Are you sure you want to mark all as read?

I have had a whirlwind of a weekend with no time to relax at all. I got into MD around 9:30 on Thursday night. Then on Friday, we had the wedding tasting.

We tasted two salads. The first was a composed salad of organic field greens, grape tomato, grilled asparagus and fresh basil vinigrette.

IMG_3161.JPG

The second was a baby organic leaf salad with portobello mushrooms, hearts of palm and a herbes de provence vinigrette.

IMG_3162.JPG

I like the ingredients of the mushroom salad better but liked the basil dressing more than the herbes de provence one so the chef said he would make the mushroom salad with the basil dressing. Our guests will be given the choice of beef or fish for their entree.

The beef (I keep typing beer. I guess I don’t talk about beef normally.) was an herb marinated filet with chive scented potatoes, red wine reduction and cripsy fried leaks. Originally it was supposed to come with foie gras but I didn’t want the inhuman force feeding of ducks to be part of my wedding celebration, so I emailed the hotel last week and asked for it to not include that on the steak. I didn’t try it since I don’t eat beef, but I don’t think anyone missed the foie gras and they all said it was good.

IMG_3165.JPG

The fish was an herb scented halibut with pesto and pea risotto and a roasted red pepper jus. It was very good.

IMG_3164.JPG

On our reply card, we have a space for dietary restrictions and I wanted to make sure that the hotel would be able to offer a vegetarian meal should any guests request one. I was actually thinking that I might request one if it was good. So we sampled a garden vegetable strudel. It was okay. I think I’m going to stick with the fish, but I’m happy that we’ll have a vegetarian option.

IMG_3166.JPG

The hotel also provides the cake. We sampled a vanilla sponge cake with white chocolate mousse and buttercream icing and a almond sponge cake with raspberry mouse and a buttercream icing. Honestly, I was unimpressed. The almond raspberry one was sickeningly sweet and the vanilla one was just okay. I guess wedding cake isn’t supposed to taste good though, right?

IMG_3168.JPG

The weekend went by very quickly. In addition to the tasting, we also met with the officiant, had a dress fitting and got a trial hairdo (which I hated.) I also managed to have dinner with a friend. After dinner, we went to a bar where I ran into at least 5 people from my graduating high school class that I haven’t seen in, well, 14 years. So that was sort of interesting.

What I did not do all weekend was exercise. I brought workout clothes and everything but just could not find the time to fit it in. I hate when I get off track like that. I haven’t worked out since Wednesday. I could have done it tonight, I suppose, but I just wanted to relax.

24 responses to “Are you sure you want to mark all as read?

  1. angieinatlanta

    Don’t worry, Lee, you’ll be back in your workout routine this week!

    The wedding food looks delicious. Can you believe how quickly time is flying by? How are you holding up? I’m a bit freaked out…

  2. The cake at my dad and stepmom’s wedding was actually delicious — they did a cake where each tier is a different flavor and the best was carrot cake. Yum!

  3. Oh sweetie, wedding cake should taste DELICIOUS! It’s only after it stills in a freezer for a year that it tastes gross on your anniversary!

    The rest of the meal looks great!

  4. Sounds like a jam-packed weekend…I hope it wasn’t too stressful! The food all looks great and hopefully the cake will work out in the end because it should definitely be delicious!
    Have a great week!

  5. Gosh, that cake looks SO good. Sorry it wasn’t what you thought – honestly, I’m a party pooper and just like my cakes plain (either white, chocolate, carrot, etc.). I’m not a huge fan of the ones with filling or almond flavoring!

  6. No worries about not working out. You’ve got all week to get back on track! 😉

    Can you believe I didn’t do any “tasting” for our wedding? I was still in my weird food issues and refused to try any of it so I made my do it all for me. Thankfully she picked out good stuff, but I really regret not getting in on all of that fun!! Everything looks delicious, so exciting!! 🙂

  7. OOps, meant to say made my mom do it all for me!

  8. I’m glad you had a good weekend! And don’t worry about not working out. Get back on track this week and it’s all good.
    Food tasting options look really good!
    How’s your Dad??

  9. Looks like a delicious meal! Your guests are lucky!!

    Sometimes, you just need to take a break from working out and realax– no worries!

  10. Mmmm, yummy looking wedding food 🙂

    It’s alright to just relax 🙂

  11. No….your wedding cake should be GREAT!!! I loved mine. It was 3 tiers and the bottom was chocolate cake with a cappacino filling and then the other two layers were vanilla with an almond filling…it was amazing!! Make that hotel DO better!! 🙂

  12. phew! Wedding planning can be totally exhausting!! The food choices look great. I love your vegetarian option! Usually I’m stuck with plain pasta when I get my dinner at weddings!! Hope your week goes well

  13. The wedding food looks delicious! And how fun you got to try on your dress!

  14. Funny how that wedding cake looks so great but it didn’t taste it. Do they do anything custom? Maybe you can figure out a better taste selection that suits you? Everything else looks delicious too!

  15. I hope you did relax and have a nice night!
    I can’t believe your wedding is creeping up so soon, everything looks so yummy!
    I would talk to them about the cake. Ours was awful because it was kosher, but it should taste good!

  16. Hi Lee! The wedding food looks great. And yeah… cake should taste good! I was not a fan of our caterer’s cake so I went to a different place. It worked out just fine.

    Isn’t it so weird to run into people from high school? My ten year is coming up this November. I can’t believe it’s been that long!

  17. I wasn’t able to work out this weekend either! Sometimes it just doesn’t fit in – boo!

    The food looks great – especially that fish – YUM!!

  18. NOOOOOOO the cake should be delicious!! can you have one from an outside vendor?

    or . . .. cupcakes instead?

  19. Ah this looks like it was so much fun! I can’t wait to get engaged (whenever that may be) so I can do some taste testing!

  20. Wedding stuff is SO fun, even if its a ton of work. At least I thought so when I got married. 🙂 I have to say though, wedding cake SHOULD taste good so I think you should push them to try harder on your behalf, just sayin’. hehe. And don’t worry about the workouts, you’ll get right back to it…remember, tomorrow is a new day 🙂

  21. How fun! I would want your cake to taste fabulous though! I am easy to please in that department, sugar and butter is basically all I need. 😉 The fish dish looks amazingly yummy.

  22. Just found your blog! Sounds like a fun weekend. And def good call on the foie gras. I refuse to watch the videos about it, but I have read about what happens, and I def dont like it!!

    I’ll be reading!

  23. WOW! All of your wedding food looks so yummy; seriously, I got so hungry reading this post. 🙂