I’m Free (it’s Friday!)

I’ve mentioned that I get to look through a lot of magazines at work. You know what is a total hidden gem when it comes to fast, easy, healthy recipes? Diabetic Cooking. No joke, whenever I come across this magazine, I find myself copying at least half of the recipes onto my computer. This is just what caught my eye from the latest issue:

1. Tomato, avocado and cucumber salad with feta
2. Strawberry mousse
3. Jalapeno shrimp and string bean toss
4. Shrimp and avocado tostadas
5. Southwest roasted salmon and corn
6. Barley and swiss chard casserole
7. Bulgur pilaf with tomato and zucchini
8. Whole wheat penne pasta with summer vegetables

Instead of starting my weekend off with a happy hour beverage (or who am I kidding? A nap), I did the p90x dvd that I was supposed to do yesterday – legs and back. I hate the legs dvd!! This is the hardest one for me and the one that has made me feel the sorest. So, why didn’t I do it yesterday? Because the pollen was making me extremely tired. It’s kind of ironic, my allergies are bothering me the most when the pollen count is lower than it has been in weeks. Stupid hickory trees. I was having a total lazy, go to bed early, no workout type of night. When Jason suggested pizza for dinner, I readily agreed.

We bought a CPK margarita pizza from Kroger and topped it with some additional veggies. The CPK pizza is pretty good. It’s 300 calories per serving, 3 servings per pizza. I had 3 slices, so roughly 350 calories. (Haha, I just realized my math is totally off here.) Not bad at all. And definitely cheaper than delivery, which we’d considered for a brief second.

IMG_2028.JPG

With side salads and an on-sale veggie and dip tray.

IMG_2023.JPG

It’s supposed to be in the 70’s over the weekend as opposed to nearly 90, so I’m looking forward to getting an outdoor run in. I’m not sure which day. Tomorrow I’m attending my favorite two-year old’s birthday party. She’s having a disco themed party so what did I buy her? A ballerina tutu, of course. Hope she likes it. I couldn’t find go-go boots for a 2-year old.

9 responses to “I’m Free (it’s Friday!)

  1. Aw have fun at the b-day party!!

    LOVE these pictures!! And good tip on that magazine – those recipes sound awesome. “stupid hickory trees” LOL

  2. angieinatlanta

    I have never even heard of that magazine but it sounds delish! Especially the shrimp and avocado tostadas!

    I like those CPK pizzas and you’re right, so much cheaper than delivery.

    Have a great weekend!

  3. thanks for the tip on that mag! i know diabetics balance their macros sort of like i do, so that is an AWESOME tip.

    enjoy your weekend!

  4. That magazine is a good idea! Your pizza looks awesome!

  5. Katherine: What About Summer?

    yay weekend! have a good one šŸ™‚
    Katherine

  6. Yum! Those recipes all sound great!

    Hope your allergies get better šŸ˜¦

  7. The hickory trees must be what’s getting me too!! B/c I feel the same exact way… soooooooo tired. Anyway, good for you for sticking with your workouts. I hate working legs the most too. They do get so sore.

    Have lots of fun at the birthday party!! šŸ™‚

  8. Aww! I’ll bet she loves the tutu! All the recipes sound delicious! And right up my alley!

  9. Gotta love CPK!