Now What?

I’m currently experiencing that post-race, now what let down. I spent the past three months training for this race and now it’s just a memory.

Of course, there are always more races. Three in the plans, in fact. Jason and I are going to run the Green…I forget what it’s called…Green Race or something. It’s a 5K on April 24th in Piedmont Park. Then there is the Skirt Chaser 5K in May and the Peachtree 10K in July. I’ve only signed up for the Peachtree out of the three but am pretty sure that I am going to do the other two.

I really do want to keep my running up. I’m giving myself a few days off though. My little toe is black and blue from the race. I think my shoes are pretty dead. Maybe I’ll buy new ones this weekend. Aside from running, I’ve decided to incorporate a new form of exercise into my life. Jason bought me the P90X for my birthday! (An early present – my birthday isn’t for another month.) It hasn’t arrived yet, but it’s a 90 day program and it’s 95 days until my wedding. Perfect! I think it’ll be a good shock to my system, especially since I tend to typically focus more on cardio. Anyone have any experience with the P90X? Jenn from Eating Bender has said good things about it on her blog. And there are a bunch of videos on Youtube that I’ve been watching that give it favorable reviews. I am a little bit concerned that doing these DVDs is going to interfere with my running. I always seem to lose my endurance after I do a big race and I would like for that not to happen this time. But maybe I should let running sit on the back burner for a little bit. I don’t know. I’ll figure it out.

You guys had some good suggestions for things that I can do to amp up my eating habits. Among them were:

1. Adding more greens.
2. Making sure my meals consist of a protein, a complex carb and one or two veggies.
3. Don’t stress too much about it!

I am trying to think more about balancing my nutrients when I plan my meals. Previously, I’d just made what sounded good, but I never really looked at the nutritional values aside from making sure the meal was relatively low in calories. I’m also trying to make sure I’m eating enough vegetables. I like vegetables but sometimes I find that I’ll go an entire day without eating any! I’m trying to incorporate them into every meal. I like to have an egg sandwich most days which I can just add some spinach too. I switched it up this morning and had a green smoothie, also with spinach.

Last night, Jason requested something Mexican so we had a Mexican Casserole:

IMG_1576.JPG

A pretty easy meal. I used Guiltless Gourmet Blue Corn Tortilla Chips. We both thought that it might taste better as nachos instead of having the chips crumbled on the top. It was on the dry side too. I’d add more salsa next time. I also sauteed some frozen mixed peppers in taco seasoning and hot sauce for a side. The peppers were sort of an afterthought when I realized that the tiny bit of salsa and corn in the casserole did not count one plus serving of vegetables. I have trouble with side dishes. I often eat one-dish meals and I would like to change that. Can anyone recommend easy vegetable side dishes?

After dinner, Jason and I watched the movie Up. Have you guys seen that? I loved it. I don’t laugh out loud at movies very often and I was laughing hysterically at the talking dogs. Mostly because we talk for Murphy all the time and he sounds like Dug in the movie. Even though it’s animated, it’s definitely worth a watch. And yes, I cried a little bit in the beginning.

30 responses to “Now What?

  1. Ooh, I can’t wait to hear what you think about P90x!! I’m pretty intimidated by it, but I know people usually get amazing results from it!

  2. Def be interested to hear what you think about P90x, I’ve been going back and forth about trying it. Good luck!

  3. I know what you mean about the let down…fortunately, i never give myself much slack time between races! Also, I’m registered for Peachtree too!

  4. My brother in law swears by the PX90. He is a personal trainer. I can’t wait until you post reviews πŸ™‚

  5. I’ve never done P90X but have a lot of friends that rave about it and have had awesome results!

  6. Hey girl! My husband is doing P90X and LOVES it. The tough thing is it is very time demanding…so it might be difficult to follow it exactly and get your runs in. I love suggestion #2- great way to get balance.

  7. angieinatlanta

    I am so jealous that you have P90X! I was literally just asking J if we could order and do it together as pre-wedding bonding/shaping up! Maybe I should just bite the bullet and do it too…

  8. I’ve never done P90X, but one of my guy friends does it and loves it. The workouts are so intense!

    The post-event (vacation, race, wedding, etc) blues are so weird! Like, you’d think that we’d spend time reflecting on our accomplishments and memories, but we’re always onto the next thing, you know?

  9. I would die to try P90X. I’ve heard it can get expensive though. The DVD’s arent too bad, but the equipment necessary can be a lot. At least, that’s what I’ve been told.

    • It hasn’t arrived yet, but I think that all you need are weights and a pull up bar (which I don’t have).

    • I got the Iron Gym off of Amazon for about 20 bucks, I think. Make sure you have a doorway that will accommodate it. That and a set of 20 and 30 lb dumbells are what I had to buy (I already had the 5, 10, and 15). Worth every penny!

  10. I LOVE p90x!!! It’s hard core but so effective. I had just read “New Rules of Lifting for Women” and it’s basically telling women to lift heavy for best results that won’t turn us into amazon Arnolds. So when I tried p90x, I started off with real weights and increased accordingly. I’m still trying to do a full 90 days of it, though. I do not do the cardio kenpo stuff because I run on those days. The yoga is good, but it’s a long session. Yoga really helps with the soreness. Good luck with it! I’m interested in your thoughts on it.

  11. I’ve heard really good things about the movie “Up” AND p90x! I’m excited to hear your thoughts on the workout. Especially post-race. I know that “let down” feeling and I’ve yet to come up with a solution for it. 😦

  12. sweetdealbakery

    Oh my gosh, I want to dive in and eat the Mexican Casserole. Holy Yum!!

    Can’t wait to hear how P90x goes. I’ve wanted to try it, but didn’t want to fork over the cash.

  13. I loved “Up” as well! We saw it in the theater last summer when I was preggo — haven’t been to the theater since πŸ™‚

    Good luck with your new goals! It can be tough re-discovering motivation after a big race is over. I have been suffering fromt he same let down for the past two weeks.

  14. I have heard great things about P90X and I think since it is mostly a weight workout with a few cardio DVDs you could fit in a COUPLE of runs along with it. I personally think it would be fun to go a whole different approach and see what it does for you though. πŸ™‚

    And for the food. I think veggies at EVERY meal is a bit overboard in my opinion. It would just stress me to have to focus on that. I do shoot for a fruit or veggie with every meal though…fruit with breakfast and snacks, veggies with lunches and dinners and I think I get plenty of balance.

  15. I have only heard good things about P90X! I’m anxious to see what you think about it.

    I want to see “Up”! I’ve heard it’s really funny, but is sad, too. I’m a sucker for animations and “kid” movies – I actually watched “Princess and the Frog” (um…with my nieces and nephew) this weekend and it’s hilarious!

  16. P90X is AWESOME…you will really like it and it will defintiely shock your system! haha!

  17. I very much cried at up!!

    So glad you’re trying P90 – great b-day present – hope you like it and the timing couldn’t be more dead on!

    I like your ideas with food – I tend to have one-dish meals as well and am trying to at least weave in a salad!

  18. I definitely experienced the “now what” factor after my last race. I’m excited to start training for my 15k and half once I get back from the honeymoon. Btw, P90x rocks. I haven’t followed the program but my stepmom has and she lost 20 pounds and looks amazing! I got it for my fiance and have done the yoga- it is difficult! I think you will really like it.

  19. Nice on the P90x gift! Though – I’m such a Cathe die-hard that I veer towards STS before P90x for a few reasons…but NOT to rain on your parade, I have heard that P90X gets the job done too. πŸ˜‰ I’m just a Cathlete by nature, what can I say?? 95 days until the big day, AWESOME!!

    • I don’t know what STS is. The only reason I knew about P90X was I get sucked into those infomericals!

      • STS stands for Shock Training System and is sorta similar to P90X…STS is a three month series of workouts, first one is about endurance (lighter weight, more reps), second is about hypertrophy (muscle definition – so its heavier weight, less reps) and the third is about building strength (so heaviest weights, least amount of reps, longest rest between sets). AWESOME and totally kicks your butt, in my experience πŸ™‚

  20. I’ve never given the P90x a try but I would love to hear about it if you do πŸ™‚ I have heard many great things before. It seems that you are very level headed about your eating habits. I just try to focus on getting enough fruits, veggies (and chocolate.. oops did i say that? haha) in for the day and the rest evens itself out. Hope you enjoy your evening! xoxo

  21. I’ve heard great things about P90x so I’m interested to hear what you say. I just worry about the commitment πŸ™‚

    I think my invites will go out beginning of May ish? We are doing a calligrapher and inner envelopes because my mom is very traditional, but it’s definitely a massive waste of money haha

  22. i havent done p90x but the insanity DVDs rock my worrrrld. i hear they are similar!