A play and a PR

Last night, Jason and I went to see Spring Awakening with our friend Danny. Beforehand, we went to Gordon Biersch for dinner. They brew their own beer, so we got a flight so we could sample them. Each of these glasses held 3 oz of beer.

IMG_3114.JPG

I liked the ones on the ends the best – one was a Golden Lager and one was a Blonde Ale. For my meal, I got the hummus goat cheese salad with chicken. I mean, how could I not? Hummus and goat cheese are two of my favorite foods.

IMG_3119.JPG

The salad was huge. This picture does not do it justice. I have a pretty hearty appetite and was only able to eat maybe a third of it before I was stuffed!

After we dinner, we made our way over to the Fox.

IMG_3130.JPG

I enjoyed the play. It wasn’t my favorite musical, but I still enjoyed it. We were sitting in the way back and I was having trouble seeing though.

I set my alarm for 6:40 this morning and got ready for my 10K. I ate an Arnold Thin with Almond Butter and was on my way. It took about half an hour to get the start. I brought my Garmin but when I parked my car, I couldn’t find it and just went without it. (After the race, I discovered that it was in my sweatshirt pocket that I’d left in the car). I got my number and chip and waiting for about ten minutes for the race to start. While I was waiting, I saw this guy that’s a friend of a friend that I seem to see at EVERY single race or festival that I go to. It’s to the point where when we see each other, we’re like, “Of course you’re here!”

They had pace groups and I lined up between the 9 and 10 minute groups but closer to the 10 minute. I think I crossed the start line 20-30 seconds after the race began. I didn’t have my Garmin, but there were people calling out the race times so I was able to hear all of my splits. These are all estimates because I don’t remember exactly what the people said, but I think mile 1 was around 9:40. There was a little hill between Miles 1 and 2 and I was surprised to hit the mile 2 marker around 18 minutes. I stopped at a water station right before mile 3 and hit that one at around 27 minutes.

After three miles, I started to get a bit tired. I’m not used to running 9 minute miles! I think I slowed down a bit because Mile 4 was about 37 minutes and Mile 5 was 47. At mile 5, I was really starting to want to walk. I stopped for water and when I started to run again, I saw this woman who was running my pace and just kept telling myself to keep up with her and not to stop. I got to Mile 6 at 57 something. I could see the finish line ahead of me soon after that and all I could see was a big 59:17. I got a surge of energy and sprinted over the mat in something like 59:35. I’m not even sure what the time was, but I know it was 59 something!!! I did it! I finally ran a sub-hour 10K! That is very fast for me and I am very proud of myself. Chip time to come soon. I hope it’s 58 something. That would be amazing.

22 responses to “A play and a PR

  1. Congrats!!!! You must feel so great!

  2. Congrats on your PR! Now go enjoy the weekend šŸ™‚
    That’s the salad I got at Gordon Biersch (w/o chicken). It was good!

  3. Lee…yay yay yay!! I am so excited for you!!! Now that is the PERFECT way to start a Saturday! Have a great rest of your day…you rockstar!!

  4. Yay!!! I love it when a race goes well!

  5. Congrats on a great race! Now enjoy your day!

  6. Hey!! Have you ever seen Kait’s blog?? She’s from GA too and check out this post!! http://kaitcooks.wordpress.com/2010/03/13/awakening-spring/ Small world things like that excite me, haha!!

    CONGRATS on your PR!! Enjoy the rest of your day!! So happy for you!!!!!!! šŸ™‚

  7. awwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww! Congrats! You so rock!! Thats awesome šŸ™‚

    Sounds like a really nice night too. Gordon’s has fabulous food! Their salads are ginormous.

    Hope the rest of your weekend is just as wonderful šŸ™‚

  8. Congrats Lee, that’s awesome!!!

  9. angieinatlanta

    Congrats, Lee! You kick ass, lady!

    And wow, I had no idea that GB had salads like that. It looks super yummy!

  10. wow, impressive!! you rock!!

  11. Congrats on the PR!!!! That’s awesome!!!! Now, time to turn around, recover, and get ready for the half next weekend!!! šŸ™‚

  12. 9 minute miles…and 3 miles of that would def make me woozy! I think you did a stellar job, Lee!

  13. So crazy that we had almost exactly the same night!! That salad looks awesome, it was the very first thing on the menu to catch my eye but we were just getting food to snack on, not meals. Next time I’m ordering it! And we were sitting up top near the back too, I had a little trouble seeing but still really enjoyed the show.
    I’m glad Em showed me your blog, I’ll be following along!!

  14. Congrats on your PR! I thought of you during my 5k- you’ve talked about how hilly it is where you run, and I was definitely shaking my head in agreement (as if you were there) yesterday!

    p.s. We woke up at the same time yesterday. Not 6:30, not 6:45, but 6:40. šŸ™‚

  15. Wow! Congrats on the PR! That is awesome!!!

  16. Congrats on your PR – that is awesome!! And that salad looks pretty much amazing. I only tried goat cheese recently and, WHERE have I been? It blew my mind!

  17. Great job for making it under an hour! What a huge accomplishment!! Also, I LOVE Gordon Biersch.

  18. Congratulations!! I have that same goal before this year is over. I have 4 chances this fall and one of them, I WILL get that sub 1hr. I’m so close at 1:02:58. I’m glad you had a great day šŸ™‚

  19. I love that restaurant and the Fox – even thought he play wasn’t a fave sounded like a great time!

    Congrats on your PR! Woo!

  20. Good beer and a show? That’s my perfect night šŸ™‚

    Big time congratulations on the PR!