Wedding Shower and grilling

I had my first wedding related celebration today. My office threw me a shower. We went to the Cheesecake Factory. Jason was also invited. I am not really very comfortable as the center of attention so that was sort of hard to get used to but I had a good time and got lots of nice presents. I had the Ahi Tuna salad. It actually wasn’t anything wrote writing home about and I think I’ve ordered it before and thought that too. Oh well.

After work, Jason and I went to my friend Erin’s house and grilled some food by her pool. We had portobello mushrooms:

IMG_1935.JPG

and grilled veggies. Erin and Jason also had a burger and there was a fish burger that no one really liked. (I’m allowed to say that because it was just from Whole Foods, no one made it!)

IMG_1937.JPG

Before we ate, I was sitting on the pool steps with Erin’s two-year old daughter putting our feet in the pool. She went to touch the water with her hand and sort of toppled over into it! Of course, I immediately scooped her up and got her out, but I’m like, “How am I watching a kid and she immediately falls into the pool?? I’m going to be a horrible mother one day!” I made it up to her by taking pictures of her wearing a lego box as a hat. And doing the can-can with her mother, although we don’t have any pictures of that!

IMG_1946.JPG

So that was my day. As you can see, no exercise, but what are you going to do? I’ll do it tomorrow. I’m trying to write thank you notes to my co-workers and running into the same problem that I do every time I try to handwrite something. First of all my handwriting is awful but second of all, I am left-handed and the ink always smudges!!

Are you a lefty or a righty?

23 responses to “Wedding Shower and grilling

  1. I love grilled food. The smokiness just gives it so much more flavor!

    I am a righty but I totally wish I was ambidextrous. This would have been extremely helpful in high school and college during long essay exams. Omg…my hand hurts just thinking about it.

  2. Sounds like a nice day! I am NOT good with being the center of attention and wedding showers, while greatly appreciated, were a huge source of anxiety for me. I literally had to get pep talks each time.

    How fun to grill out with friends. I love grillin veggies and portabellas!

  3. Awww, lol at the baby thing– that would TOTALLY happen to me too. How nice that your office threw you a shower!

  4. YAY for the first wedding event! How fun! I am a righty…but I think it would be cool to be left handed (my Dad is)

  5. I love love grilled veggies! So delicious. Glad the shower went well- very sweet of your office to throw it for you. Hahahha- I think the same thing when I watch kids. I bet we’ll both be terrific mothers though ๐Ÿ˜‰

  6. Yum, I love grilling! And hooray for your first wedding event, so fun! I am a righty but I still manage to smudge ink.

  7. Glad the shower went well.. I feel nervous in those situations as well!

    Your dinner at Erin’s sounds like it was so much fun- perfect weather, low key and relaxing!

  8. Your friend’s daughter is so cute! And hey – at least you grabbed her! As a (cruel) prank, my friend’s husband carried his newborn “baby” over to me and “tripped” – throwing the baby into the air. I jumped BACK. Come to find out…it was a baby doll. But really?! WTH did I jump back?!

    I’m a righty. Wish I was a lefty, though….I’ve heard a lot of lefties are geniuses!

  9. I’m glad you were able to relax and enjoy the shower (and being the center of attention)! ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. hey! i got your invite this weekend! thank you! i keep meaning to tell you. still soooo annoyed i’m gonna miss it. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ it’s a beautiful invite though, so thanks a ton for sending it knowing i can’t make it.

    i forgot you are a lefty, too. actually, i’m sorta ambidextrous, or cross dominant. i was a lefty in gymnastics and actually most other things, but still catch and write with right hand, so sorry, can’t help you on the smudging question.

    i notice my left-handed friends end up curling their wrists and arms quite tightly (and seemingly painfully) to avoid smudges.

  11. Haha, little kids get into so much trouble…even when you ARE watching. Don’t beat yourself up about it. ๐Ÿ™‚

    I also get uncomfortable being the center of attention, hang on for the ride, as you will be in that position A LOT as you lead up to the wedding! Try to enjoy it (although I have no tips on how to do that…haha).

    My left handed kiddos in class turn their paper DRAMATICALLY to the left and then curl their wrists around. No smudges that I can tell, however – we usually write with pencils. ๐Ÿ™‚

  12. Congrats on your first shower! The rest of the events will be here before you know it. It gets super hectic!

    I write with my right hand and play sports left-handed. Both of my parents are lefties and my brother is right-handed… I wonder how/if our genetics determine which side will be dominant?

  13. How sweet of your coworkers to throw you a shower and take you out!

    You’re going to be a great mother. You were able to save her…that’s good sign!

  14. I’m a lefty too, I decided long ago that pencils were not my friend when it comes to writing things – too much smudging.

    I like Pilot pens, they’re still gel-y, but don’t smudge, but they probably would on a glossy paper – that’s when I go to plain old boring ballpoints.

  15. If you don’t enjoy being the center of attention, your wedding day may be a bit uncomfortable for you!

    And, kids fall into on things. It happens. doesn’t mean anything predictive about your future parenting skillz.

    The first day we got Scooter, we were allowing him to run around in a friend’s backyard and he fell in the pool. Poor little fella — it scared the sh*t out of him, and us!

  16. I’m a righty!

    I love the grilled vegetables!

    And although it’s kinda weird having parties/showers for you, I’m glad you enjoyed them. I always had this frozen plasti-smile the whole way through mine (shudder).

  17. I’m a righty! But I’m still clumsy…

    And don’t worry about the children. She’s alright and children always get into “messes”. It’s how kids learn!

  18. Yay for grilled food! I hope ours gets here soon!!

    Very cool about the shower – nice!

    I’m a righty with ugly handwriting – I’ve ALWAY loved typing though – even when I was a little girl!

  19. Yay for your first shower! There are so many people engaged at my work right now I don’t think we could possibly do a shower for any individual one haha. So funny.

  20. holy crud! those cheesy mushrooms look SO good! i am a righty

  21. Aww so cool of your work friends to throw you a shower!! And PS. I had to laugh – I have the WORST handwriting ever, mostly because I’m too impatient to do it right. So anytime I’ve had to hand-write thank yous, is like torture to me!!

  22. left . . . . and i wrote about that today too (smudging . . . oh i hate it but i happens.)