Tired Cinco de Mayo

You know how most people fall into a 3pm slump? I am way more guilty of the 7pm slump. I get tired after dinner and either take a nap and skip the gym or force myself to go. Today was hard, but I made myself get up and go. Of course, that was after I had a Mexican inspired meal. Well, as Mexican inspired as I could get without having to buy groceries.

IMG_2011.JPG

Edamame Succotash with red peppers with a side of refried beans with salsa. I have a variation of this meal at least once a week. I am not what one would call a creative cook. This is why I usually don’t post my meals unless I’m following a recipe.

And because I was feeling wild and crazy, I made Mama Pea’s Chocolate PB Protein Cookies. I only used 1 package of Truvia and skipped the cocoa powder since I used chocolate protein powder. Twas yummy.

IMG_2016.JPG

At the gym, I did 2 miles on the treadmill at 6 miles per hour, then the elliptical for 12 minutes then some abs. I was so tired. Usually I wake up when I workout, but the entire time I felt like I was in a daze so it wasn’t the best of workouts.

As you can see, I didn’t do much for Cinco de Mayo aside from the refried beans and salsa! I’m just not really into the “drinking holidays” anymore. Cinco de Mayo, St. Patrick’s Day etc. I mean, why go to a crazy crowded Mexican restaurant tonight when I can go tomorrow and not have to wait in line?

I sent out a special wedding invitation today. Think they’ll make it? The hotel is just down the street.

IMG_2008.JPG
17 responses to “Tired Cinco de Mayo

  1. I do love St. Patrick’s Day, but Cinco was never as big a deal for me!

  2. Oh my gosh. I can’t imagine trying to go to the gym after dinner. You must have some strong will power!

    • It’s too crowded to go after work. All the machines have 20 minute time limits and I always feel too guilty to go over them!

  3. No way! Did you really send that? If so that is awesome. I think your Mexican dish looks fabulous. Lots of veggies is always yummy in my book 🙂 Oh and nothing wrong with a 7 pm slump…I’m always ready for bed at that time…I usually get a second wind around 8:30/9 pm

  4. Drinking holidays were much more fun when I wasn’t waking up at 6 am. Also if I tried to go to the gym I would never make it, I force myself to change and get right back out the door the minute I get home from work.

  5. OK — def want to try those cookies!

  6. I didn’t do anything for Cinco de Mayo! I’m boring.

  7. angieinatlanta

    I love refried beans! But they really make me bloated…

    I’m not into drinking holidays anymore either. Or really drinking. I’m such an old lady at heart.

    Love that invitation! Cute idea!!!

  8. OMG, that is awesome!!!!!! 🙂 Very, very cute idea!! 🙂

  9. I feel the same way about these “holidays” now.

  10. Yay, I’m glad you liked the cookies!

  11. How can you go to the gym at night? I can barely function at night. My slump comes around your time too, but it’s before dinner for me!

  12. Mmmm! Your Cinco meal looked wonderful! Very colorful!

    The wedding invite is beautiful!!

  13. Did you for real send that invite? If so, that is AMAZING. And I will keep my fingers crossed that they come! 🙂