Back to it

My post-race workout hiatus is over. I packed a bag to take to work in case I felt like working out at lunch and turns out that I did. I was kind of stressing out about wedding related stuff (nothing in particular, just getting a bit overwhelmed) and felt like a good sweat session might help. Indeed it did. I did a 25 minute Fit Sugar Elliptical Workout and then the following upper body moves:

• decline pushups (on my knees) – 3 sets of 12
• chest press – 25 lbs, 3 sets of 12
• shoulder press – 20 lbs, 3 sets of 10, 1 set of 8
• bent over rows – 10 lbs, 3 sets of 12, each side
• one arm tricep extension – 7.5 lbs, 2 sets of 10, each arm
• 21s, 20 lbs, 2 sets of 21

I have a feeling this is nothing compared to the P90X. It arrived today and I think I’ll start either Friday or Saturday. I’m still trying to figure out a schedule where I can incorporate running into the program. I’m not sure if I have to do the workouts every day to see results and also how strictly I have to follow the nutrition plan. I also don’t have a chin up bar. I can’t do a chin up anyway. I just hang there! Can anyone do one?

I set up a flickr account if anyone is interested. Actually, it’s really old, but I started putting some newer pictures on it recently. Click here if you want to see it.

Sorry, this is a boring post! I am not feeling very writerly tonight. Yes, I know writerly isn’t a word.

19 responses to “Back to it

  1. I think I can do 2… maybe. I think about what I used to be able to do when I was a gymnast and I cry, 50 regular pushups, pull ups, it was insane!

  2. I have absolutely no upper body strength. My legs are okay but it’s really embarrassing to lift weights SOMETIMES at the gym and look like a total fool (or at least feel like a fool).

  3. GORGEOUS pictures! Murphy is sooo cute 🙂

    I cannot do a chin up! I just hang there, too…and even that is hard! Pathetic! I looked at the P90X nutrition plan and it seemed really low carb. If you do add in running, I would up the carbs. Just my RD $0.02 : )

    P.S. Thanks for your comment yesterday — so sweet and means so much ❤

  4. OOOOO the PX has arrived. Can’t wait to hear what you think.

  5. I’m looking forward to seeing what you think about P90x. If you like it then I will probably like it, so I’ll have to break down and finally order it! 😉

  6. YAY! Welcome back! 🙂

  7. i can do real pushups (usually i do 2 sets of 12) but NO WAY can i do a chinup! must be different muscles.

  8. Chin-ups remind me of those fitness tests that we had to do in elementary school! Do you know what I’m talking about? I could never touch my toes or do a chin-up. lol

  9. I would LOVE to be able to do a chin up one day. They have the machine at the gym that lets you do “assisted” chin ups (or maybe it’s pull ups? I get them confused), but I’ve never tried it. I need to bite the bullet and just ask someone to teach me how to use it! I don’t even know of anyone who has a chin up bar in their house?!

  10. I have a dream…to be able to do a chin up. Someday.

  11. Nice Upper body workout! Way to sneak it in at lunch 🙂
    Sorry about the wedding-related stress.

  12. Excited to hear what you think of P90X. I am so tempted to do it but scared at the same time!

  13. Man, you’re gonna have some guns after that!

  14. cant wait to hear what you think of p90x!!!

  15. peanutbutterfingers

    that sounds like a great workout! hope you love P90x! i’ve never tried it but have heard great things.

  16. You Flickr photos are SO lovely! You’re really talented.