Sweating it out

I have felt out of sorts all week and I attributed it to being stressed out about a million things but I think it was mainly because I hadn’t worked out in six days. I’m a fairly solid 5-day a week worker outer, so missing almost an entire week just made me feel off. I didn’t go all weekend because I was so busy with wedding stuff and then yesterday, we had something big to take care of (more on that in a second) and afterward, I fell asleep on the couch. I meant to sleep for a half hour but ended up sleeping for an hour and a half and when I woke up, it was too late to go to the gym.

So the big news – we signed a contract on a house yesterday! It is the house that I wrote about a week ago, the one in Tucker. For the Atlantans that didn’t know where Tucker was, it’s basically a little bit northeast of Decatur. It’s either off Chamblee-Tucker on 85 or Lavista on 285. We went back and forth with the seller all weekend. Or rather Jason did and reported back to me since I was in DC. Yesterday, we settled on a price and signed the contract! Tomorrow we have the inspection so if everything goes according to plan, we’re going to be homeowners at the end of next month. Housewarming party, anyone?

All this excitement was a little much and I really craving some normalcy tonight, so I made dinner and went to the gym. For dinner, we had Bean, Vegetable and Feta Bake. I had this recipe saved on my work computer. I get to thumb through a lot of magazines at my job and I often copy down the recipes into word files on my computer.

IMG_1950.JPG

This was just okay. I ate it and will eat the leftovers tomorrow but I probably wouldn’t make it again. It just was sort of blah and I didn’t understand the point of the bread crumbs on top. They didn’t really add to it and got soggy when everything mixed together on the plate.

After dinner, we finally made it to the gym. I did 4 miles in 44 minutes. I took several walk breaks. I walked 3 minutes, ran for 17 at 6.0, walked for about 2 at 3.5, ran for about 8 or 9 at 6.4, walked a quarter mile and then ran .75 mile at 5.8. Or something like that. Since my half-marathon a month ago, I have been totally slacking on running. I always say that I’m not going to slack off after I do a race, and then inevitably, I do. I’m running a 5K on Saturday and I have no idea how I’ll do. I am still going to shoot for a sub-30 minute, but I don’t know if I’ll be able to do it.

I feel so much better now. I definitely sweated some of that stress out! It’s my birthday in an hour and a half!

22 responses to “Sweating it out

  1. Happy Birthday! April has got to be the most popular month for birthdays! What give could be better than a house??? Congratulations.

  2. Congrats on the house, thats awesome! I know exactly where Tucker is, we used to play them in football when I was in high school…they were one of our biggest rivals. Sorry the dinner didn’t really work out, I hate when that happens!
    Good luck with the 5K this weekend, I actually may be running one as well.

  3. Happy Birthday, Lee!!!!!! I hope it’s a great one!! 🙂 And congrats on the house!! Perfect timing for an awesome bday gift, right?!! So happy for yall!! 🙂

  4. angieinatlanta

    Happy birthday!!

    And congratulations on the house; I want to see pictures!

    And a good sweat always makes me feel better, too. I wonder what non-exercisers do to relieve stress…

  5. Happy birthday!!! And BIG congrats on the house– how exciting! You must post pictures!

  6. Happy Birthday AND congratulations!!! I am so happy you found a house and signed a contract! WOOT! That is a great birthday present!!!

  7. CONGRATS! That is thrilling. Fingers crossed that the inspection goes well. And happy happy birthday! wahooo! Bummer the meal was kind of meh- it looks like it’d be super tasty too.

  8. So exciting about the house!

  9. Whoa…birthday? New house? Planning a wedding? You have an exciting week!! Congrats on the house – AND Happy Birthday!

    Don’t cut yourself too much slack about the running. You not only have a TON going on right now, but it’s always good to take some time off/take it slow after races. You’re good!

  10. Congrats on the house! That is exciting. 🙂

  11. Happy Birthday!

    Congrats on the house! I’ve got a giveaway going on right now 🙂

  12. Congrats on the house! That is very cool! And happy (almost) birthday, what a treat! 🙂

  13. Happy birthday and congrats on the house!

  14. Hurray, for closing on the house. How exciting! Can’t wait to see how you decorate your new home.

  15. Happy belated birthday! I hope that you had a fun day yesterday. 🙂

    Congrats on the house- so exciting and just in time for the credit!

  16. congrats on the house! that is so exciting 🙂 i’m so happy for you

  17. Woo woo! Super exciting about the hizzy – isn’t that near stone mountain? (My bro-in-law is from SM but went to Tucker so i’m guessing??) Hope the big move is soon!! And don’t worry about the week – it’ll come back around!

  18. Congrats on the house! That is so exciting 🙂