MIA

Oops, guess I went MIA for a bit. Jason had yesterday off so we spent the day together. We had originally planned to go hiking at Kennesaw Mountain, but then decided to look at houses with our realtor instead. We still haven’t heard back from the short sale house and if they decline or counter our offer after April 30th, we’re SOL on the tax credit. We decided to look in a suburb that is pretty close to where we were looking. Originally I was completely against living outside of the perimeter, but where we were originally looking was like a quarter mile inside so there’s not really any difference. ATL peeps – what do you think of Tucker? We found a really nice house there.

I went on a tangent there. My point was that we spent all morning with our realtor and then I got into some family drama for a while and by the time we realized it, it was almost 2pm and we hadn’t eaten lunch. We decided to scrap the Kennesaw Mountain plan and took Murphy to Piedmont Park instead. We stopped at Trader Joe’s beforehand to get some snacks. We just hung out at the park for a while.

I’m not sure why my arm looks so mis-shaped in this picture! Or why Murphy looks like he’s been hitting the bong.

IMG_1868.JPG

Jason and Murphy.

IMG_1890.JPG

We had a good time although Murphy got a bit hot. Although I was pre-occupied by the above mentioned family drama.

This morning, I wanted savory oats again and had a total oatmeal FAIL. I decided that I would use 1/2 cup oats and 1 cup of water this time since 1/3 cup oats wasn’t enough. I cooked it for the same amount of time and it was like all slimy when it was done. So I tried to cook it for another two minutes and it blew up all over the microwave. I lost all my oatmeal and ended up eating cottage cheese mixed with chocolate protein powder, naturally more, dry oats and frozen berries. I swear that’s better than it sounds.

For dinner tonight, I made Kung Pao tofu which I served with brown rice. I followed the recipe exactly but didn’t put peanuts on top.

IMG_1902.JPG

I really enjoyed this dish and it was easy to make. Jason is a big fan of Kung Pao Chicken so I thought this would be a good healthy alternative. I could make it with chicken too, but I happened to have a block of tofu in the fridge.

So, good news. My dad has been released from the hospital. He still has to go meet with his surgeon tomorrow cause they still aren’t sure what was wrong with him, but apparently they thought he was okay enough to go home.

15 responses to “MIA

  1. Ugh, hate when oatmeal explodes. Not cool. Glad you had the day off and were able to snap some adorable family photos at the park!! πŸ™‚

    Not sure about Tucker. I’m really not familiar with that area at all. Sorry!

  2. Oooh how fun, I love looking at houses!

  3. haha Murphy does look a little high. But in a totally cute way, of course. πŸ™‚

    I’m glad to hear that about your dad! What a relief he can go home.

  4. Awwww, Murphy is such a good lookin’ dog. So glad that your dad has been released!!

  5. I’m not familiar with Tucker- I just looked at it on a map but ended up kind of confused as to where it is. If it’s where you want to be and you love the house, then go for it!

    Ugh- I hate it when my oatmeal blows up in the microwave!

  6. I am SO happy your Dad was released!!! πŸ™‚ You family is so cute!

  7. Yay for things looking up with your dad! I cracked up when I read your comment about “Murphy hitting the bong.”

  8. angieinatlanta

    Yay! So glad to hear about your dad!

    Tucker’s really not that far out; I think it’s totally manageable. πŸ™‚

  9. So glad to hear your dad was released! Such good news

  10. SO glad your dad was released from the hospital!

    And good luck with the house search, I know how stressful that is too!

  11. I’m glad that your father is doing better!

    Have you tried overnight oats? No microwave involved and losing oats. Personally, it makes my life so much easier πŸ™‚

  12. Glad to hear that your dad is doing better! Good luck with the continued house hunt!

  13. I have a friend that is trying to sell his house. He’s on one acre, 3 bedrooms, 2.5 baths, and he is trying sell it through short sale. Oh, he also lives in a gated neighborhood with 50-ish miles worth of roads and most of them have side walks (great for running). There are also two lakes, and a beach. I think Murphy would love playing there.

    But I think its slightly outside of your distance requirements. Carroll County/Villa Rica. Probably a little further than you want to drive…