Race Weekend

I get off work at four on Fridays and really wanted to take advantage of the 70 degree weather so Jason and I, with some friends, went to Fontaine’s to sit on the patio. We took advantage of their Happy Hour Appetizer specials. (Weird side note, it’s illegal to have Happy Hour Drink Specials in Atlanta.)

Jason had half price oysters.

IMG_1174.JPG

And I had half price peel and eat shrimp.

IMG_1181.JPG

And a few hours later, we split a grilled chicken sandwich with a side of tater tots. We were home early, around nine. I had to get up early to go to my photography class field trip at Oakland Cemetery. I was there from nine to about eleven. I took a ton of pictures but only came out with a handful that I liked. I guess I’m not just going to be an instant photographer! It takes a lot of practice. Anyway, here are a few of the better shots.

IMG_1330.JPG
IMG_1354.JPG
IMG_1462.JPG

It actually wasn’t creepy at all to be traipsing through a cemetery. It was pretty relaxing just walking around. After the field trip, I drove to the Georgia Dome to pick up my number for tomorrow’s race.

IMG_1496.JPG

I also snagged about 5 mini Larabars and bought myself a 13.1 Been There Ran That magnet and some Sport Beans before I went home.

Murph and I went for about an hour Ira walk. (An Ira walk is where I walk Murphy while I listen to the latest Podcast of This American Life.) It’s really, really nice out and hard to believe that tomorrow’s weather is supposed to be so crappy. According to the latest forecast, it’s not supposed to rain until 10, so I’ll be in the clear, I hope. (Sorry Pen and Lauren! Hopefully it’ll hold off until the evening for you guys!)

I’m already thinking of how I should carbo-load for dinner. It’s either going to be pasta or pizza. What do you think?

20 responses to “Race Weekend

  1. pizza AND pasta. Just kidding! Good luck tomorrow though!
    It’s illegal to have happy hour drink specials in Mass too!

  2. Ooooh pizza! Good luck tomorro!

  3. angieinatlanta

    Pizza! I don’t know why but pizza always sits better in my tummy.

    Man, I haven’t been to Fontaine’s in forever but yesterday would have been a great day for it!

  4. Your pictures are turning our so beautiful! Good luck tomorrow!

  5. I’m just catching up on blogs – your pictures are beautiful! GOOD LUCK tomorrow! I suggest pasta – only b/c I carb loaded on pizza last night for my long run today and hit a MAJOR wall this a.m. Now all I’ve done is probably scared you. Is this your first half? Enjoy it!!

  6. Jenn Eats Nutritiously Now

    Both sound really good to me right now. I’m soooo ready for pesto-making season to be here so I can have some pesto pasta!!!

  7. Soooooooooo jealous!! Even though I didn’t run in this race last year, I did go to the expo b/c I thought I would run it and bought a number. My knee still wasn’t feeling so great so I ended up selling it a friend. So I met him there to give him the number. So this is the first year ever not going to the expo!! 😦 I walked by the mini larabar stand last year about 3 times, haha! 😉 GOOD LUCK TOMORROW!! I just saw that this is your 6th half!! That’s awesome, Lee!! 🙂 You totally deserve that magnet!! I have the same one on my car too! 😉 Pasta sounds delicious right about now.

  8. Pasta…dairy the night before race doesn’t usually sit well with me…

  9. ah! good luck with the run 🙂 Looks like a fun “happy hour”. Its actually illegal in Massachusetts to have happy hour on alcohol as well (I grew up there). The shrimp look fabulous.

  10. Love the bokeh on “Louise Wallace” and the composition of the top statue.

    I hope you have a WONDERFUL race tomorrow. I’ll be sending happy tummy and speedy leg vibes in the morning. Have fun!

  11. Congrats, Lee! I just checked the race results for you & Pen and felt like a proud mom! 🙂

  12. I can’t wait to hear how your race went! They called for showers here today but the sun is peeking through, so hopefully it’s doing the same for you in ATL. 🙂

  13. i hope the peel and eat shrimp didnt have the legs on them still. that always creeps me out. off to read the recap!

  14. I LOVE peel & eat shrimp!! Glad the race went so well. 🙂

  15. there were free lara bars at the expo? how did I miss that?!

  16. I’m drooling over that seafood!!

  17. I was just at Fontaine’s last Tuesday!! They had half price oysters all night. yum! my boyfriend and i love that place (and we actually had one of our first dates there!).