Hot Yoga

I’m on a roll with recipes from the South Beach Diet cookbook. Tonight, I made Indian Chicken.

IMG_1041.JPG

I added broccoli and cayenne pepper, but otherwise kept the recipe the same. It definitely needed salt, but after I added some, it was good.

Before my Indian feast, I went to Hot Yoga with a co-worker. I wonder if I would like regular yoga better. I mean, I liked it okay, but I wished that there was music. This particular instructor came over and corrected my positioning a few times, which I appreciated. He also said something to the effect of “Let your mind go. Don’t think about when you can come out of the pose.” Of course, that is exactly what I was thinking of. I guess that quieting your mind and breathing and all that zen stuff comes later. Right now, I’m just trying to figure out what I am doing. I’m also trying not to get frustrated that I can’t seem to do anything. If you practice yoga, how long did it take you to really get into it? What type of yoga to do prefer?

18 responses to “Hot Yoga

  1. angieinatlanta

    I am definitely one of those people who likes the idea of yoga but simply cannot get into it! I can’t quiet my mind and I enjoy the aggression of good, old fashioned cardio. That helps me unwind more than poses.

  2. I was all set to try hot yoga this coming saturday but I’ve been sidelined by an upper respiratory infection, boo. I practice vinyasa flow style yoga. It took me a while of doing yoga on demand/at home videos to work up the courage to get to the studio. I’ve been doing it for about a year and I would say it took me a few months to truly appreciate it.

  3. lol– I hate it when they say things like that. It just makes me think even MORE about how I can’t “empty my mind” 🙂

  4. Still haven’t tried hot yoga… but my main reason for loving the yoga I do is the combination of strength and stretching.

  5. i think yoga always seems like a great idea, but i get soooo bored! mmm, maybe i’m doing something wrong?

    that dinner looks tasty!

  6. You ARE on a roll – lots of new recipes lately for sure!

    I’ve never done yoga – only pilates!

  7. I can’t handle hot yoga, it always makes me worry that I’m going to pass out from dehydration. Normal yoga is enough for me!

    I’ve never cooked indian food, it has always, intimidated me. But that dinner looks so yummy, I’m jealous!

  8. Dinner looks fabulous- love your modifications. I love love hot yoga- it really relieves my muscles, especially after long runs

  9. I would suggest trying some on demand yoga at home… that way, you don’t have to worry about what other people think or what they might say. When you combine that with a live instructor-led class, I think that you’ll feel more comfortable. With that being said, I would also try a different type of yoga. (Look for any place in your area that has an intro special!) I love hot yoga, but it’s not the most calming.

    I have gotten to the point where I might be rushing to get to class, but when I get to class, I can totally relax. It takes awhile, but you will get there!

  10. I would LOVE to try hot yoga! I’ve been doing Vinyasa yoga one-two times a week and really, really love it. It’s enough so that I feel like I’m being stretched and working on my flexibility, but also a LOT of strength work is done. And my favorite part of all types of yoga is the final relaxation, of course. (That’s really why I go)!

  11. I’ve heard hot yoga is pretty intense, I’m still perfecting my yoga moves

  12. My best friend LOVES hot Yoga and she is trying to convince me to go with her…truth…I’m scared! haha!

  13. i really need to make indian food at home more often. looks good. i have never, EVER done yoga. weird.

  14. I used to do a lot of yoga, but then I kinda stopped because I started running. Guess I can only focus on one thing at a time!

  15. Ive tried hot yoga. Once. It scared me for like, haha!

    xox Vera

  16. I’d love to try hot yoga – only problem – the closest class is 45 minutes away from my house and its only at 7:00 a.m. on Saturdays! Um, not so much.

    My daughter and I have tried to do Yoga dvd’s but we end up laughing our asses off and never complete the tape!

    Laughing burns calories, right?!! 😀

  17. Happy bday to dad!

    I have never tried hot yoga. I really want to though! Yoga was so hard to me when I was not in good shape but now that I’m a lot stronger, I want to try to do it more seriously.