Ch-ch-changes

If you haven’t noticed, something is missing. It’s the “wordpress” from my URL. I finally was able to buy inmytummy.com! I don’t think you have to update your reader; I’m pretty sure it automatically redirects.

But that’s not actually the change that I was referring to. After some thought and research, I have decided to stop eating meat. There, I said it. I feel like if I don’t put it out there, I will never commit.

Here is my history in regards to eating meat:

• When I was around 15, I stopped eating beef and pork. I just never really had a taste for them.

• When I was about 24 or 25, I became pescatarian and only ate fish and seafood, no chicken. This lasted about six or seven years.

• Less than a year ago, I reintroduced chicken back into my diet.

I guess my decision to forego meat goes back to my decision of why I started eating chicken again. I did it because it was easier. It was easier to go to a restaurant and know 100% that there would be something there that I could eat. Sure, most restaurants have a fish option, but sometimes it’s fried or in a cream sauce or cooked another way that I don’t like.

Given that I have a history of caring for animals, I felt like I really needed to question my decision to go the easy route. I have done a lot of research on the matter over many years and I know what goes on in factory farms. I know it but still I ate meat because it was easier. I just sort of realized that my uncomfortableness is nothing compared to how these animals are treated on factory farms. I can complain and be outraged, but if I don’t actually do anything, then what good is that?

Jason and I had a short discussion about whether or not eating meat is morally wrong. I don’t believe that it is. I think that if the animal was raised humanely and led a good life, it’s okay. But, I wasn’t eating chicken that was raised in this manner. I was eating Tyson chicken breasts and I knew that those chickens were treated horribly and I made the decision to disconnect. I don’t want to make that decision anymore.

So, fish. I have the Monterey Bay Aquarium Seafood app on my phone. But I don’t use it! I don’t ask where my fish is coming from and if I’m eating something over-fished. I’m not a responsible, compassionate fish eater. So, I decided to stop. I am also concerned about eating fish that have been exposed to this massive clusterfuck of an oil spill. Sure, they say it’s fine, but really is it? This one is going to be hard. Much harder than chicken. I went a long time without chicken and I got used to it, but I really like me some sushi! I’m actually going to a sushi restaurant on Friday night and this will be my first time trying vegetarian rolls.

Is Jason going to become vegetarian? The answer is no. He likes meat and will continue to eat it. I have no problem with that. We are both respectful of each others food choices. I’ve never had a problem with what other people eat. What you choose to eat is just that, your choice. But for now, my choice is to try a vegetarian diet. (Of course, I would be happy if he stopped eating meat with me, but it’s not something that I expect him to do.)

Have I ever told this story? When I was 20, I studied in London. We had a week long break in the middle of the semester. I went on a school sponsored trip to Spain. On our first day, everyone in the group (about 20 people) wanted to go to a bullfight. I didn’t want to go but I didn’t want to be stuck by myself when I didn’t speak the language. So I went. And when the matador tried to kill the bull, I started to cry. Not just tear up, but hysterically cry. And then I got up and left. By myself. I got on the metro and went back to our hostel, I guess. At the time, I was totally embarrassed but now I sort of feel proud of my compassion.

I apologize if this post sounds preachy in any way. That was not my intention. I just wanted to express how I’ve been feeling.

10 responses to “Ch-ch-changes

  1. It’s definitely most important to do what feels right to YOU. It’s really hard making informed decisions about meat and fish, which is why I only eat it on the rare occasions I purchase meat at home and know exactly where it comes from. Good on you!

  2. well this is a change! best of luck to you in your meatless journey 🙂 and yay for the domain!

  3. I don’t think you sound preachy at all! I, too, was a MAJOR Tyson’s chicken girl. Actually, I was the generic brand, which was possibly worse. Anyway, since watching Food, Inc. I haven’t bought any meat (I have eaten some, though) – I’m definitely trying to be more aware of WHERE my meat is coming from. So I completely respect your choice, and actually am pumped to see what veggie recipes you’ll share with us. 🙂

  4. Congratulations on going vegetarian!!!! Your story sounds similar to mine!

  5. Good luck! Going completely vegetarian is hard, I hope you can do it! And congrats on buying your domain name, did u do it through wordpress? I’ve been thinking about doing it too.

  6. First of all, awesome on the new URL! I want to do that soon too – how hard was it to pull off? As for your decision to nix meat from your diet, I applaud it – to each his/her own, nobody should judge anyone else’s decision relative to what to eat/not eat and why. As long as you are happy with your decision, that’s really what’s most important.

  7. Wow Lee, that’s awesome. I feel similar but have only made the commitment towards pork thus far. Random. I need to do some serious thinking! Good for you 🙂

  8. I totally support your decision!! I’ve often wanted to completely give up meat, but haven’t totally followed through with it for various reasons. There are just a few things I can’t give up (sausage balls, chicken quesadillas, etc.). But one thing I definitely need to be better about is knowing where my meat comes from.

  9. Way to go, Lee. Stand up for what you believe in! I believe I’m on a similar journey. I anticipate that someday I will no long be a flexitarian, but a vegetarian or pescitarian.

    I didn’t know the matador kills the bull??????