Spring Fever!

Three good things happened that I’d like to note:

1. My dad got out of the hospital and is back home.
2. Pineapple Chobani has finally come to ATL.
3. Yesterday’s temperature reached 70 degrees! Even though I was stuck in my office all day, I had a serious case of Spring Fever and did not want to be in the house when I got home. Jason and I discussed finding a restaurant with a patio but realized that after the sun set, it wouldn’t be so warm. We ended up going to a Turkish restaurant that we had a coupon for. The food was mediocre at best, but it was still fun to go out with Jason. And I didn’t have to wear a coat! Winter can suck it.

It’s true; I’m racing two weekends in a row. There’s no real reason besides that I like the Silver Comet 10K and it happens to fall the weekend before the ING. I also tend to burn out a bit towards the end of training and find that signing up for a race during the training period re-motivates me. I ran a 15K race about two or three weeks before my last half marathon. I’m looking at these two races very differently, the 10K and the half. I have a more specific goal for the 10K. I want to do it in less than an hour. I ran this race in 2006 in 1:00:08. Running a 10K in less than an hour requires keeping roughly a 9:30 pace. That’s pretty fast for me so I’m not exactly sure if I can do it. Back in 2006, I weighed about 10 pounds less (damn you, slowing metabolism after age 30), but I think I was in similar shape cardiovascularly, so it is possible. For the half, my goal is not as specific. I would like to set a course PR which I think I can do. A course PR for the ING would be 2:28 or less. (It’s very hilly.)

Sometimes my racing goals are too lofty and I end up setting myself up for disappointment. I’m not sure if I’ve ever just raced for fun. Actually, scratch that, I’ve done the Peachtree for fun, but besides that, I always seem to have a goal in mind. I guess I’m just goal-oriented? It’s kind of the same issue that I have when I run with my Garmin. Instead of enjoying the run (or race), I’m constantly fixated on pace. But then again, it’s good to push myself and if I don’t, I won’t get faster. Hmmm. What are your thoughts on this? Does pushing yourself to achieve a certain time goal take away from the enjoyment of running or is it a good thing?

Good food has found it’s way back into my life, in case you were wondering. I set my alarm five minutes earlier this morning and made fresh juice. Whenever I make juice, I always wonder why I don’t do it more often. I used spinach, baby carrots, about a quarter of a hothouse cucumber and a small apple. No picture, but it was a dark green. I always imagine that it’s going to taste like seaweed or something, but then it ends up being sort-of sweet. The apple is definitely key. Just a small apple adds a lot of sweetness.

Jason has requested some meals from the South Beach Diet Cookbook. While I’m not following the diet myself, I like the recipes in the cookbook and was happy to oblige. For dinner, I picked out Balsamic Salmon and Jason cooked it with some sauteed peppers and onions.

IMG_0995.JPG
18 responses to “Spring Fever!

  1. We are actually experiencing a spring fever as well, except our weather is in the 50’s and we are excited. I am glad your Dad is out of the hospital and doing better.

    Our races begin this weekend. My girls are very excited!

  2. So glad your dad is doing well and at home!! Need to find that pineapple chobani… still haven’t gotten to publix yet… And I’m loving this weather!! But it’s supposed to rain tomorrow, boo! I can’t believe the ING is almost here! Makes me sad… I wish I was running it! I had so much fun the first 2 years. Last year was tough not doing it and I just still don’t feel ready to get back into such long distances… maybe next year…

  3. intheskinny

    Yay on all 3 things!! I just started eating Greek yogurt last month (after 3 or 4 failed attempts in liking it) ad found the pineapple Chobani this weekend. Haven’t tried it yet though.

  4. angieinatlanta

    Yay! So glad you’re having some good stuff in your life! You deserve it!

    The weather has been awesome lately. I feel like everyone in the state has been in a better mood!

  5. So glad your dad is out of the hospital!!! That is fantastic news!

    Also, I feel ya on the “too high goals” on races. I’m a little worried that my goal time for the ING is a little lofty given the difficulty of the course. But, I’m also trying not to psych myself out. 🙂 Also, Peachtree registration opens on Sunday!

  6. Jenn Eats Nutritiously Now

    Isn’t Spring so FREEING?! I just love not having to bundle up before walking outside 🙂 It just puts me in a better mood. Have a great night!

  7. What good news about your dad!! And the temperature!

    I was into the south beach diet for a while, and while I’m not anymore, I still use a lot of the recipes. Yum!

  8. Sounds like you have some great reasons to celebrate! So glad to hear that your dad is doing well!

  9. YAY for all the good things that are happening in your life! Woo hoo! Good food, good weather, good company…all you need is a good poop to make it perfect! 😉

  10. <—Oh Sophia!

    I love my Garmin, I do. But sometimes, you just don't wanna know how slow you're going! But now that I have the Garmin, I don't think I could go on a single run without it.

  11. Winter can definitely suck it! 🙂

    I’m considering racing this weekend and next as well, but I’m scared!

    Good luck with your races!

  12. YAY for your Dad!! I am so glad that he is doing well!!

  13. lol at Sophia’s comment… why does everything always come in threes?! It’s the strangest thing. That’s great that your dad’s home!

    I don’t have any wise word re: setting race goals. I’m running (walking?) the O’Highlands 5k on Saturday and I’ve only run once this month!

  14. Yay for all of the great things! Most importantly your dad of course! Pineapple chobani and 70 degree weather are both amazing too. Pineapple is one of my faves! I just tried strawberry banana for the first time this week- love it!

    Good luck on your races! I have a question- when you juice, do you throw the apple in whole or do you peel/core it?

  15. Great news about your Dad! Also I love the look of that dinner, my BF is requesting meals that don’t contain many grains and focus on lean meats and veggies so I’ll be eating things like this too.

  16. Whoa – SO jealous about the pineapple Chobani!! But even better news about your dad. I’m glad he’s home and hope he’s doing well!

    Ugh – hills. You definitely have to allow extra time for them! I SUCK at hills. (I blame my flat state). 🙂