Yucky Tummy

I’ve had a stomach ache since last night. I get them a lot, but normally for only a few hours and usually not overnight. I’m pretty sure that I suffer from IBS although I’ve never been formally diagnosed. It’s something that I’ve been meaning to ask my doctor about for…uhh..a long time. Jason thinks that I might be lactose intolerant. I hope not. I know that I should write down what I’ve eaten and make a correlation between what I eat and when my stomach hurts but I never think to do it. What’s been killing me, I think, is the refried beans that I had last night. Other triggers that I know are fake sugar and carbonated beverages. Sometimes my stomach does hurt from yogurt, but not all the time. Geez, I hope I’m not lactose intolerant because I love ice cream.

I decided to take an unscheduled rest day today. My legs are tired and my stomach hurts and it’s yucky outside and I plain ol’ didn’t want to go. Since I do have a time goal for my 10K on Saturday, I thought it would probably be a good idea to let my legs rest up a bit. Of course, there is the side of me that worries that skipping the run tonight is going to be detrimental to my half marathon next week, but I really don’t think it will be.

I’m glad it’s almost the weekend. This week has been dragging. Jason’s been working a 3am-noon shift and going to sleep around 7 or 8 pm. We haven’t seen each other much in the past few weeks, it feels like. I miss him. Tomorrow, we have a date. Well, not exactly a date because our friend Danny is coming too, but we’re going to see the play Spring Awakening at the Fox Theater. I heart musicals so I’m super excited. I think we’re going to try to have dinner at Gordon Biersch beforehand. We’ve never been there before and it’s close to the Fox. Since I’m racing the following morning, I am only going to allow myself to have one beer. I mean, it is a brewery after all and beer counts as carbo-loading, right?! Not that I need to carbo-load for a 10K.

For dinner tonight, I started to make an omlette. But then I decided to make it into a pizza instead. (This meal is a reason why I hope I’m not lactose intolerant. Wait, eggs don’t have lactose, do they?) I cooked an egg in a small pan and topped it with tomato sauce, veggies and mozzarella cheese. Then I stuck it in the oven at 350 for about 5 minutes so the cheese would melt.

IMG_1011.JPG

It was a nice change from my normal tortilla pizza.

15 responses to “Yucky Tummy

  1. Ooh, that musical looks so good! What a fun date!

  2. I can’t help but think that it’s a food allergy. I think that it would be a good idea to keep a food journal for a week or so and try to pinpoint it.

    I’ve never thought to try marinara on an egg… but, I order the Hollywood omelette at Flying Biscuit (it has tomatillo sauce or something like that on it), so I’m sure that I’d like it!

  3. OH! If you want to really carb load, get the parmesan fries at gordon biersch!!!!!! Highly, highly recommend!! Feel better soon!!

  4. re lactose intolerance — it’s something to be thought of in terms of a spectrum, or degrees. as in: you can be SUPER lactose intolerant, a little bit lactose intolerant, or not at all. it all depends on how much lactase you make!

    i personally think i am a little bit lactose intolerant. i get GI symptoms if i drink a full glass of milk or eat a lot of ice cream. yogurt (even frozen yogurt!) seems to be fine, likely because the bacteria help digest some of the lactose for me.

    if you’re lactose intolerant and the symptoms don’t bother you TOO much, sometimes eating lactoase isn’t the end of the world. it’s not like celiac where gluten actually will harm the intestines of someone who has the disease and cause malabsorption. lactose intolerance is not like a true food allergy where there’s a risk of anaphylaxis (and a true food allergy would be rather unusual to diagnose at this age).

    so: even if you are (a little) lactose intolerant, it’s more of a suggestion to practice moderation in your dairy intake and sort of titrate what you eat to what you know you can handle. and if you DO want to eat a whole bunch of lactose, lactaid pills can definitely help, as they contain the missing enzyme!

    hope this helps πŸ™‚ obviously this is not ‘official’ dr–>pt advice, but just what i’ve learned throughout residency.

    • How would I know if I’m lactose intolerant? I mean besides not eating it and seeing if it helps. Is there an actual test that the doctor can do?

  5. I have digestive issues too – all my life! They got better when I went mostly-vegan and ditched the dairy. Diary makes my stomach way too upset both in terms of pain and constipation. much happier without!

    My friend who is actually lactose inolerant can eat certain cheeses, and be ok, but other times when she eats things she KNOWS she shouldnt eat, she is begging for a bathroom no less than 30 mins later and will stop ANYWHERE – home depot, gas station – you name it.

    I dont know that its necessarily my stomach that hurts, but I do get extremely bloated and have pain. It also doesn’t necessarily have to be from what you ate THAT DAY, could be from a day or 2 behind so its hard to pinpoint unless you do a 2 week elimination test yourself and eliminate the trigger for 2 weeks and then slowly add back in to figure out if its the culprit. you can do that with wheat (to see if you’re celiac), dairy, etc.

  6. Man everyone has been rocking the home cooked pizza boat lately! Sooo good! I’m slightly lactose intolerant, realized it one summer after too many ice cream cones.

  7. What a fun date night!!! πŸ™‚

  8. I hope you feel better!
    The garlic fries and Gordon Biersch are TO DIE FOR. I also think I had a hummus salad there. whatever it was was delicious! Have fun!

  9. MAN your pizza looks amazing! That is a GREAT idea to add eggs and then veggies/cheese. Going to try this. πŸ™‚

    Have fun on your date night! I heart musicals, too.

  10. It sounds like you definitely needed a rest day. Have fun at the musical! I saw Spring Awakening a few weeks ago with my friend and really enjoyed it, and I’m not even a big musical fan. I am always amazed by people with such talent and creativity!

  11. If you were lactose intolerant, yogurt wouldn’t bother you because it has live and active cultures in it which somehow doesn’t bother folks who are intolerant. I know this because my sister is lactose intolerant! The good news is lactaid works for her (for milk, cottage cheese, etc.) and if you buy cabot cheese, it’s actually made lactose free naturally, bonus! But, if things like yogurt bother you, it could be more of a milk allergy which is different than lactose intolerance. Just figured I’d throw it out there. How did you feel after eating the pizza with cheese?

  12. Finding food allergies is not a fun process. If its lactose there are so many more substitutes than there was a few years ago.

    I hope you feel better. Upset stomachs are no fun.

  13. Mmm, I really like that egg base idea! I love pizza but don’t want to use a big heavy dough, so I’m always looking for good substitutes. My latest was just piling all the “toppings” in a bowl and using a Wasa flatbread to dip into it (evolved from using the Wasa as a regular pizza base, but I found that the toppings fell off). Maybe I’ll give the egg idea a try for breakfast tomorrow…