I need therapy….the retail kind

I had to return a pair of shoes today at lunch. I’d actually purchased them to wear with my wedding dress but decided that the heel was too high. I don’t wear heels that often and suddenly wearing 3.25 inch heels in my wedding dress was probably a recipe for disaster so I bought MUCH lower ones online instead. Since I was in the mall, I decided to stop by New York & Company. Seriously, that entire store is always on sale in one way or another. I think the entire store was actually on sale last week, but they still had a lot of good deals. I had my honeymoon in Hawaii on the brain and bought a pair of shorts. Mine are striped though.

shorts.jpeg

And some linen cargo capris.

pants.jpeg

And a shirt for work. In a different color than shown.

shirt.jpeg

And then I felt much better. Actually, it wasn’t the shopping. My moods tend to only last for a day or so. Lucky for me and really lucky for Jason! We made a list of all of the things we have to do and seeing it written out made it a little more manageable. Instead of thinking that I have a million and one things, I can see that it’s really only 15 or so. Still a lot.

I did P90X chest/shoulders/triceps tonight. I think this is my favorite dvd except that I can’t do half of the pushups. I guess my muscles were just tired because I couldn’t do the clap push ups on my knees at all this time and last week I did 9. Hmm. I took some pictures of my progress the other day. I was supposed to do it at day 30, but forgot so they’re around day 35. Sorry, I’m not going to show you. I just am not comfortable parading around in my bikini for the entire internets to see. But I can tell you what I saw.

From the front, I looked exactly the same.
From the back, my hips looked smaller (less muffin top) and my upper back looked stronger.
From the side, my stomach looked flatter.

So, it’s definitely progress. I’d like to look different from the front, but I’ll take two out of three.

14 responses to “I need therapy….the retail kind

  1. intheskinny

    I like New York & Company. I haven’t gone inside a mall in forever (let’s face it, I just go to Target). I need to go there soon.

    I’m glad you are seeing results with P90x!

  2. Great buys!!!!!!!!! Love the shorts. Glad to hear you’re seeing progress- very exciting.

    You should totally visit Greenville- it is adorable

  3. I do like those purchases very much!

  4. Oh, I used to buy stuff from NY & Company all the time, because I love their sales, and they have some sophisticated, basic designs. Great buy!

  5. Cute clothes πŸ™‚

    Congratulations on your progress with p90x!

  6. I love the clothes! I need some real therapy, ASAP! Congrats on the P90X results.

  7. Yay for new clothes!! They always make me feel so much fresher!

    I don’t blame you, I don’t think I would ever post pics of me in a bikini either! Even if I was seeing results and looked super hot, I just wouldn’t like knowing total creepers could stumble on the pics, ya know?

  8. Hooray for retail therapy! Love the goods πŸ™‚

  9. I am so glad you are feeling better about things! Having things written down always helps me, too.

    Love the new clothes! Retail therapy is the best. I indulged in a little of that myself, last weekend. I’m glad you are seeing results, too! You can show them off in Hawaii. πŸ™‚

  10. Cute clothes! I loved shopping with the honeymoon in mind. I’m glad you’re feeling better. Sometimes you just need to wallow for a bit! Awesome job with P90x.

  11. Congrats on the progress! For 30 days having visible changes is great.

    Also, cute stuff from NY&Co.

  12. I am glad you are seeing results with P90X…I totally understand about not wanting to show pictures. I am just glad that you are seeing the changes you are obviously working so hard for! πŸ™‚

  13. I love a good retail therapy session…I don’t do it enough. (Which might be a good thing for the wallet.). Oh and BTW, I totally related to everything you said in your last post, about randomly wanting to cry, bad moods manifesting as body issues, the PMS-induced stuff, everything…I am SO with you on those and they suck. For me it lasts like, a week at least. I’m glad you’re feeling better!

  14. I wore flats for my wedding and I’m so glad I did. With all that standing and mingling and dancing, by night my feet were tired. I can’t imagine doing it all in heels. Another good idea: gel inserts!