Tomato Bean

I tried a different variation of oatmeal this morning. Last night, I combined a half cup of oats with a half cup of milk and stuck it in the fridge. This morning, most of the milk had evaporated into the oats and I combined it all with some plain greek yogurt. Then I added stevia, cinnamon and spoonful of Naturally More Peanut Butter. This was okay. Still not phenomenal. I’ll keep trying. I’m just really sick of eggs. For the most part, I try not to keep dry cereal in the house because it’s one of those foods that I cannot stop eating. So I need to figure out what to have for breakfast. Maybe I’ll do instant oatmeal. I like that better. I know it has more sugar, but if I get the lower sugar variety, maybe that’s not so bad.

For dinner tonight, I made this tomato bean mixture with bulgur wheat and green beans.

IMG_1821.JPG

Close up on the bean mixture.

IMG_1819.JPG

This was basically a bunch of stuff that I had in my cabinet that I threw together. I based it off another recipe very loosely.

Bean Tomato Stew? Sauce?
Serves 4

1/2 red onion, chopped
1 tbsp olive oil
1 tsp minced garlic
1 can cannelini beans, rinsed and drained
1 can diced chili-ready tomatoes
about 6 artichoke hearts, chopped
1 tbsp lemon juice
1/2 tbsp oregano
salt and pepper to taste

1. Saute the onion and garlic in the olive oil. 2. Add the rest, mix until heated through.

I paired it with bulgur wheat and canned green beans. I’ll admit it, sometimes I like the canned variety. I have a bunch of extra bulgur wheat leftover (cooked). Maybe I can make some sort of breakfast out of it? I’ll try tomorrow. It’s worth a shot.

I’m having a bit of trouble with running motivation. This always happens to me when I’m not training for something. That little voice in my mind says, “You don’t have to run tonight.” and there is no other voice telling me, “If you don’t run, you won’t be trained.” I made myself go run tonight even though I really wanted to go to sleep on the couch. The run went well. I did 3.5 miles in 35:45. This includes 3 minutes of walking for a warm-up. I always include my 3-minute warmup as part of my total mileage. It’s never been a problem in a race, where I don’t walk the first three minutes. Anyway, I did 3 minutes walking, then ran at 6.0 until I hit 3 miles and then ran at 6.7 for the last half mile. I’m trying to make my “default” speed 6.0. By default speed, I mean the speed that I can run relatively comfortably at but not feel like I’m running too slow. Basically my regular run speed. It’s been around 5.7 or 5.8 for a while now, but I’m trying to make myself into a regular 10 minute miler. Or better!

The vet just called finally. Murphy has a histiocytoma. Don’t google it, it’s gross. It’s a benign tumor that’s sort of common in dogs. The vet said to just watch it for six months and that we don’t need to get it removed or anything.

15 responses to “Tomato Bean

  1. What about an english muffin with PB or cream cheese and a piece of fruit on the side for breakfast? That’s one of my go-to breakfasts – quick, easy, and healthy!

  2. Frankie (my cat) had something similar. In fact, the vet said it was something that dogs usually get so it may be the same thing. When they use those fancy names, all I hears is “blah blah blah”. We had Frankie’s removed because it was at the base of his ear flap and he kept pawing at it so we knew it was either irritating or hurting him. Glad to know its nothing serious!

    Breakfast–due to the hot weather all of a sudden, I’m eating half pb sandwiches and fruit smoothies. I love oatmeal, but I’m not craving it lately.

  3. sorry, I can’t leave that one alone.

    It should be “all I HEAR” I think it’s time to call it a night here. πŸ˜€

  4. I’m glad Murphy’s gonna be ok!

  5. Aww, poor Murphy! For breakfast I like making PB waffle sandwiches. Toast two waffles, add T (or so) of PB and sliced banana, smush together, and voila quick breakfast!

  6. I am so glad that Murphy is going to be okay!! πŸ™‚ Hang in there with the running motivation…we all go through slumps! πŸ™‚

  7. YUMMMMY dinner. I love a good bean mix. Glad the puppers is ok (major phew). Sorry you’re feeling a little running slump. Maybe adding in a new cross training activity would get you out of it??

  8. I’m the same way if I’m not training for something, which is why I like this one book I have. It not only gives race training plans, but training plans to increase your fitness level, so you always feel like you’re working towards a goal. Glad Murphy is going to be ok!

  9. Glad Murphy is going to be okay! That is a huge relief to know what it is, and that you can keep an eye on it.

  10. Glad that the vet said that Murphy will be okay!

    When I started to read your post, I thought you were going to say that you put tomatoes and beans in your oatmeal. re: breakfast- Do you like toast w/ pb, and fruit on the side?

  11. I had a ton of trouble getting in any workouts after my competition because the motivation just wasn’t there. Since then, I have just started going to classes so I don’t have to think about what I am going to do in a workout and I just have to showup. I wish I could tell you something that could help with motivation. I guess the biggest tip would be to just do it for a week or two and then you will be more motivated again?

  12. thank you for telling me not to google it. i am glad you know what is up and that he will be ok. the bean dish looks really good! sorry you dont like oatmeal. but maybe you just will have to give up on it like i gave up on sweet cottage cheese, hah. i wonder what else you could have for bfast.. protein smoothies?

  13. One of my friend’s dogs had the same thing. It’s been there now for years and has caused her no harm. But, I think it’s cute thatyou instructed us not to Google it πŸ™‚

  14. I know I have seen Meghann eat Bulgar Wheat for breakfast, maybe try searching her blog for inspiration?

    I like to make overnight oats with only yogurt, no milk. What about a breakfast cookie?