds me of my daughters blanket – I received a set of three identical blankets – they had fringe on them. My daughter would stick the fringe up her nose while sucking her thumb. They soon became “stinky” blankets because she never wanted me to wash them!

    She’s 18 . . . and still has it, but my Mom made it into a pillow!

  16. MURPHY is cute!!! Congrats on finishing the 10 miles…your rockstar, you!! And yay…I am so glad you sleep with a blankie because I still sleep with a teddy bear!:)

  17. HOORAY for the dog park! so much fun, love the pics!

  18. I had a bad run today too…Only 2 miles. But at least you completed! Yay!
    I think it’s best to lay off the veggies and fiber before running…

  19. Awesome splits! That’s great!! Next weekend’s trail 10k will be a breeze!

    I love the dog park — always so much fun seeing the pups play!

  20. Murphy is such a cutie! I love golden retrievers; they always seem like such happy dogs. My dog, Scooter, is pretty anti-social at the dog park. He likes being there, but he doesn’t want to play with the other dogs. He’s a weirdo.

  21. LOVE the pics of the pup! Murphy looks so incredibly happy! Reminds me of Grady running around our back yard this AM in the sunshine!

    What a great run – that trail race is gonna rock next weekend!

  22. awesome run! what a cutie murphy is!!! I love doggies and seeing them happy all around the dog park! so cute πŸ™‚ my bed looks like that more often than not haha