Wedding Shape Up Plan

I just made a wedding-shape up training plan in iCal. I’m going to do the P90X in the suggested order but I’m going to substitute running for the cardio DVDs. I’ve consulted a few people who have done that and they said it worked out well for them. I was going to start the DVDs today but it’s just easier for me to start on a Monday so that’s what I’ll do. I am going to put them into the DVD player to get a general feel for what they’ll be like this weekend. I plan to take before and after pictures. I am hesitant to post them because right now I’m not so comfortable with how I look in a bathing suit and don’t want the entire interwebs to see me! But if there is a big change, I most post pictures for comparison. We’ll see.

I just want to say that right now I’m okay with what I look like. If my measurements are the exact same come June 26th, that is okay with me. I will not be upset or mad at myself. I am at currently at a healthy weight. I could stand to lose 10 pounds, but my BMI is normal right now. I’m not concerned with the number on the scale so much as I would like to gain muscle tone, especially in my arms. I don’t have much upper body muscle at all. Part of that is just my body makeup. I have a hard time putting on muscle in general. My mother also has no upper body strength. But another part of me is that since certain moves are very hard for me *coughpushupscough* I just don’t do them. I know, I know.

So that’s the plan for the next three months. If anyone wants to see my actual workout schedule, I can email it to you, but I can’t imagine that it’d be interesting! I’m eager to see how it pans out. After the wedding, who knows? Maybe I’ll train for another distance race again. After the wedding seems so far away, but like my half-marathon last weekend, one day it’ll just be a memory too. Weird.

After work today, Jason and I went to the gym. He has been diligently following the Couch to 5K plan and is on week 5. I am very proud that he’s kept up with it and am excited to run a 5K with him at the end of next month. I did 4 x 400 at 6.7mph with 3.5 walks in between. My ipod was completely dead when I got on the treadmill which made for a boring half hour.

We had TJ’s pizza dough in the fridge that really needed to be used and went back and forth about whether we were too lazy to make homemade pizza. There was nothing else in the house that I really wanted, so I decided to suck it up and make the pizza. It was worth the extra effort.

IMG_1585.JPG

This pizza had tomato sauce, sundried tomatoes, goat cheese, mozzarella cheese and spinach. Yum. I’m going to catch up on blogs and maybe watch a Netflix DVD. We have The Curious Case of Benjamin Button. I heard it kinda sucks though.

13 responses to “Wedding Shape Up Plan

  1. angieinatlanta

    I totally feel the same way about my upper body before the wedding. Like, I’m fine with my body in general but I would love some upper arm definition to show off in my wedding dress. I’m trying to incorporate more strength training in my routine but like you, I just don’t do things that are too “hard” for me!

    Good look on your plans! I’ll be interested to share your journey!

  2. hooray for wedding shape ups! right there with you! that is so funny that you posted that photo.

    have a great weekend!!!!

  3. It was always (and is still sometimes) hard for me to get motivated to strength train…I think because I just naturally don’t have a lot of strength (read: I am weak!). But it has gotten easier, and going up in weights (or pushups) is a HUGE motivator. You kind of feel bad ass. 🙂

    I can’t wait to hear what you think of Benjamin Button…I want to see it, but my sister watched it recently and fell asleep!?

  4. I hear ya, I could stand to lose 10 lbs too, but in no means is my BMI out of control, it would just make me feel better for summer. Good luck with your wedding shape up! That pizza looks goooood.

  5. You have a great mindset about your wedding shape-up plan. I need to do a summer shape-up plan.

    MMMMmmmmm, your pizza looks great!! 🙂

  6. That is how I do p90x. I lift about 3 times a week and run 5-6 days. So on some days, I’ll do a run and lift workout but it hasn’t been too much of an ordeal. I try to do arm/shoulder workouts on my lowest mileage days and save the back and legs for a non-running day. I have done back/legs in the morning then a run at night and it just wasn’t pretty.

    • That’s pretty hardcore. I’m going to try to lift and run on different days. Did u follow the nutrition plan at all?

      Sent from my iPhone

  7. I hear you- my wedding feels far away but I know its going to come in a second.

    I’m really interesting to hear how the p90x goes for you. I think its a great idea to sub the cardio dvds for running. One of the major reasons I haven’t tried P90x is because there are so many exercise classes and things that I like to do and don’t want to give up to commit to one program.

  8. Thats the nice thing about Beachbody plans. You can mix and match them, substitute here and there. I’ve got 3 different work outs from them and I mix and match them all the time. I dont care how much someones worked out, they are bound to learn new stuff.

    Congrats by the way!

  9. sounds like a good plan! i agree that if i could make over one body part it would be my arms 🙂 the p90x stuff sounds intense — i am pretty certain i would absolutely hate it. i admire you for having the dedication to go for it, though!

    as for me i think i’ll just deal with my arms, do as much strength training as i can handle without misery and focus on parts of my body i like more. life is too short for me to spend time doing exercise i can’t stand. plus, there’s always lipo! (KIDDING.)

  10. woo hoo! good luck with p90x. i just decided to stop doing them today, lol. it’s good though. i think you’ll like it. i think most of the results ppl get in the infomercials have a lot to do with the nutrition plan so if you want to get really toned, I would suggest following it. I got stronger for sure but not more toned. Then again I was on a “weight gain” plan. I could barely do a pull up before and now I can stand to do a few 😦 yay! good luck and can’t wait to see your progress!

  11. Kudos to you for actually doing a treadmill workout without the Ipod. I cannot do that. I will turn around and leave the gym if I was planning on treadmilling and I find out I don’t have music.