Busy Month

The month of April is seriously going to fly by! All of a sudden, the wedding seems very close. For a long time, it seemed like it was far in the future, but now it’s really coming up. You know what’s even weirder? If we hadn’t of changed the wedding date (due to my father’s surgery recovery – you can read about it here), it would have been this weekend! Crazy. Instead of getting married this weekend, Jason and I are going to hike up Kennesaw Mountain. He actually has a weekend day (Sunday) off, so we came up with something out of the ordinary to do. It’s supposed to be great weather – 74 and sunny. Although the pollen is a bit out of control. Seriously, today’s pollen count is 5733. Anything over 120 is considered extremely high. This happens every Spring. People always say that if you don’t have allergies, move to Atlanta and you will. My car is a lovely shade of yellow right now, as is everyone else’s in this city.

This is what the rest of my busy month looks like so far, and I’m sure other things will come up:

April 13th – My office is throwing me and Jason a wedding shower. Whenever an employee is getting married or having a baby, upper management takes us all out to lunch (and pays for it) and people bring gifts. Having worked here for over three years, I’ve been to my fair share of showers. It’s really nice to finally be having my own!

April 15th – Fly to DC after work.

April 16th – We have a food and cake tasting at the hotel at 1 pm. After that, I’m meeting with our officiant for a bit to discuss the ceremony. I wish that Jason was going to be there to give his input, but he only has two weeks of vacation for the year whereas I have three. Plus, since he works weekends, he’d have to take three days off, not one like me. The officiant is a judge that was recommended to my mother. Jason and I were both pretty adamant about having a non-religious ceremony. Although, I do want to include the Jewish custom of breaking a glass. (Jason is not Jewish if you were wondering. For some reason, a lot of people ask me that.)

April 17th – I have a dress fitting appointment at 11 am that I’m going to with my mom and Eva, my matron of honor. I don’t remember why, but Eva wasn’t able to come when I picked the dress out, so it’ll be nice to have here there too. She’s also like 4 or 5 months pregnant and isn’t going to fit into HER dress anymore, but that’s a whole different story that we’re working on resolving.

April 18th – Fly back to Atlanta. I don’t have my flight info in front of me, but I think I scheduled my flight early in the afternoon so I would have some time to relax before heading into Monday. At least, I hope I had the foresight to do that.

April 21st – My birthday! How am I turning 32 already?! At least I look young, right? All that stuff they say about enjoying your 30’s is totally true. I like who I am and my life much more now than say, seven years ago, when I was 25. Although the fact that I was 25 seven years ago kinda freaks me out! Anyone else graduate high school in the 90s? 1996, baby.

April 24th – Jason and I are running the Green Dash 5K in Piedmont Park. Two of our other friends said that they’d do it with us although as of now, they haven’t signed up. After the race, in the afternoon, we’re going to go to the Inman Park Festival and then probably out for drinks/dinner after that to celebrate my birthday. I’m not sure where yet, but if any of you Atlanta girls want to stop by for a drink with me, I’m all for it!

I have a lot on my plate, but it’s all fun stuff so I’m looking forward to it all. I know that we’re already a week in, but I think April is going to be a good month. I think I suffer from Seasonal Disorder or whatever it’s called. As soon as it gets nice out and lighter later, my mood improves ten-fold. Plus, and this is probably more in my head than anything, I feel like my arm muscles are bigger.

Thanks for all the breakfast recommendations. I’ll try the English muffin with PB and fruit next time I go to the grocery store. I like that idea. I’ll try some of the others too.

21 responses to “Busy Month

  1. Wow..you ARE busy! Hang in there!

  2. Woah, you sure do have lots of stuff going on!! It’s all so exciting though!! 🙂 I’m totally the same, now that the weather is sunny and warmer, I’m in SUCH a better mood.

  3. Enjoy these last weeks before the wedding!! It will definitely be here before you know it! And BREATHE!!

  4. Oh wow! That is a busy month! And eep on the pregnant matron of honor. My friend who is getting married is already nervous about my dress. I told her I was planning on ordering it big just in case. LOL

    Hey, we may be going for a hike this weekend too and I was thinking of Kennesaw!

    • Ugh, I know. The dress fits her right now, but it’s snug. There is no way it’s going to fit her in 2.5 months! J. Crew said they’ll provide her with extra fabric though so she can have a tailor take it out.

      Maybe we’ll run into each other at the mountain!

  5. Wow you are going to be busy! It’s gonna go by so fast, enjoy it, and then you’ll be married 🙂

  6. Class of ’98, baby!

    Wow, you really do have a busy month. But at least it’s all exciting things going on!

  7. 1994! I didn’t realize you were 32. You do look young, but in a great way 🙂

  8. Ohmgosh. Exciting times ahead of you! I’m so excited for you! I cannot wait to go along with you in this hectic (but blissful) journey!

  9. Oh my gosh you have a busy month! Sounds great, though. Enjoy this time in your life 🙂

  10. Busy month ahead of you! You’re getting married in DC/Maryland right?

  11. You DO have a crazy month! Wowzers!!

  12. How is it even possible for the pollen count to be so high?! I saw that on someone’s facebook update and it sounded too crazy to be true!

    I couldn’t help but laugh (b/c it was funny how you threw that in there!) when I read that your arm muscles are bigger. 🙂

  13. The pollen count in Charlotte is crazy high too… Every car has yellow dust all over it. It’s kind of funny to see when you’re driving down the highway 🙂 So I guess that Atlanta and CHarlotte are strikingly similar according to allergies.. my husband’s are going crazy. You do have a crazy busy month. My only advice is to enjoy the ride and try to breathe every once in awhile. xoxo

  14. You DO have a lot on your plate, girl – wow! Quite the whirlwind but definitely good, fun wedding stuff – so glad work is throwing you a shower – hope you get some good stuff! 🙂 Have a great weekend away – sounds awesome! I was this close to graduating HS in the 90’s – I wrapped up in 2000!

  15. OMG, you and I are just one day apart in age! I turn 32 on the 22nd! (And interestingly, I have a couin whose b-day is the 21st also.)

    That does sound like a busy month ahead of you! best of luck with it all!

  16. Class of ’98!!!!

    Have a jolly time with all of the upcoming events/celebrations and such, in the upcoming month. (I have no idea why I used “jolly” but we gotta’ keep things interesting, right?)