Take me out to the ball game

Oops, I wrote this post on Friday, but never posted it:

I met my friend Jamie for dinner and drinks last night at this new bar called Ormsby’s. The bar was really cool although super hard to find. The elusiveness kind of added to the appeal though. I ordered the veggie club sandwich without mayo and on sourdough instead of white bread. I took out the middle piece of bread and was proud of myself because I listened to my hunger cues and only ate half. But then, my hunger cues told me that I really needed to eat the other half on the drive home. Oops.

I’m in a good mood today for the following reasons:

1. My matron of honor is flying down for my bachelorette party, which is June 12th. She has two kids and is pregnant with her third so we weren’t sure if she was going to be able to swing it. But this morning, there was a flight confirmation email from her! I literally started clapping and then Murphy got excited and jumped on my lap. He obviously wants to meet her.

2. I spent my lunch hour yesterday researching wedding poetry. I decided that I might want a poem or two in my ceremony. Jamie offered to read the poems and what’s funny is that I was going to ask him anyway. Jamie is one of my best friends and it means a lot to me that he will get to be part of my wedding ceremony even though he’s not part of the wedding party. I am really so happy that I thought of this.

3. Jason and I have a hot date at the Apple store after work. His ipod touch screen isn’t working and my computer is not recognizing my phone (although it recognizes my ipod so it’s not the usb port and then my work computer recognizes the phone so it’s not the phone). But after the apple store, we’re going to do a little wedding band shopping.

Okay, now back to today. So Jason and I went to the apple store and we couldn’t get an appointment at the Genius Bar which was annoying. So he dropped off his broken ipod and I made an appointment for mine today. (Which suddenly works, so I don’t need to go.) We went to Jared and looked at wedding bands. I ended up really liking one that was totally different than what I thought I’d want. We didn’t buy it, but now we have a better idea. Jared was in the same shopping center as a few restaurants, so we stopped at Twisted Taco for dinner. I’d been to the one in Midtown before, but never to eat. Well, let me tell you, I wasn’t missing much. I think it was the worst Mexican food that I’d had in a long time. We split four tacos – I got a chicken one and a fish one. The fish was okay but the chicken was foul. (Haha, pun intended!) I’m never going to Twisted Taco again. Bleh. Anyway, after that, I went to the gym. I was proud of myself for still fitting it in there at like 8:45 on a Friday night. Go me.

Yesterday, I went to a Braves game. One of my friends organizes these huge tailgates a few times a season before the game and yesterday was one of them. The tailgate started at noon but my two friends and I thought that was kind of ridiculous and we got there around 4 for a 7:10 game. They lost but it was still fun.

This is what happens when you try to take pictures of yourself with a macro lens on the camera. This is my friend Danny and me.

IMG_2092.JPG

The Braves were playing the Diamondbacks and there was a protest outside the stadium.

IMG_2098.JPG

Fans. Taken with my new telephoto lens that my mom got me for my birthday.

IMG_2115.JPG
IMG_2127.JPG
IMG_2149.JPG

I need to get back to packing. Or rather, start packing. We move in two weeks!

16 responses to “Take me out to the ball game

  1. Glad you’re feeling so happy!! What were those people protesting against??

    Enjoy the rest of your weekend!! 🙂

  2. Ohhh I was going to ask the same thing about the protesters.

    Anyways, the game looks like fun. We are going to a Gwinnett Braves game in a couple of weeks. I’m glad to hear that your friend is able to come see you. What a nice surprise!

  3. you are so busy! good luck with the move. glad your MOH is going to make it. sorry about the foul foul!

  4. haha I sometimes clap when I get excited too. I’m glad things are going well!!

  5. angieinatlanta

    Yay! So glad your MOH is coming in town!

    What are the big bachelorette plans!?

    • We are eating dinner at 5 Seasons Brewery. Wild and crazy, huh?! I guess we’ll go out afterward although nothing is really planned.

  6. I think having a poem in the ceremony is a great idea. We had 2 and each mom read one. 🙂 I loved that! Glad your matron of honor can make it…weddings and wedding-related activities can get stressful with travel involved, but that’s so great that she’s able to make it!!

  7. Good luck packing for the move! It’s the most tedious part, but I hope you survive well. 🙂

    I’m glad Jamie will have a part in the ceremony! Please do share the poem with us when you get a chance!

  8. Good stuff going on over there! Glad to hear you found a band you like! I ended up getting a band that matches Josh’s and I wear it on my right ring finger (vs. having it skate next to my engagement ring). Love the idea of reading poems 🙂 We had 2 poems read at our wedding- it was lovely. Bummer about the tacos= lame. Glad you had fun at the baseball game

  9. 1. We couldn’t find Ormsby’s, either… definitely drove past it the first time. I had the same sandwich as you.
    2. A Twisted Taco opened up down the road from me, but I’ve never been there because it can’t possibly be better than Tin Lizzy’s. 🙂
    3. I went to a Braves game on Saturday night.

    I said “me, too” a lot while I was reading your post… can you tell? 😉

  10. Oooh wedding band shopping is exciting! Sorry the tacos were lame, I hate being disappointed by a meal.

  11. That is great your MOH can come down! Something else to look forward to, AND she can see your new place.

    Love baseball games – well, ones that don’t last 20 innings long. 🙂

  12. Wow – what a fun weekend!!

    The pictures you took are awesome – nice lens! So sorry to hear that Twisted Taco was so bad -that sucks!

  13. Baseball games are so fun. They scream summer to me!

  14. Lee- You have been having some great times. So jealous of your lens. Such great pictures!