Celebration Friday

Thursday night, neither Jason nor I were in a mood to go grocery shopping so we went to a little Mexican place for dinner – Carumba Cafe. I decided that we should have an active rest day and walk there and back. It’s 1.25 miles each way. I normally get the shrimp salad but since I was trying to do this vegetarian thing, I got vegetable fajitas instead. They were good, but a bit oily. The only problem with walking to Carumba is that we had to walk back, leftovers in hand.

I decided to go to sleep early and was in bed by about 9. I was hoping for a long, restful sleep, but was wide awake at 3 am. I guess 9 is just a little too early. It didn’t help that there were thunderstorms and Murphy was freaking out and wouldn’t settle down. This is what Murphy does when it thunders, or really when it just rains: He paces. He barks. He stands on the bed and won’t lay down. It’s pretty fun to deal with at 3 am, let me tell you. Luckily, I was able to fall back asleep a little after 4 and slept solidly until my alarm went off.

I got an okay workout in at lunch on Friday. I knew we were going out at night (more about that in a sec) so I knew that lunch was my only opportunity. I wanted to run, but the office gym only has one treadmill and someone was on it. So I did the elliptical for 20 minutes and then I did the follow leg workout:

Leg press machine – 3 sets of 12, 40 lbs
squats – 3 sets of 12
one legged lunge? – 3 sets of 12, 15 lbs
deadlifts, 3 sets of 12, 30 lbs
calf raises, 3 sets of 25, 30 lbs
pile squats, 3 sets of 12, 25 lbs

Hmm, it felt like I did more than that!

We had our second wedding-related celebration last night. (Our first was a shower about a month ago that my office threw.) My good friends Jamie and Dave organized a celebratory dinner in honor of us! I guess sort of like a bachelorette/bachelor party but with guys and girls and not as much debauchery. We had went out to Ra Sushi for dinner.

IMG_3291.JPG

I was conflicted about what to order. Part of me really wanted to stick to my guns and just order a vegetarian roll, but another part of me really wanted some raw fish. I caved. I did eat several pieces of rainbow roll (and several pieces of avocado roll). I guess this vegetarian thing is a learning process. I guess it’s not as easy as I thought it was going to be. I feel sort of like a fraud. Not so much because I actually ate the fish, but because I announced to everyone that I was becoming a vegetarian. Oh well. I’m only human. Back on the wagon today, I guess.

After dinner, we went over to Ri Ra for a few beers. I practiced my model face.

IMG_3308.JPG

And then tried, unsuccessfully, to take a picture of me and Jason.

IMG_3315.JPG

A little better.

IMG_3313.JPG

All in all, a fun night. Although, I woke up at 5 am and thought I was going to throw up. I literally ran into the bathroom, but nothing happened. Then I went back to sleep and woke up two hours later totally nauseous again. I don’t think it was from alcohol. I had some wine at dinner and then two beers at Ri-ra but that’s definitely not enough to make me sick. My first thought was that it was karma for eating the fish! My second thought was maybe there was something wrong with the sushi but Jason said he felt fine. Not a pleasant start to the morning, but I’ll be okay.

10 responses to “Celebration Friday

  1. That definitely is not a fun way to start the morning, but it looks like you guys had a fun time out! I am such a light weight now that 2 or 3 drinks can send me to the bathroom feeling nauseous. Yikes! Also I love active rest days…I always try to do a lot of walking on the days where I am not running or doing something else.

  2. You are TOO cute!!! Love that picture of you!! 🙂 Glad you had such a fun and enjoyable night!!

  3. Sounds like an awesome night! I think a coed bachelor/bachelorette with less crazyness sounds good to me! Sorry you felt yucky. Hope you feel better today!

  4. Ugh, sorry to hear you’re not feeling great this morning. Could definitely have been a bad piece of fish!

  5. I hate it when I try to go to bed early and end up wide awake in the middle of the night!

    Looks like a really fun night!

  6. I had that happen once after sushi and I hadn’t had any with raw fish. Mystery. Hope you feel better by now!

  7. Oh, raw fish rocks…so I don’t blame you for caving in. And hopefully you’re much better now! Have a good Sunday, Lee!

  8. Sounds like such a fun night!! Looks like yall had a great time with friends. 🙂