Oatmeally Challenged

Do you ever spend Sunday night dreading Monday so badly that when it actually comes, it’s never as bad as you’d thought? That happens to me every single week. You’d think I’d learn by now. I’m not sure why I get the Sunday blues so badly, but I do. Anyway, now that it’s actually Monday night, I feel much better.

It was bound to happen. After eating an egg sandwich nearly every morning for the past six months or longer, I got sick of them. So I attempted to make oatmeal. I am oatmeally challenged. I did it on the stove top because everyone says that it tastes better than in the microwave. I used 1/2 cup rolled oats, 1 cup skim milk, a pinch of salt and half a banana. The oats were too watery (or milky, rather) and although they weren’t bad, they were just sort of meh. My other problem with the oatmeal was that it was too hot. That’s my fault since I’m always in such a hurry in the mornings, but I burned the top of my mouth. I even stuck the bowl in the freezer for a second to no avail. I always read about these great oatmeal concoctions that people are making. What’s the secret??

Unfortunately, dinner was not much better. I made an old standby, a tortilla pizza, but it was sub-par.

IMG_1804.JPG

The problem was definitely the crust. I’m normally a fan of La Tortilla brand tortillas but bought another brand (Ole) on a whim. Well, not a whim, but they were cheaper. They were not better. Live and learn. I also had some roasted broccoli and artichokes on the side.

IMG_1809.JPG

After dinner, Jason and I went to the gym. I did the p90x chest and back workout there. That worked out really well since I was able to use the assisted pull up machine for the pull up exercises. I spent about 45 minutes there. I am really looking forward to the day when I can do real push ups! Jason completed a 20 minute run as part of the Couch to 5K. Yay Jason. I’m looking forward to running a 5K with him on April 24th.

18 responses to “Oatmeally Challenged

  1. angieinatlanta

    You know what? I kind of don’t get the whole oatmeal thing. Yes, it’s filling and yes, it’s good for you but whenever I make it, I just like it. I never love it. I can never get it “whipped” or “creamy.” It’s always kind of…gelled together. No matter what I do. It looks so fun on other blogs but I’m just not an oatmeal girl.

    I totally get the Sunday night blues, too and it’s so true; Monday is never as bad as I think it will be. Same with doctor’s appointments. I will dread them like crazy and they always turn out just fine.

  2. I actually prefer making my oats in the microwave. I like the consistency better. And I only use water… I don’t like the way they taste with milk. I would love to have breakfast at Kath’s house one day and have her make me some of her oats. I have a feeling that would be the best bowl of oats in the world!!

    I’ve had the ole wraps too and you’re right, they’re not as good as the la tortilla wraps.

  3. I always have a case of the Sunday blues! I dread Monday, but for no real reason… it’s just because I know that it’s Monday. Maybe we should start looking at it as the start of a new week, instead of doomsday. 😉

    I eat oatmeal almost every morning. I combine oats, cinnamon, and milk (like 1/4 c) the night before, add hot water in the morning (from the coffee machine at work) and microwave for 90 seconds. Not exactly creamy or decadent, but it works for me!

  4. I love my oats on the stove. I let it cook on low for a long time. That’s when it gets really thick.

    Stick with P90X and you’ll be doing push-ups in no time. I was able to do one handed AND the plyo pushups by like week 5 or 6!

  5. I wish I can say oatmeal is overrated! To hell with oatmeal!

    But I can’t. Because, oatmeal really is the shiz! I love it. I eat it everyday, because I can never get sick of it. But…I eat it for dinner. And I leave it on the stove to cool for awhile. And I tend to try to burn the edges a bit, so I get a bit of a crust. And girl, you gotta add vanilla extract, and toppings, like nuts, nuts, nuts. nuts is the best, because you get contrasting texture of the crunchy and the chewy and the creamy…

    haha, that was my little ode to oats, right there. Personally, I like to flavor mine with green tea powder. I’m not much of a banana fan.

  6. haha i love your title. but i love oatmeal.. i think the key to stovetop oats is patience, i usually let them simmer for 20 minutes or so, so all the liquid is soaked up. glad you guys can work out together!

  7. I love to make my oats in the micro, then I can control the temp a little bit and I don’t have to sit there and stir, stir, stir.

  8. If you make them on the stove, you need at good ten minutes of cooking time after the oats go in the boiling water. And since I like mine piping hot, they go for a 30 second spin in the microwave once they are out of the pan. Don’t give up – savory oats are worth the time!

  9. I have oatmeal every morning for breakfast, but I have to microwave them since I eat at work. I do make them on the stove when I make savory oats for dinner, and they are good. I completely agree about the temperature, too. I make them and then let them sit for at least 10 minutes before diving in! But it’s good (for me) because it forces me to eat slowly.

    Do you cook your banana in with the oats? When I microwave them, I actually put the banana in there with the oats and water. Looks weird, but then I mix it all up and it’s DELICIOUS – if you like bananas, which I do! And the riper the better.

  10. I don’t like stovetop oats either. Microwave tastes better to me for some reason.
    I liked the ole wraps, but I’ve never had the brand you mentioned.

  11. I don’t get the whole oatmeal craze, I would much rather eat something else for breakfast. I hate when food is disappointing though, so I totally feel ya.

  12. I do steel cut oats in the crockpot…and they always come out super creamy! 🙂

  13. I’m not a big fan of rolled oats (except for savory oats, that is!!) for breakfast but I do LOVE steel cut oats ala overnight oats – with some cinnamon, raisins and banana on top! If you’ve never tried it, I say give it a shot, I am IN LOVE with them. They stick with me for breakfast like nothing else!

  14. I definitely agree that oatmeal can be tricky to make – I think I finally got it down after about 1 year of trying to figure out the timing (had to learn the best setting with my microwave). I even discovered that the temp of the water that you put in makes a difference with the timing in the microwave.

    Although must admit that once you get it down they are really good – we top ours with either blueberries or bananas with a sprinkle of a mixture of Truvia and Cinnamon to add a little sweetness! 🙂

    Also love the La Tortilla low carb tortillas too!
    Definitely agree that they are perfect for pizzas although we actually use the wraps for all of my meals too – breakfast (egg burritos), lunch (all types of wraps such as turkey, veggie..etc) and dinner although they can be also used for snacks (you just have to get creative).

    Just in case you are interested and like veggies on your pizza, we list one of my favorite recipes (Italian Veggie Pizza) on our site.
    Hope you like the recipe! Thanks for great post and forward to reading more!

  15. I am DEFINITELY the same way about Sundays- I get in a bad mood just thinking about Monday. I mean Mondays are not great, but not worth getting in a bad mood after.

    I love oatmeal but I cook it in the microwave. For me the key has been to just cover the oatmeal with water, rather than really putting twice as much water as oatmeal. That makes the consistency I like. I have also been adding egg whites and pumpkin to my oatmeal lately and it’s yummy.

  16. I’m a Sunday blues girl too…unless I had a super productive weekend. It’s super nerdy, but that means I’d so much rather spend the weekend taking care of business than relaxing…

    Anyway, if you find the secret to the ever elusive blog-delish oatmeal, let me know. mine usually ends up a congealed blob.

  17. Oh oatmeal! I’ve found that the addins really make the oatmeal. I love using fresh fruit (banana is a default). If you are running late on time, try making over night oats and taking them to work so you don’t rush through breakfast. If you mix like 1/3 cup oats, 1/2 cup greek yogurt, 1/2 banana and leave in the fridge overnight. Then add some PB, etc in the morning, you’ve got a quick oatmeal breakfast.

    And maybe oatmeal isn’t your thing, try making a huge batch of breakfast burritos (http://www.recipezaar.com/recipe/Breakfast-Burritos-Once-a-Month-Cooking-30165). You can make a ton of them then freeze the leftovers for a quick breakfast!

    Good luck on your breakfast quest!!