Birthday (observed)

I had high hopes for yesterday. The plan was to run a 5K in the morning, then go to the Inman Park Festival in the afternoon and then meet up with some friends at the Graveyard Tavern for dinner and drinks. Jason took the whole day off so he could join in on the fun.

It didn’t go exactly as planned. We woke up around 7:15 to the sound of pouring rain. They’d been forecasting rain all day, but I was hoping they’d be wrong. No such luck. The rain would come down hard, then let up for a little while and then come back down hard. For a millisecond, we talked about skipping the 5K, but I’m not one to let a little rain get in my way and besides, we’d already paid for it. So we drove down to Piedmont Park where the race began. Fortunately, the number pick up was in a large gazebo so that provided some shelter from the rain. When the race began, the rain actually tapered off.

As I always seem to do, I went out way too fast. It’s funny, when I just do normal runs, I start out really slowly for the first mile or so and gradually increase my pace without even realizing it. When I race, I have to consciously tell myself to slow down. Only this time, I didn’t tell myself to and after the first mile, the race started to get pretty hilly and I had to stop and walk. Oops. I probably walked for 2 minutes or so up a hill. After that, I ran the rest of the way, but slower. Around mile 2.4, it started to pour again. This actually provided some good motivation to run faster. I wanted to get out of the rain. I ended up finishing in 31:03. Not bad considering I took walk breaks. Jason ran the race in a very respectable 35:05. I think that’s so great considering two or three months ago, he couldn’t run more than a minute or two without getting winded. Couch to 5K really works!

I kept holding out hope that the rain would stop and we’d be able to go to the festival, but it didn’t happen. We ended up going to Market at the W Buckhead around six because my friend Erin’s friend’s brother is the general manager there and they were having some sort of grand opening thing. I didn’t get any pictures, but he was nice enough to give us some appetizers on the house – we had sliders (I didn’t try those), some sort of crab fritter and two types of little pizza. Needless to say, by the time we got to the bar to meet my friends, I wasn’t hungry for dinner at all and ended up just picking at some hummus and calamari. And drinking a giant beer!

IMG_3249.JPG

Actually, I was just posing with it; I stuck with wine. I had a fun time with all of my friends and several glasses of wine were consumed. Instead of feeling guilty, I shrugged it off. Drinking happens when it’s your birthday, right? Or at least, it does when it’s mine!

I actually didn’t feel that bad this morning when I woke up. Several of my friends were going to the festival today since it was nice out, but I like for my Sundays to be lazy. Lazy isn’t the right word. I just like for Sunday to be an errand sort of day. I don’t know why. I guess I feel like if I don’t get stuff done on Sunday like grocery shop or do the laundry, I don’t have time to do it during the week. I did end up going to a Pilates class at LA Fitness this afternoon. I like to fit exercise into my Sundays too.

16 responses to “Birthday (observed)

  1. Lee! I’m so sorry – I’ve been all over the place with all these weddings! Happy (belated) birthday – sorry I missed it!

    And yes – YOU ARE ALWAYS allowed to shrug off birthday booze – there’s no calories in it silly! πŸ™‚

  2. Drinking definitely happens when it’s your birthday! Glad you had a fun time, and congrats on the race! I definitely would have skipped out on it b/c of the rain– you are a braver woman than I πŸ™‚

  3. angieinatlanta

    Happy birthday again, Lee!

    You are so hardcore for running yesterday; the weather was super miserable!

    And good for you for not having post-birthday booze guilt!

    I like my Sundays to be a lazy as possible…

  4. Nice job getting that pilates in and GREAT race times!! The weather was bad… hated it!

  5. Way to go for running in the rain!!! I stayed in bad, haha, you are hardcore!! πŸ™‚ Love the pic of you and the big beer, haha!! Glad you had fun out with your friends!!

  6. Happy Birthday! πŸ™‚

    I have a CSN stores giveaway going on until Tues if you wanna enter πŸ™‚

  7. Happy Birthday, dear Lee! Too bad things didn’t go exactly as planned, but yo, you still rocked the day! Running in the rain…it’s kinda refreshing!

    I like lazy Sundays too. Hm, maybe that’s why I got NO work done today. Yup, that’s it. πŸ˜‰

  8. I’m the same way about Sunday — it’s relaxing to run errands and get organized for the week ahead.

  9. HAHA…that beer is huge!!! Funny picture! πŸ™‚

  10. Happy belated Birthday, Lee! I love for my Sundays to be lazy, too. Sometimes I like to hit the gym, other times it’s my day off. But I LOVE not having a set schedule, for sure.

  11. way to still run the 5k despite the rain! And happy happy birthday. Hahah that picture with the giant beer is awesome. Why is it that giant and super tiny things are extra funny? Enjoy your Monday

  12. Happy Belated Birthday! Sounds like you had fun, even though it was raining so much. It was an icky weekend here. And that beer picture is too funny. At first I was thinking DANG I can’t believe she drank all that, but then I see you stuck with wine. That’s what I would have done too. πŸ™‚

  13. Yay! Happy B-Day. 31 minutes is a great time even if there had been no walking involved!

  14. Hey drinking happens when it’s not my birthday, haha.

  15. That is one giant beer! πŸ™‚ Happy Birthday! Sorry the day didn’t go exactly as planned, but hope you had fun nonetheless!